The Perfect Apartment

in The Ink Well11 months ago

Walking down the street, there lies a beautiful apartment; it looks like one of those houses from a movie scene in Hollywood. I thought to myself "This is perfect".

pexels-photo-1829191.jpeg

Source

David and I have been house hunting for a while now, looking for about 2 months, and we never saw a perfect house. I picked up my phone and called David "I have seen the perfect apartment", I told David. I was expecting a response of excitement from David, but rather I got a cold response: "There is no perfect apartment". This made me think, "How can this beautiful three-story building not be perfect? Well, I will wait for David to come and see the apartment, and I know he will surely be happy.

Well, I am just a graduate of Political Science and David is a graduate of Statistics, so there is not much difference between the two of us when it comes to understanding building. I just thought, "Maybe he does not like the area.
I waited for David for about an hour at a Cafe close to the apartment. To me, it was the ideal apartment; it had a mall, a sports center, a garden, and a restaurant close by. I could do everything I wanted without leaving the area.

David arrived, and from the look on his face, I could see he was not impressed by the house or its surrounding area. I asked, "David, what is the problem with this area?" He looked at me and smiled. "This area will be flooded during the rainy season," he replied. "You must be joking. When did you start knowing about buildings and the topography of a place?" I said with anger in my voice.

We have been looking for an apartment for two months, and when we see the perfect apartment, he is talking about flooding. I was so pissed that I said to David "Maybe you have found a house somewhere and you don't want to inform me about it". He looked at me and smiled; the smile became annoying to me because I felt he was just trying to be difficult.

David looked at me and said "I will call a construction engineer to come and assess this area and see what his advice would be". "What are you even saying? I don't have time for all that," I replied.

David called a Construction engineer, and with 30 minutes, the man arrived, and he just looked left and right. He shook his head and said "This area will be flooded during the rainy season". I asked him, "Why?"He said the buildings were constructed along the water channel, and if it rained, it would be a nightmare. He showed me some marks on the various buildings around the area and said they were the marks left by the floods.

I was surprised at how correct David was. I asked him "How did you know the area would be flooded" David smiled and said "Have you forgotten my father works in a construction company and I assist him anytime I am less busy". Oh, how could I forget such a detail?" I said, smiling. The difference between me and David was that he had a little knowledge about buildings, while I was just after the beauty of the building and its surroundings.

I am just happy I exercised a little patience for the construction engineer to come and explain to me why the location was not the best.
We kept looking for an apartment until we found one in the perfect area. Though it did not come with all the facilities, during the rainy season it was always dry, like it never rained, because the whole area was well designed.

Sort:  

It's raining right now and I so I'm stuck at home because everywhere is flooded.
You are lucky David came through at the last minute. You saw the beauty of the house and I would have to say that I'm like you in that aspect which is the exact reason I'm currently stuck at home😂😂😂

But it was really nice story. I enjoy reading it❤️❤️

The rains just reminded me of this incident, I guess looking for an apartment during the rainy season is the best.

The most important thing in finding a place to live is a location that is free from flooding. Thank goodness you took David to see the apartment.

Very true, it's one of those life hacks one must know

Sometimes peoples’ differences compliment and complete. David saved you from making an unwise choice. Thank you for sharing your story with us in The Ink Well.

Please remember to support the community and comment on other stories.

Thank you for the comment

sometimes we don't see beyond when we fall in love with a place because we see with the eyes of the heart, thank goodness you have David and he saw it from the beginning.

Very true, when we love a thing we don't care to look for other faults in them

Hahahaha. It's always good to ask the experts for their opinion!!! Sometimes we tend to evaluate something lightly and it's the other people who make us see those details that we can't perceive. Good thing David was more objective otherwise they would have made a bad purchase. Regards

Thank you for your comment, I learnt a lot from that experience

Thank goodness for David, he saved you from making a bad choice, cheers!

Thank you for stopping by, David saved me from a lot of regret

It's good to have friends like David around as they always have all round knowledge on basically everything.

Very true, they always come in handy. Thank you for reading my story.

You're most welcome dear ✨