MRS FABIAN

in The Ink Well6 months ago

Mrs Fabian walked majestically out of the shopping mall knowing fully well that the people on queue and the cashiers were all staring at her. She felt fulfilled and worthy of the attention she was getting which could be of admiration or envy.

Anyone of them is fine by her

whisky-8381774_1280.jpg
SOURCE

As she was putting the groceries inside her car, her rivalvy Mrs Patricia walked up to her smiling sheepishly.

Fab I noticed that you have been shopping all week. What's the occasion for? I know it's Christmas but this one must really be special?

Mrs Fabian turned to her after closing her trunk. She gave her a fake smile that was palpable. She hated her to the bones. She remembered how she disclosed her secret to everyone which turned her to a laughing stock in town for a whole year

My children are coming back for Christmas

Mrs Patricia stared at her in shock and then asked...

Really, wow. That's a good one. You must be very excited

Ofcourse I am. They feel so sorry for staying away all these years and they are finally ready to come home. I know the lies you fed everyone with including my children about me. But don't worry, I will forgive you in your next life. By the way do you know that my daughter is getting engaged this Christmas to Mr Kezzbab the billionaire and my son, he is coming home with a Porsche this Christmas. I forgot to tell you that he got a big promotion at work and even bought a mansion in LA.

Wow, I didn't know. Well Congratulations to you

Indeed, seems like lines are finally falling in pleasant places for me. Unlike some people

Mrs Patricia knowing she was referring to her decided not to mind so as to get to her good side. She watched Mrs Fabian enter her 7 years old Camry car which she bought after doping some women out of their hard earned money.

I will like to say hi to your children when they arrive. I have always been very fond of them

Mrs Fabian gave a fake smile again followed by a scorn. She put on her sunglasses and turned to her.

Whatever made you think that I will allow flies like you into my home or near my children? I quiet admire your audacity. Anyway in your dreams.

It was a short ride to her home and in no time she was inside her living room putting things in order in ANTICIPATION of her children's arrival on Christmas day. The house was properly decorated to put even the most bored person in the world into the Christmas mood and the kitchen smelt like Christmas morning already. When she was about to retire to bed she decided to check up on her children. It was something she enjoyed doing ever since they settled their grievances.

Mum, I am so sorry but I will not be coming this Christmas

Mrs Fabian was thrown aback and thus she asked for his reason.

I didn't get the promotion mum. I thought that I was the one that they will give it to and that was why I told you that I have gotten it. Now I cannot even buy my dream house and car again.

She was disappointed and at the same time worried for her son. Her move to encourage him did not work as he claimed to be busy and hung up.

I just spoke with your brother now, he's not sounding so great. Turned out he didn't get the promotion and I was so stupid to have announced it in the whole town. Ohhh jeez, atleast your engagement will save me from another walk of shame in town.

Well about that mummy, i and my boyfriend broke up last week

What?!

I am sorry mum, I definitely did not mean to burst your bubbles but he is certainly not the right man for me. Maybe some other Christmas mum, I am just gonna pass this one.

Mrs Fabian paced round her small apartment all night. Sleep was far from her eyes and her head hurts as if it will fall out from her neck.

What will I do now? What will people think of me again? After all the drama I acted around town boosting of my children's achievements?.

Ohh God why me again?.

She took some painkillers before she was able to fall alseep and in the morning when she wake up she called her children.

I don't care about the Porsche or a mansion in LA, or even the promotion. I also don't care about the engagement. All I care for is my children and I want you two to be here with me on Christmas day.

And the three of them have the best Christmas together surrounded by friends and families.

20231121_162145.jpg

Sort:  

The experience of failed expectations always sad. @amiableamara(64)

Of course, life has a way of surprising us all.

You point out well the flaw in Mrs. Fabian's character, pride, which could have led to a sad outcome. Instead of being concerned with her children's success by itself, she was concerned with how that success would appear to others. Fortunately she saw the folly of her ways, and was able to salvage not only Christmas, but good relations with her children.

The strength of you piece rests in the fact that you convey this message without moralizing. You lead the reader, through your writing skill, to draw the obvious conclusion.

Nicely done, @amiableamara

Thank you for the nice review. I keep improving in my writing @theinkwell