Lost Connections

in The Ink Welllast year

image.png

"Honk"

"Pat's out front. Don't be late for school!"

My Mom called out to me as I grabbed my bag and rushed out the door.

Pat was my neighbor from around the block.

We walked to middle school together. Now we were in high school and he was driving a car.

He stayed with me for a long time. When I was in fifth grade and had a bloody nose from a fight, he walked me home. Every day during recess we hung out together and talked nonsense about how we were going to take over the world. After school we would hang out at his house and listen to Led Zeppelin albums or listen to his brother play riffs on his guitar.

We were best friends for a while. Even the birds knew this.

Every day we passed by a high hedge together to cut a corner to get to school. We went past the same house and the same hedge everyday. One day the black birds decided to surprise us. A group of them hide behind the bushes waiting for us to come late to school. As we were about to pass the corner the black birds jumped out all together and crowed and then started laughing when they saw that the scared the pants off of us.

Pat was the one who usually got us in trouble in gym class. He refused to wear anything but moccasins to school. The teacher would make him and I do laps while the other kids played baseball. The teacher thought Pat was a drug dealer, but Pat was just a happy kid and smiled a lot. He would have Pat empty out his pockets and the content of his locker, but he never once found anything incriminating.

Pat was just happy.

That gym teacher couldn't stand anyone being happy and different. I would often take punishments with Pat. This was partly because we were friends, but mostly because I didn't sign up for football my second year. The gym teacher was our coach and somehow was offended by me not signing up for a second year.

After school Pat and I would go to a friends house who lived next to the school. He had a lot of instruments and had padded his entire basement with insulation so we played loud. His parents were older so they basically let him and his friends do whatever they wanted to do. Usually when it was just Pat and I and another friend we were very well behaved and they loved to have us over in the afternoon.

At that time Pat got the part for guitar for the school jazz band and I was singing in the glee club. They were silly times and we would often go to old folks centers or elementary schools to perform together. We talked about how we would be famous and make our own records. Then suddenly Pat was gone.

I never saw him face to face since then.

During the second year of high school, his parents retired and he moved with them down south. At that time there was no internet and although I had his phone number I never called him. It seemed like he was a million miles away.

Last year Pat found me on Facebook. He is married and has a teenage daughter. He never became a famous musician although he does seem to be a pretty good guy still. He moved back to Chicago some years ago and the next time we are there I might call him and tell him I'm coming.

image.png

This is an original story by @mineopoly. All pictures here are my own. This story is in response to the inkwell community creative nonfiction prompt 34 .

Sort:  

That is one wonderful story. Cant wait to see the reunion part of the story. I have a similar one, but at a larger scale. We found a super middleman old school mate, and he connected everyone with everyone in a couple of years time. And then we called for a high school reunion after 20 years 🤣 was a blast!

Oh. I was the Pat guy in your story.

You had a nice set of Amps. I had nothing but brothers so I hung out at my friends' house and used their stuff. Thank you friend.

Nah. Rental. 25 bucks an hour 🤣

!LOL... Did you learn some chords?

Pat seemed like a very nice person and you both had loads of fun together. Thanks for sharing your story.

I know the feeling, people drift away sometimes, it's happened to me with many. It's great that you found Pat again and I do hope you guys are able to hook up in Cali next time you're there. You'll probably find that he hasn't changed at all. He'll probably say the same about you.

Yes. It would be kind of fun. We both changed a lot.

!BEER


Hey @emma-h, here is a little bit of BEER from @mineopoly for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @mineopoly.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It’s really interesting how some of the connections we make in our youth feel the strongest. It’s rather sad that you lost touch with your childhood friend, but perhaps you’ll meet up when you visit Chicago.

Your descriptive writing always carries the story so well making it a really worthwhile read.

Thanks for reading and for inkwell to provide the prompt and support each week. I actually don't know the next time I'll be in Chicago. I know Pat is more interested in his family than music these days, but it is worthwhile to keep connected. !PIZZA

The joy that will accompany your reunion with Pat in Chicago can only be imagined when you finally reconnect. I love it when "good bye" is not the one till eternity.

Thanks for your support @lightpen

It's interesting you mention "eternity" because by definitions there are no eternal goodbyes. As long as eternity exists and we are part of it then we were always and will always be here. Maybe that's what makes the thought of eternity so haunting to some.

his parents retired and he moved with them down south

I can feel this, I too lost a friend in the same way and got him back after seven years and more ironically lost him again. The first separation was due to his parent's transfer and the second one is for his education purpose. Such is life!

Thanks for your comment and understanding @minhajulmredol

Good friends are hard to come by and part of our life. Becoming disconnecting is just a matter of the flow of things, but a reunion may also be a fun thing too.

I felt everything while reading this.
I smiled really big when I read the line Pat was just really happy.
It takes so much to just be simply happy. My heart broke when I got to the part where you said he was gone and you never saw him again.

I'm pretty sure he told his teenage daughter all about you. I'm so glad he found you and he reached out.
I really hope you two get to make new memories ❤️

Thanks for your heartfelt comment @dianelson

I'm glad you can follow the story together with me. Pat was what some people might call a "goofball". Maybe he still is. I talked to him a few years ago and I should just check up on him one my time. Thanks so much for reading and telling me how the story made you feel. I will take your comment into consideration when writing stories.

This is a beautifully written story. It's simple but I felt a whole lot. Imagine someone else being unhappy and suspicious of another person because he was always smiling. That's a rare gift. Being constantly happy. Some bonds do not need a lot of stories to it. Just two people who get each other in ways others can't. I simply !luv how warm and pure your story is.🌺🤗

Thanks for enjoying a couple years of middle school and high school with me and my friend. It is common suffering that brings people together. This suffering is also a basic element of comedy and story telling. Although we were just having fun, we suffered together and that's the bond that will not be broken in time or distance. That's the connection that will still be there no matter what we do. And more !LUV for you.

Thank you for sharing. It truly was a pleasure reading. Have a wonderful day.🤗

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@mineopoly(1/5) tipped @theinkwell