Nse's rough path through life

in The Ink Well28 days ago (edited)

"There are times we face challenges beyond our power,power, but what can we do?" Tobi asked Nse.

Image source

"Guy, I'm tired; see, the way I'm living my life, nothing is working; I just want to be useful for grandma", Nse said as he wept.

Nse is a young boy who lost his parents and siblings to murder when he was seventeen years old while preparing for his senior school certificate examination.

After the demise of his entire family, his grandma took him to her place,place, and since then he has been living with his grandma, who is a nurse in her area, popularly known as "aunty nurse".

"I will enroll you in the community secondary school not far from the house so that you can write your examination and proceed to the university; is that okay?" aunty nurse asked Nse.

"It's okay grandma; I'm fine with any decision you make," Nse replied to his grandma.

The second week of his arrival at his grandma's place, he was taken to the school, and that was where he met Tobi, who turned out to be his best friend.

"Hey fresher, I'm Tobi; what's your name?" Tobi asked the first day he saw Nse at school.

"I'm Nse I just moved in with Aunty Nurse," Nse replied to Tobi.

"Do you play football?I'm the best player around here," Tobi said jokingly.

"Well, you might be, but a new champion is here; let's see how far you can compete with me, Nse replied friendly, and that's how the two boys sealed their friendship.

Nse was doing well in his academics, striving hard to make his grandmother proud, putting behind him the pains of losing his family.

"Nse, guess what? You need to join the football team as soon as possible. There is an opportunity circulating, though I don't know how true it is," Tobi said anxiously.

"Abeg, calm down (please calm down); what opportunity makes you so eager?" Nse replied, seeming not so interested in what the opportunity is.

"There will be a football competition soon, and the best player will be given a scholarship to a football academy in the United Kingdom," Tobi said excitedly.

"Guy, that's good news. I'm surely interested. Where would I register?" Nse asked Tobi.

"I know you will be; you will register with the coach; come to the field in the evening by 5 p.m.; the coach will be available by then," Tobi said, tapping Nse on the shoulder as he turned away.

"I can finally build a successful future and take care of Grandma," Nse thought within himself.

Later in the evening, Nse went to the field and registered with the coach, then he began training with the rest of the team, and he was doing well.

After three months of training, they went for the competition, and after a week, Nse was announced as the outstanding player. On his way from school, he branched off at the coach's, as the coach sent someone to tell him to show up at his house after school.

"Nse, my boy, the Ronaldo of our time, congratulations, my boy; you are the chosen one," the coach said happily.

"Oh my God, thank you, sir, for giving me the opportunity to join the team," Nse replied.

The coach handed over the scholarship letter to Nse with a hug.

"You deserve it, my boy; you earned it," the coach said.

I need to quickly get home to share the good news with Aunty Nurse, my grandma. I'm sure she will be so happy," Nse said as he rushed out of the coach's house.

Nse ran home like a person being pursued by a wild dog; he was deliriously happy. On getting home, Nse met his grandmother, Aunty Nurse, in a pool of blood.

"No, no, no, this can't be," Nse shouted as he rushed out of the house, calling for help.

"Somebody help me; my grandma has been killed; somebody, anybody help me please. Nse continued shouting, and people began to gather to see what had happened.

Immediately, an ambulance was called to take the dead body away from the house. This was a bad day for Nse and the entire community.

Tobi came running to sympathize with his friend, who was not in a good mood, as he was shocked about what had happened to his grandmother.

"There are times we face challenges beyond our power, but what can we do?Tobi asked Nse. This was what birthed the first conversation.

Nse continued to weep bitterly, as he wasn't expecting what happened to him. In the trouble of finding his grandma's killer, he lost the opportunity to travel to the United Kingdom.

After a few weeks of his grandma's demise, Nse was still in the agony of his late grandma.

"I lost everything, Tobi; I lost my family; and now, grandma, where do I want to start from?" Nse said as he wept bitterly.

"Chin up, Nse; everything will be fine. I know it's going to take time, but it will be fine; you will surely make it," Tobi said to cheer Nse up.

"Now, I'm an orphan with no relatives whatsoever; I am alone in this wicked world," Nse continued as he wept bitterly.

Amidst this troubled time for Nse, he sat for his examination, and with the help of Tobi and his parents, he was able to study well.

Thanks for your time, and your comments will be appreciated.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

In every depressed soul there is a ray of hope that needs to blossom.
And this can only happen if he finds loved ones who are ready to always tell him that he or she can no matter what.
I enjoy reading the piece
Tho I noticed some errors like repetations of same words. I guess that typographical error. Buh this is a great piece here🫶

I will correct that now, my keyboard is malfunctioning

So sad, sometimes things go so wrong you won't even know what to do.
At least Nse has a good friend in Tobi so he is not alone, even though he has lost everyone.

That's right

This is sad. He lost all his family in the same way.
Glad he meets Tobi, with a friend like that life would be better for him.

Tobi is a friend indeed

Tobi is a friend we all need in our lives.

You are right

Nse was hit badly by the Grandma's death yet, I'm glad he did not give in to the troubling situation and made a favourable outcome eventually

Thanks for reading boss

You're welcome ma

Hello @rare-gem,

Your story begins with a strong dynamic. The tragic scene is set and our protagonist must somehow succeed despite his loss. It seems he finds an out in Grandma, and sports. But then, the rug is pulled out from under him. He loses both at the same time. You have begun an arc with the tragedy and rescue by Grandma and sports. You create a crisis with the death of Grandma and loss of the scholarship opportunity. An arc traditionally has a beginning, a climax (the crisis) and a resolution. What this story lacks is resolution.

He sits for an exam. That is not a satisfying outcome. What happens? Does he pass, and if he does, what then? What happens to Nse? The readers are left wondering, and looking for more.

Also, it is not believable that he would start the sport so late and yet surge ahead of anyone else and become a star so quickly. Generally, that takes years of effort.

This story holds our interest, though. Thank you for sharing it with us.

I will improve more, thanks for reading.