All Hope Was Not Lost

in The Ink Welllast month

Growing up, I have always wanted to become a medical doctor and that is because of the events that happened to me when I was a little kid. At the age of 8 years old, I lost my elder brother John who was 11 years old then to the cold of death due to an illness he battle with till he can't any longer. At the age of 7, he was diagnosed with cancer and even though at that very tended age, I can't really say what is the severity of the illness means because i was still 5 years old but i can actually remember vividly the sad face worn on my parent face then.

John was really a strong soul who try to fight it and fight it but at the age of 11, he can't no longer fight the illness and was taken by the hands of death. At the age of 8 years old, I watched how my only elder brother John suffer at the hands of death due an incurable disease called cancer or probably because it was not treated to the point whereby it was cured. From that henceforth, I made the determination that I will become a medical doctor in order to find out the perfect cure for this disease and save many more lives who might suffer from the same fate.

pexels-photo-3808803.jpeg

Image Source

This personal quest I have made me fall in love with any science related course from the onset majorly chemistry. I was hinted that chemist majorly works in the production of drugs and so because of this actually made me to fall in love with chemistry specifically. Coming from a family background who is also not financially that strong but tying every day to meet ends. Well I give thanks to my parent for their persistent work and effort in making sure I acquire education.

My mother who happen to be my favourite is a petty trader in the oja market in Kwara State. She is popularly known for selling food items like rice, beans and many more. My dad is a well known teacher in a primary school. Well I forget to tell you that age was catching up on both of them. My dad is 55 years old while my mom is 50 years old.

Fast forward, I was in SS2, preparing for my monk exam we usually hold in my school Saint Monica College as that exam is meant to prepare us for the WAEC and JAMB exam ahead. Well due to the wonderful background I came from and the personal quest I really desire in my mind to have, I actually desire to make sure that make the difference of bringing the cure to the cancer illness who has been known to have claimed a whole lot of lives in the society and globally.

pexels-photo-2941570.jpeg

Image Source

It was this perfect afternoon returning back from the school when I heard the cry from our house. I have just lost my dad. How does it happen? That was the question going through my mind and trying to answer. I was told he was hit with a fast moving car when he was coming from his working place and instantly he couldn't survive, he died instantly. At that particular time, it seems the world was turning upside for me. How can I cope.

At that particular phase, it was really hard for me to pass through that phase and most especially it was really harder for my mother who needs to handle the world now alone. Been encouraged by people around me, I was able to pass through that phase and prepare for my exams. I mean both the WAEC and JAMB. Well I did well in both exam and scoring over 260 in my jamb. That qualify me for the course I really want to study which was medical doctor.

Low and behold, on this faithful afternoon, I received a message on my mom phone because then I usually use mom phone for anything related to registration as I don't have a smartphone then. The message entered and the content of the message was really shocking to me. I have been given admission to study Medicine and surgery in university of Ibadan.

Yes I jump up in joy, finally it seems my dream is about coming to fulfilment. I will finally get to study my dream course. Letting my mom know about the news, she was happy but not really happy. Wondering what might have been wrong. Mom, you should be happy, what is wrong?

She responded: My Daughter, I know this is your dream course but you need to understand that things are really hard now. You will not be able to go to the university this year. You will need to wait till next year.

I was shocked with that response. Yes quite all right I understand the aspect she is coming from but I was shocked that she really has given up and lost hope this year. In as much as all situation was pointing to me to also follow in her shoe, something keeps drawing me back not to give up and lose hope.

I responded: mom, don't worry, God will provide.

Knowing that it will be difficult for my mom to see the aspect of hope, I decided to contact my uncle. I explained everything to him and the response my mom gave. He assured me everything will be alright and he will put a call through to my mom.

After 3 hours, my mom approached me and told me she have a good news for me. Really anticipating what is it, she said my uncle has decided to sponsor my education in the university for the first 3 years and even beyond if God helps him.

I jump up and rejoice, yes finally I am going to the university, finally I will have a chance to study my dream course and finally there is finally hope. All hope was not lost.

Sort:  

Is this fiction or nonfiction? It seems from your response to @iskawrites' comment that this did happen to you. If it happened to you then it is nonfiction, and the tag on the story should be nonfiction. However, you wrote to the fiction prompt. In the future, please try to keep the fiction and nonfiction prompts on the appropriate blogs. No big deal, but it is important that you and the reader understand when events are true or made up.

The piece has all the elements of a story: conflict, conflict resolution, characters. It certainly does write to the prompt--hope. However, there are some issues with style. In two places you seem to repeat yourself:

lost my elder brother John who was 11 years old then to the cold of death due to an illness he battle with till he can't any longer. At the age of 7, he was diagnosed with cancer and even though at that very tended age,

and here

At the age of 8 years old, I watched how my only elder brother John suffer at the hands of death due an incurable disease called cancer or probably because it was not treated to the point whereby it was cured.

It is also hard to figure out exactly how old you were, because the information in the two paragraphs seems to be contradictory. A final note of interest, for future reference: you use the term 'faithful day'. You probably meant 'fateful'.

There are a few other issues. However, you do have a complete story and we do understand the motivation of the main character (who seems to be you) and the other people in the story.

Thank you for sharing this story with us, @precab.

Oh alright then
Thank you so much for this feedback.
I think I misinterpreted the meaning of fiction and non fiction. I will do much more better next time definitely.

Thank you so much for those advices

@theinkwell

It felt like a real life event until I saw the fiction tag. Well, congratulations. Your Uncle sponsoring your education means you will be able to fulfill your dream of becoming a doctor and you will be able to saves lives as well.

I am telling you sincerely. My uncle was my saviour if not I might not have entered the university

So sorry for the death of your brother to cancer and that of your dad to accident. You really passed through a lot.
I hope the school system has been good or you've probably graduated already.
!BBH

@precab! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (9/20)

Yea a whole lot but well we are where we are today and we are still strong

Yeah, that's life for us

Congratulations @precab! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

The story got me reading to the end. I thought it was a real life story until I noticed the post tags to see it was fictional.

Yea at first I did a little mistake misinterpreting it as non friction when writing the story

Thank you for your time

Whaooo
This is enough to put someone down and make them give up for real. This kind of situation can even lead someone to depression.
Many people don’t have the good uncle you have, like I always say, it’s those that give up that makes it easy for people to laugh at them.

Keep on pushing harder!!
!BBH

@precab! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (1/5)

I am telling you my friend. Not everyone escape these types of situations. Well thanks be to God for the help that helps one conquer it

👍✌🏼💯❣️❣️ you’re welcome

Thank you for always stopping by with your wonderful comments