More than a friend

in The Ink Welllast month (edited)

Sometimes our best friends are the ones we least expect. The ones we feel aren't good enough to be, the ones who we presume to be dangerous.

Years ago, I was still a child who loved animals but was scared of them. Sometimes, I would run to my Dad's room...

"Daddy, I want a dog."
dog-2762200_1280.jpg
Source

He would laugh out "Are you sure you want one?" He would usually ask me.

"Yes" I'd say while nodding my head.

"I don't think you're ready, you're too scared of animals."

I would playfully hit my brittle hands on his thighs while faking a cry "Daaaddy buy one."

Well, I returned from school a certain day, and guess what? I saw a basket with a cute little puppy in it. I was surprised and excited. My heart celebrated within and my emotions exuded from my perfect smile.

I ran to my Dad who ate lunch at the dining table "Daddy, is the dog for me?"

"Of course, who do you think it's for?" My Dad had no time to joke around, always straight to the point, unlike my Mum. I guess this was the reason I was really shocked he bought a Dog to surprise me.

Well, days passed by and I found the greatest friend in him. My siblings and I were so fond of him that we gave him the name "Bruno." The name was gotten from one of our favourite characters in a cartoon series.

I would eat slowly sometimes, so that my Dad, mum and siblings could finish their meals and leave before I did .

"Make sure you clean up the table and wash the dishes." My Dad would point at me while leaving the table. He usually got angry that i suddenly formed the habit of eating slowly, perhaps it's the reason I was always asked to do the dishes after every meal.

"Bruno, Bruno," I would then call my puppy to the dining after everyone had left, place his feeding plate close to his sniffing nose. " Here you go" I'd pour in my tea or whatever I ate into it while guarding every possible entrance my parents could come in through.

I didn't mind cleaning or washing as long as Bruno was happy. I watched him grow into an adult. I watched as his low pitched bark transitioned to that of a grown male. I found peace and comfort in him.

"Hmm... You and this Bruno" My Dad would jokingly say, each time he sighted me having a close up moment with him.

"I told you I love animals." I'd reply.

He'd just laugh and walk past me while I kept enjoying my loved-up moment with him.

My sibling were frightened of him when he grew so big. he was an Alsatian breed, though he seemed much larger, perhaps it was the meals I secretly shared with him, who knows?

It was a certain day, early in the morning, I walked up to my Dad "Daddy Good morning" I greeted him.

"How was your night?" He asked me.

"It was fine." I wore a priceless smile on my cute innocent face.

"I'd love to show you something." He held me by the hands and lead me downstairs towards Bruno's cage.

He laid asleep on the warm marbles. I playfully poked him on the belly while my Dad watched, smiling at the both of us. But there was something quite unusual about Bruno, he didn't wake up. I poked him again, but still no response.

I turned up to my Dad who fixed his gaze upon me the whole time... our eyes then locked.

"He's dead, Emeka."

My heart skipped. I could physically feel the pain transmit right through my chest. I didn't know what to do or say. My mouth widened but no words came forth.

"I'm sorry, I'll buy you another one." He said, tapping my shoulders before leaving.

I cried out as though I had lost, not just a dog, not even a friend... but a brother! How could the world be so cruel? How could the one thing that made me feel so special bring forth sadness?

For days and months I felt like I had no one, though I had parents and siblings. My laughter was silenced, my smiles were lost and all I was left with were the perfect memories we once had - it was the only thing I found solace in, the one thing I held onto in my darkest moments.

This is an entry for the #Aprilinleo daily prompt. Check it out here

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Loosing an important piece of our lives is never an easy thing to bear, especially when all our lives joy and happiness revolved around this important piece.
Even the replacement with another dog would not be able to take this pain away.

Bruno surely meant the world to you and his passing was truly painful. Dogs are known to be man's loyal friend and truly Bruno proved himself beyond

A huge bond is formed between people and their pets. It's always sad to say goodbye to a being that has given us such special moments. Thanks for writing, @chuksmeezy. We look forward to seeing your meaningful comments on the stories of other writers in the community.