One bold step can change everything.

in The Ink Well26 days ago

As young boys, we did not deem it fit to belong to any organization or department in the church; after all, belonging to organizations or departments in the church will try to interfere with our day to day activities as well as stop us from having fun like we intend to. Instead of spending time having fun, we would be spending time at one rehearsal or another, so joining any organization or department was a no for us.

Brown Natural Simple Singer Musician Gig Promo Instagram Post_20240501_052214_0000.png
designed in canva.

I had so many reasons not to join any department in church, not just because it would interfere with my fun time. I had stage fright. I can be talkative with friends, but the moment I come before crowd, I lose my voice, and joining any department in church means some day I will be asked to do something that will bring me before the crowd, and the only way to escape that is by not joining any department.

One Sunday afternoon, I was with friends as usual when my mom came back from church with a sad face. Somehow I already feel I know why she has a sad face on, because she has been on my neck about wanting to see me participate in activities that go on in church. Coming back from church with a sad face only means the issue is related to what we already have on ground. I asked her what the problem was.

"The children who acted in that interesting drama today are kids like you; they don't have two heads and are not better than you in any way. The only role you play in the church is to sit in the congregation and watch other kids make their parents happy and proud. You don't know how happy I'd feel seeing you up there.". My mom said

"Even the Bible says we should serve our maker in the days of our youths, I don't know what you are using your youthful days for.". My dad added

The pressure was getting worse every day; there is no day that I am told reasons why I should be participating in church. My mom even went to the point of reporting me to the Reverend.

"You know what your mom wants; why not make her happy by joining a department in church? Someday you will look back and be glad you did this one favor for her." The Reverend said this after he had called me to his office.

Finally, I decided to join the choir, at least to make both parents happy. Joining the choir did make them happy; how they talked to me changed, and even I was able to breathe some fresh air. Not long after joining the choir, my biggest fear came knocking.

"Kachi, you will be the lead singer for the praise and worship session on Sunday." The choir mistress said to me on a Saturday after rehearsal

I thought about ceasing to be a member of the choir, stopping coming to rehearsals, and just doing away with anything that relates to the choir, but then I would have to go back to the life where I was being pressured. I had to quit being a member of two departments because, for some reason, I was selected to do something that had to do with coming before crowd, and I had to leave. I cannot keep running, so I made up my mind.

"Let's lift our hands in worship; give God all the glory." I said this before I started singing.

I thought I messed things up, but the congregation clapping and cheering at the end of my singing had me convinced it was a star performance.

Thanks for stopping by. Your comments will be appreciated.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

okay this so me, not that i was scared of joining any department in church , I somehow always get away with leading any song, haha

Lol! I can relate well to this. The tension and everything, glad yours came out beautifully.

Joining a department in church is a good thing.
Thanks for sharing.

It may not have been what you wanted to do, but it's seems from this piece that participating brought you some satisfaction, besides pleasing your parents. Not everyone can be a star, even an imperfect star.

There is good development in this piece. You explain your motivation from beginning to end. Perhaps there wasn't a transformation of character, but there was growth.

Thank you for sharing this experience with us, @offia66.

In the end you made your parents proud to see you sing in church, in one way or another it is something that you will carry in your heart all your life.

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Happy day.