Puffless

in The Ink Well7 months ago

Fresh air assaults my lungs; it’s a sensory rollercoaster of bliss. The air is sweet, it’s cool, and it feels as if it’s packed with vitamins. I’m so lucky; I’ve faced the demon head-on, and right now, at least, I’m winning.

Rain drifts in, and for the first time in decades, I can smell its heady, fresh aroma. It’s gorgeous. The weirdest thing is that I can draw in fragrances that did not exist for me yesterday, but I can also taste flavors that delight my senses—flavors I didn’t realize existed at all.

Suddenly, I’m free. As free as the lightning crashing into the clouds on high. I feel just as powerful in my victory over addiction.
Victory!
“How are you feeling today?” My partner asks, doe-eyed and nervous.
“I’m fine. I’m so okay,” I reply. His relief is ridiculously evident, and I smile broadly at the pleasure I am giving him so inadvertently.

I haven’t smoked a cancer stick in twenty-one days. Twenty-one days, which should’ve been hell. That’s what they say—online, in articles, in the corner of the pub. You can’t just give up smoking because, well, you know, you’re going to suffer!
But I haven’t suffered...
I haven’t!
It’s been unbelievably easy. What if people found out that it’s absolutely simple to give up smoking?
What if?
All you really need to do is say “NO!”
I don’t want cancer.
I don’t admire heart thrombosis.
I don’t like the idea of varicose veins.
I don’t want to poison my family and friends with second-hand smoke.
So…
I smashed every packet of cigarettes in the carton I bought.
I raved around the house, dousing cigarettes in water to destroy them.
I held an anti-smoking party!
I made a little paper boat. I loaded it with cigarettes. I set it to float across my swimming pool, but I lit the flag before I pushed it out on the water. I burned my cigarettes in a ritual. A ritual to ensure that I don’t have access.
Twenty-one days down the line, that party is a resounding success.
I know that I’ll never smoke again.
The biggest reason for my absolute resistance is none of the reasons above. The real reason is that I worked out that if I had saved rather than spent the money on cigarettes during my lifetime, I’d have around five hundred thousand rand.
Here’s to five hundred thousand rand in savings over the next fifteen years and a no-smoke zone in my smoke-free home!
Cheers!


Image

Source

Sort:  

This is beautifully scripted as it brought a smile to me in the twist of the story arc. The protagonist surely made valid reasons to stop smoking but beyond that, saw wealth that could have been amassed, and perhaps, wealth that could be saved from the consequences of smoking also.

Your script is well transitioned from abstract to reality despite its twist.
Thank you for sharing

Thank you for your carefully considered comment and your time! ❤️💕❤️🤗💕❤️

You're most welcome

 6 months ago  

Hello @itsostylish. What a motivating piece. I have never indulged in smoke or drink, so I don't know the struggle. Mine is with food. Same difference, though. A lovely read. I appreciate your sharing this piece that flows so smoothly.

Also, I'd like to thank you for the delegation. Much appreciated and your support. I'll use wisely.

Take care.
!ALIVE
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @itsostylish and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/16 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@itsostylish! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ justclickindiva. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

This story is more like a motivation, an eye opener and way maker for a lot of people .
It's one one the best stories I've ever read as it teaches determination and encourages money saving technique.
Thanks for such a good story as am very sure you have influenced a lot including me

❤️💕😁

YAY! YAY! YAY! THIS 👆👆👆

Fabulous effort, my Stylish! So proud of you. Get those lungs clean and keep 'em clean so we can have many many more years of your life in ours 💗 ... and have you back in DM lolol

This was a fantastic piece!

Love you 💞😍🤗💗

Thank you Sam. It’s so very special for me when you read my stuff. Love you 😍❤️💕❤️🤗🤗🤗💕💕❤️❤️

I love this!
The ability to fight the demon inside, the ability to say No.
It will be a better world if people actually know that they can control what they want for themselves just by determination. Many also lack the encouragement and love from other people, that's why they fail to stop an addiction because they feel no one cares about them.
The reason why the character's addiction was stopped easily was because of the love,care and support from the partner. That alone can encourage one to be better for the person. At the least the character knows someone expects and wish for her to be better.

I believe it's my first time here on your blog, it feels nice to be here.
Best wishes @itsostylish.

Zeegirl 🌻

What you say is all too true—without support, we flounder, without love we fail. I’m so pleased with my progress I’m not even thinking of external influences. Thanks for making me take note of the ones I love ❤️ 💕🤗💕🤗💕❤️😁😄😄🙃

You've got this! And I'm so happy to see that you have something motivating you to continue. We are all cheering you on, @itsostylish!

Thank you @jayna ❤️💕❤️💕🤗🤗

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @samsmith1971.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I lost one cousin to lung cancer when she was 72. I lost her sister to lung cancer when she was 74. Both women began smoking as teeny boppers. Their parents, nonsmokers, lived into their late eighties. Cigarettes stole at least a decade from each of my cousins.

A year ago my younger sister died of lung cancer at 73. She was the youngest of us, and the only smoker. The rest of us are left to mourn. Cigarettes (how many times she tried to stop) took her from us.

I rejoice at your victory. You describe your sense of conquest so well. Your piece is an invitation to all to stop. Every reason you give for stopping is great. The last...all the money you saved, is a kicker.

This is a great piece, @itsostylish.

@agmoore, that is way too sad! I’m not sure how you negotiated your way through this mire of pain. It must be very, very difficult to watch someone you love suffer the trauma of lung cancer. I’m so glad that you don’t smoke and I’m so glad that I no longer do! ❤️💕❤️😁💕❤️😁😄💕❤️❤️😁😄😄💕❤️🤗🤗🤗

What a great first line. You lead us into your 'Puffless' life with a triumphant voice. The pace of the piece screams victory. Your writing is full of energy, and this is as expressive of your celebratory mood as your words.

You manage to give all the reasons for not smoking without preaching. It is a regrettable weakness of the reformed that they often stand on a pedestal and exult over the unreformed. No such trait mars your piece. You rejoice, and we rejoice with you.

Congratulations, @itsostylish, on your many puffless years ahead.

❤️💕❤️😁🤗

It really is a great victory for a great evil that takes the lives of thousands of people year after year. Your willpower was more powerful than the charm of the cigarette. You truly beat death and now you can continue walking towards the horizon with a clear panorama. Cheers!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Happy day.

❤️💕😁