The hidden talent within.

in The Ink Well16 days ago
During my junior secondary school days, I had a great dislike for sports. Whether it was football, volleyball, basketball, or track events, I always had an excuse to avoid participating, and it always worked except for my physical education practical class, which left me with no choice as my scores depended on my performance not just in class but also on the field.


You know what they say about birds of a feather? My circle of friends were just like me; they also did not like sports, so we always flocked together lazily around the field during sports days, exercising our mouths through gist and small gossips instead of our bodies.


I got the perfect excuse to not actively participate during my physical education practical class when I underwent an appendectomy.


IMG_20240427_182228_792.jpg

After running a marathon race😂.

However, my dislike of sports took an unexpected turn when I transferred to a mixed-gender school. Unlike my previous school, which was a girls-only school, fate was not good to me at my new school as I was selected among others—both boys and girls—for the 400-meter race on our inaugural sports day, a day where they get to select new students who are good at one sport activity or the other to train them ahead for competitions.


As someone who dislikes sports, I looked for all the excuses I could think of.

"Excuse me, senior Rinji," I said while raising my hand. Rinji was the sports prefect.

Rinji walked up to me. Yes, Dora, what do you want to say? He asked.

"Well, I just wanted to ask for permission to be exempted because I can't run and I am not really into sports."

"You're joking, right?" Rinji replied; he seemed not to believe me. "You've got the physique, and not just that, I believe it runs in your family, seeing that your cousin is the best female athlete in the school and also the female sports prefect." He countered.

"Hmmmm, I don't think you understand what I am saying. I have never been on track before." I quickly responded. "And I really don't want to embarrass myself; I would rather sit down and cheer those on the track." I added.

Rinji laughed. I could not understand what the laughter meant, as I patiently hoped he would agree and let me go. "Come on, Dora, don't just waste this body of yours. I get that you don't like sports, but I really want you to give it a shot. You can never tell if it's a hidden talent you have yet to discover. I'll cheer you on all the way. Don't worry." He said it with an encouraging, broad smile. He left immediately, refusing to let me go and sit with my friends.


Left with no choice but to participate, I was left with two options: either to try my best to avoid being laughed at or to not be unbothered. Immediately after I heard the whistle sound, there was a sudden rush of adrenaline through my veins. With the eyes of spectators, especially the boys, and particularly my crush fixed upon me, I decided to give it my all.


As I pushed myself forward, it was as if my feet were barely touching the track. I could hear my friends cheering and vouching for me to do well, which motivated me. Crossing the finish line in second place alongside a male counterpart, a sudden wave of euphoria engulfed me.


I was surrounded by congratulatory embraces from friends, my classmates, and hostel mates. I had just unlocked a talent that was hidden within.

"Dora!" I had a voice call me, and turning towards where the voice was coming, I saw senior Asiya, who happened to be my roommate and house captain. She looked very excited as she approached me. "Congratulations, Roomie," she said while opening her arms to give me a hug.

Immediately, we disengaged from the hug. "Finally, we now have three female athletes to represent the house," she said happily.

"Thank you, senior Asiya." I replied with a smile, "I am surprised that I made it to second place. I actually didn't do it for the house; I just didn't want to take the last position," I added.

"Well, regardless of your motivation, it's obvious that you have the talent, and with a little bit of training, who knows what you can achieve? For the record, you are going to work with Sandra and Blessing and represent Yellow House during the inter-house sports," she said, leaving me dumfounded.

Sandra and Blessing were in the same house with me and had been selected earlier that day too for their performance on track.


The absence of female athletes on the house has consistently affected the house during the inter-house sports competition. Even though Yellow House had the best male athletes in the school, their efforts were always watered down by the lack of female athletes.


Embracing my newfound role as a long-distance runner, I was able to shatter the spirit of self-doubt and embark on a journey of self-discovery.


IMG_20240427_182317_479.jpg

Receiving my gift.

During inter-house sports competitions, I kept finishing each race among the first three. From taking 3rd place in a 6-kilometer marathon race and a 3000-meter race to 2nd place in 1500 meters, 800 meters, and a 4 by 4-meter relay race, I left a mark, and I earn admiration from my teachers and students alike. What began as a forced obligation transformed into a passion.


ALL IMAGES ARE MINE.

Thank you for coming to my blog 🤗, I would love it if you leave a comment.

Sort:  

Quite an interesting read. Rinji saw the hidden talent in you, believed in you and you surely revealed it, motivated by not failing in the presence of admirers. Good script here

Thank you for your time, I am grateful.

You're welcome

Believing in yourself is key. You were spurred by the words of Rinji and you went for it, coming out victorious. I'm glad you found something that's been hidden in you or a while. It was a nice story Indeed✨

Believing in yourself is key. You were spurred by the words of Rinji and you went for it, coming out victorious. I'm glad you found something that's been hidden in you for a while. It was a nice story Indeed✨

Thank you for your time, I am honoured.

This is just a beautiful story. I remember running away from sports too because I just didn't have the strength😀. But it's a good thing that senior Rinji spotted your talent and went ahead to help you harness it.

Thank you for your kind words, I am honoured.

You are most welcome.

Hi, @didiyilji. Welcome and to The Ink Well. Please see below for some great introductory information to our community. First, we wanted to be sure to let you know that you must supply the direct link to our image source. Thank you.

Now that you're here, please have a look around and get to know our community. Here are a few tips for getting acquainted:

  • Be sure to read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well.
  • We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.
  • You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
  • You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

And please be sure to engage in the community by reading and commenting on the work of other community members. We ask everyone who post in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.

Again, welcome!

Thank you, I am excited to be here. I hope to check out the guidelines.

Congratulations @didiyilji! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024