Weekend-Engagement Week 161 - Your Interpretation: Quote by Tucydides

in Weekend Experiences10 months ago

The secret of happiness is freedom, and the secret to freedom is courage….Thucydides

In our village there is a belief that those who are happy easily put on some weight. If I look back my last 5 years then I already gained approx. 8kg. Was the reason, that, I am happy than before?

20230621_122650.jpg

Let find out the Answer....

I never understood the real meaning of happiness until i took the tough decision of leaving a high paying managerial job and shifting back to my native place. All credit goes back to my late Dad, whose prolonged illness prompted me to make some quick decision. Leaving behind all the luxuries, money and materialistic things behind and moving ahead for a simple village life.

IMG-20180709-WA0012.jpg
my office farewell cake

There was lot confusion in my mind before, as it was an unknown path and not sure where it will take me ahead. No income, no job and how things unfold in the unknown territory. Shifting back is not an easy job, but irrespective of everything, I gradually adapted to the condition and soon found myself in another state of mind. I was feeling more freedom than before.

farming.jpeg
begining my farming days

Life in cities was stuck between office and home. Even though I was getting a handsome salary and seems to be happy, but the office tension and challenges always keep haunting my mind. But once I get back to our roots, I found a different atmosphere. There was no routine, no office bondation, no more pitch work. I am freer to do whatever I wanted to do. In cities I was bounded but in village I experienced more freedom, the real freedom.

IMG-20180709-WA0027.jpg
last day at office

The level of happiness is more than before and I am free to live life as I wants. No restriction, no check, no pressure. It is of different feeling. Surely that was the courageous decision I took 5 years ago. Even though the need for money arise from time to time for meeting personal needs and kids studies, I manage them through #hive. And sometimes managing life in #minimalistic way. So far so good, let hope thing gets much better in the life yet to come.
Daily I walk around 3-4 km in fresh air for catering different requirement, I cut down a little bit on my diet, still I am gaining weight. Seems the villagers are true in their belief, as the weight gain is purely due to my HAPPINESS.

20230528_141919.jpg
my current pic

Great minds, bring great thoughts. Rightly so My HAPPINESS was the outcome of my COURAGEOUS decision.

This is my interpretation on the great lines by Tucydides for #weekend-engagement Week-161 topic by @galenkp

Peace!!

Namaste @steemflow

Sort:  

A really great post, thanks for sharing some of your story here.

Freedom isn't free, it needs to be created, worked and fought for, and that usually takes courage as you explain here. Some will show it, lean forward into difficult thoughts and actions and some will not...each will be rewarded commensurate to the efforts they put in.

Many people see happiness in materialistic things...they do not want to see life beyond the comfort line....but honestly really happiness is not what it appears...real happiness is one which gives us mental peace and joy all around...which I experienced after leaving my work life.

I can't add anything more, you've said it well and I agree. Thanks for responding.

Taking a step in the right direction, more content living in a healthier lifestyle, compared to city life.

Well done, yes I think the saying is true the way you interpreted, more often than not less is more, contentment brings about change.

@tipu curate

Yes the life in village is far different from cities..looking forward to settle down completelly

Village life for children is going to be much better for them and for you, health wise.

Freedom entails important decisions in life that can change it completely and as you say a lot of courage but in the end the result is our inner happiness. I congratulate you for your change.

A big hug @steemflow !😀

Thanks...it is worth than 9-5 job but yes challenges are there ...

Freedom and happiness are worth it, let's move forward!

human beings have a hard time making decisions when it comes to changes, on many occasions we do not take the next step for fear of the future and because we get used to what we are experiencing, I congratulate you for finding your way, as long as you breathe you are healthy and above all all with an open mind you can achieve great results regardless of where you are, like a phrase I read on a certain occasion,

if lemons fall from the sky learn to make lemonade

have a great weekend

on many occasions we do not take the next step for fear of the future and because we get used to what we are experiencing

This is where people lack, once into the comfort zone then life becomes taste less...there are so many things to enjoy and explore.. .I found it once get out of my shackles.

