THE PHONE CALL

in The Ink Well6 months ago (edited)

I have always been the type of woman that desired dates and flowers. To love and be loved right. That is why I kind of find it very strange to hear people talk about love at first sight.

It could be love
Perhaps something mistaken as love

20231212_213417.jpg

My first love Samuel was everything I have ever dreamt of in a man. He was charming and it was a young love. We got distracted and lost each other when we entered college. The distance was a major constraint and we couldn't find a way to make it work.

We didn't break up
We just stopped talking to each other after a major fight.

Then i heard he started dating a lady in the same collage as he was. There was this youngman also that was all over me. He was a wealthy businessman and spoiled me silly. He makes sure to visit my school every weekend bearing goodies and I couldn't contain my excitement. I was his Cinderella and he was my prince charming. Samuel's new relationship meant nothing to me because I was in a better place. My new boyfriend CJ was treating me so well and he was a wealthy businessman unlike Samuel who was still in college and also cheating on me too.

There came this evening that I was watching Twilight movie. There was something about that movie that touched my soul. It made me to walk outside in the open air to think. I wondered who among the two men that i have dated love me as the character Edward loved Bella.

After an hour of thinking without coming to any conclusion, i looked up toward the Moonlight and made a wish.

Let the man who love me most in the whole wide world call me now.

It was a silly wish if I must say and did not in my slightest imagination thought that it would ever be possible. I was just a young girl confused about what love was. It seemed that heaven was listening indeed because in less than two minutes after making that wish my phone started ringing. I was startled and wondered if it was just a mere coincidence. Maybe it was just my sister calling or perhaps it could be my best friend Amaka. I got up and went inside the house to get my phone. Looking at the caller it was ...

Samuel.

I was dumbfounded and kept starting at the phone while it rang. The whole thing still looked so surreal to me and when I finally pressed the answer button i heard his voice for the first time in eighteen months.

The voice of my first love.

When I asked him why he called me, he answered that he just thought about me and decided to give me a call. Then we spent the next two hours catching up on many things and honestly talking with him just flows so naturally. We can talk for hours and still have many more things to talk about.

I realised one thing that night and that was that he is the love of my life.

But love isn't enough to keep our relationship. We have lost the most crucial flavour in our relationship which made it the envy of all and that was Trust.

Two years later i walked down the aisle with another man. Samuel called me few days later and with his voice shaking he said...

They told me that another man has married my wife.

Sort:  

Relationships and settling down can be really complex and most times confusion can set in. But on the other hand, trust is one of the most important things in a partnership.

This was a lovely read.

It can be really confusing indeed. And just as you mentioned trust is needed and when trust is not there the love loses it's truthful meaning.

Congratulations @amiableamara! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 200 posts.
Your next target is to reach 250 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023

What a sentimental story, @amiableamara! Beautiful images of the moonlit wish-fulfillment and expressive words to describe your feelings. The sweet taste of first love always remains in the memory. Thank you for this story, @amiableamara

I am glad you enjoyed it.

Hi @amiableamara, what a coincidence about the moon.
I find the story interesting, since really all relationships are based on trust and it's a pity that it was lost with Samuel. But if it happened, that's what should have happened.
!HUESO

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.


Uses: 9/10
!LOL

I don't think the flounder I caught today was very happy with me.
He kept looking at me kinda sideways.

Credit: reddit
@osomar357, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bot-bdbhueso

(1/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Trust is the foundation of all relationship.

Yeah, trust is the foundamental when it comes to building relationships, love isn't just enough. Samuel would have done better to keep his wife, lol! it is sad that he broke the most important thing in your relationship even though you still loved him, it wasn't just going to work without trust.

Destiny puts many loves along the way and each one of them teaches us something for our life, but in the end we are left with who life has chosen for us, no matter the circunstances.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Good day.

You are welcome.

Your story is very romantic with that wish you made. But the reality of the relationship. It made me a little sad but the most important thing is to feel happy and confident with the loved one and you realized it in time.
Regards @amiableamara

Thank you dear, it was indeed a romantic relationship. But we have to chose what's best for us.