The Photo Man

in The Ink Well6 months ago (edited)


I looked at the image of a man in a suit splattered on the brick wall, face twisted and Riddled with fear and surprise. An image so real and colorful that it could be mistaken for bad graffiti, yet it wasn't.
"This is the sixth case so far Inspector." I hear my deputy say from behind.
"Although he's only targeting petty thieves and criminals, there's no sure proof that he won't shift his sights to the general public."
I nod in response. It's how it is in a world of power users. Any new fellow can simply develop his ability and use it for good or evil.

Is this really evil?

I hear my inner consciousness, Eddie ask.

"After all, his targets are bad people, evil folks, thieves, rapists and the like...
Shouldn't we be finding him to congrat-"

"That's not your choice to make." I tell him inwardly.
"I don't want your incredible IQ to advise me on if it's right or not. You already have a task."
He quiets down for a bit after that.
Everyone can develop a superpower, some useful, heroic and popular, some downright destructive.
Some like mine which are mildly infuriating at best and self destructive at worst.
Yet as I looked at the image of the man painted on the wall, I couldn't help myself but smile at how a power that sounds so impossibly harmless can capture and take down over 16 people and only 6 recorded cases.

Back at the office, I looked at all the information we had so far.
16 people have gone missing just this month, only 6 of those people's pictures have been found on walls, buildings and sidewalks.
Two of the 6 attacks were caught on video.
I replayed each video again, watching as the boy first took a picture of the victim with an old vintage instant camera.
Then he simply throws the developed picture on any surface of his choice.

"This means 2 things."

  • "There's no sure way to find him."
  • "No sure way to stop him either, since all he needs is to take a picture of you."

"Never have I seen a power so powerful."

"All powers have a weakness." I remind him.
Yet even after saying that, I couldn't see a way to stop him.
His hood was up and a bandana covered most of his face, when the CCTV took a video of him.
He just needs to take a picture of his victims.

"Using Vintage Instant Cameras... Those must be hard to find."

"They are, everything is digital now, even if there are producers, they would be quite a few that are selling to this region."

"The problem about instant cameras is the fact that their films and inks have to be replaced."

"So they have to go to a shop to get the film and ink."

My eyes widened with understanding at what Eddie was trying to tell me.
Immediately I searched our database for the records of all technology shops in town.
Filtering through for those selling instant cameras and their equipment, it showed just 3 shops.
The records of those 3 shops was the real giveaway.
In a single shop, one person had ordered 8 packs of film and 3 bottles of ink this month.

Bingo!

"Nice Job Eddie." I complimented him.
Getting the buyer's details from the shop was a breeze, especially since he paid with a card.
While reading the name that came up on my computer screen. I couldn't help but chuckle a bit.
"Album Glasbury and his power is photo transmission. Sounds like a bad joke."

"Photo Man."

Eddie says and starts laughing.
"That's an even worse joke." I say but I laugh too.


"Quite a simple house for a killer." Mirror man said.
"You expect an underground layer or something?" I replied him
"He's just a normal citizen with extraordinary power." I continued, passively looking through the plan again
"Who has killed possibly more than 16 people. He's a villain who needs to be brought down." Mirror man says while staring at the house.

"His passion is a double edged sword."

Eddie randomly comments on him.

"Selfishly drawing a clear line between villains and heroes.. It's distasteful, especially when the line is clearly not so clear."

"It doesn't matter to me. I care not for his passions nor his way of thinking and neither should you." I remind him
Eddie had a habit of thinking too deep on things around him.

'Bright minds tend to stray and brighten up wherever they can.'

This was something he said to me before.
I don't know if it's the same for others but it clearly defined him.