Leaving a high paying job in the city, with which a lot of people dreamed of, is such a brave decision you took. Anyway, life in the province is also great. You don't have to deal with the noises of the busy world. You own your time. Indeed, it takes one courageous step to see what lies ahead, and for you, happiness awaits. Nice one sir!👏

That true said, life is unexpected and brings a lot of joy once people get out of comfort zone....life in city has becomes very robotic, and every one is running for money...along with noise there are many things which people are affecting....

In Villages life is quite peacefull and I am blessed to have a greenary all around in middle of nature.

Nature has its own way of calming us. Life isn't just all about grand and extravagance. Sometimes it is in the quiteness and tranquility.

I like everything I see and read here. It feels good, it has become my must visit.

Those 8 extra kilos are good for you, let's say they are a lot of joy and happiness, of being in peace and fullness, I know you take care of your health.

I live in a town now, I have always been from the city, here you only hear nature talking, sometimes I get bored too much because there is no place to go out to recreate and detox a little of the people who live at home. But I confess that I love the peace you feel when no one is around <3

When you talk about freedom I sigh, because in my case, even being in such a natural environment I am not free, I live with someone too controlling. I remember two years ago when I left and I knew what freedom and happiness was, but I had to come back because of my children, even though they are grown up now.

I've missed a lot of things here, why did you leave...why are you coming back? Did you do a spiritual retreat?

You look very pretty with your long hair, also with the turban, I met you with very short hair, there I see your same eyes, your same gestures, your same smile.

Happiness to you, namaste.

Hey @equipodelta sorry for late reply...🙂 it was a long one..

I didn't get few of the points...in case you help.me...

I met you with very short hair, there I see your same eyes, your same gestures, your same smile.

Did not get all...have you seen me before ? BTW it was not turban...I cover3d my head with a towel to protect from extreme Sundays.

why did you leave...why are you coming back? Did you do a spiritual retreat?

My late dad was unwell, he always preferred to live in Villages so have to choose between office and families..and chosen my family...which till now is not a bad decision. ....I am not part of spiritual retreat ..we shave our head on death of family member...as mybdad passed away last month, I have it shaved....it was part of rituals.

I can understand , how life could be if controlled by other...it is nothing less then he'll, but having a loving kids around alwsys make it joyfull...it was like my life in cities was controlled by our bosses who alwsys sits on our head for many things.. which never allow us to feel free

Village life is much more peaceful than city life for sure. ..in village having nature closeby, the peace is guaranteed unless and untill you get into any trouble...

Hope I answered it correctly...it was nice to know little bit of you....have a nice weekend. 🥂🙂 cheers

Hi SteemFlow, I've only been following you for a long time. I don't comment much because as you saw, there is the language barrier, even though I understand English perfectly, to write, I use translator, even if I correct it, it could always read me like Tarzan -I'm sorry about this-.

I really like your culture, I didn't know that shaving the head after the death of a loved one belongs to a ritual, I send you my condolences and strength.

I admire spirituality very much, thank you for replying to me, now I can better understand your processes of change, grief and overcoming. <3

🙂 I was not aware about translating things..sorry! .now I can see how it makes a blunder ..and mess...
Good to know you like our culture. ... after death we have 13 days of rituals with many things and restrictions to do..on the 10th day all the close family and relatives shave off the head ....let me know in case you want to kn9w more... India is always a mystery country😉

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 5.20% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @steemflow.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hello friend I enjoyed reading and meeting you, it is interesting your story, since your culture calls my attention, it is very different from Venezuelans, is the diversity of life but in the end we are human and we want to be happy with the much and little we have, I'm glad for your decision and that you feel happy with what you do now looks attractive those landscapes, I have never left my country and I do not think, I live in a city that is small as a village and is in the east of the country full of coasts when I go to the sea I am happy, so I understand you.

greetings @steemflow