After a few hours of watching his house, Album finally leaves for his weekly trip to get film.
As he went, immediately I and Mirror man went into his house.
First checking the door for any traps or tricks before rushing in.
It was a mess, there were pictures everywhere. Both those that hadn't been transmitted and were still in paper and those that were plastered on the walls, the ceilings, the floors. It was mind boggling.
"Now this is more of a psychotic vibe than a killer.." Mirror Man said as he gingerly walked around, looking at every picture of a person plastered on the walls with a face of shock and disbelief.
He moved around the house, trying to avoid walking on the images on the floor while he set up his mirrors as traps, even though we had already proven that they couldn't feel any pain.
I picked up a photo and saw a woman still moving in it, washing dishes.
I saw another man watching television and another playing ball. A girl with a school uniform sitting down and writing a test while a boy was playing games.
They were all still moving in the pictures. When I finally saw a picture that was still, it was the picture of the man in suit that was splattered on the wall. This one wasn't moving anymore, the color had faded from the picture, holding no life.

"Well now this is more serious. He has the whole city hostage."

"And he probably set out to get more hostages." I say inwardly, finally understanding the gravity of the situation.

"I'm done and I found something interesting." Mirror man said as he came back from investigating and setting traps. He was holding a laptop.
The screen was on and on it was an email, a request.

**Good day**,

We need an art piece of a young business woman in the room, the more colourful, the better.
The money would be wired to your normal address.


I looked at the address that Mr K sent, and his username was The Album.

"Seems the Passionate guy was right. He is a villain."

"And he's selling people as pictures."
"This is a bigger plot than I thought. We have to call the agency."

I turned and was stopped by the sight of a young man with orange hair who had a camera pointed at me from the door.
As the pictures printed out from the side my blood chilled.
He took a picture of both me and Mirror man in his hand.
He flung Mirror Man's picture to the floor and immediately he splattered to the ground where he stood behind me, an image amongst the collection, while his picture faded to black and white.

While twirling my pictures through his fingers he took a deep breath and spoke.
"Now may I ask, why are you going through my pictures?"

This was one of those moments when me and Eddie agreed wholeheartedly on something that we said it at the same time

We're Screwed.

We're Screwed.

EoEo5nvDHnUht8Gw4ryE7E9nS23HoHWmGygWc5fXjaGo3xSgiSRM3P8oRKvot13tG7P.webp

Image created by me using Canva.

20230709_110037_0000.png
My Instagram page.

Sort:  

I have only a few words. I loved this!!!

Wow! Have you considered taking this as a starting point and turning this into a novel? I'd read it. Hands down!

Ecency boost requested.

Thanks Sam.💕✨
Turning into a novel would sound easy for me now, until I actually start...
Then I lose interest and it turns into another unfinished work😐
I'd really hate for that to happen again so no...
This wouldn't be a novel, although I am incredibly honored you think it'll be a great starting point for one❤️
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@seki1 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @samsmith1971.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I have a few ideas for longer works myself but I think I also struggle with them as I start to get bored when my brain suddenly works it all out and I know the route the story will take... is that what happens for you? And you say again? What were your previous experiences and why did they fall by the wayside? I kinda feel like we both need to overcome this !LOLZ !Hug !PIZZA

Dear @seki1, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @samsmith1971.
(2/3)

Why do bees have sticky hair?
Because they use Honeycombs.

Credit: mimismartypants
@seki1, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of samsmith1971

(1/6)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

I did start a series earlier this year called the Door Of Death...

It's a nice tale and I really enjoyed writing it...
Just that well, I lacked enough material and write now enough enthusiasm to complete it.
The world building and stuff seems so dauntingly impossible right now so I've put it on an indefinite haitus...
I will come back!!

At least that's what I tell myself 😂😂

!LUV !PIMP 🥰

@seki1, @samsmith1971 just sent you LUV. (1/5)

A very suspenseful tale with an intriguing mystery. Detective/crime stories are hard to craft because one needs to pay careful attention to the details, and you've done a great job. The tone of the narrator's voice works well with the theme. I have some recommendations that are purely cosmetic, and it has to do with the use of numbers.

16 people have gone missing just this month, only 6 of those people's pictures have been found on walls, buildings and sidewalks.

In this sentence, it is more traditional to spell out the numbers when it is at the beginning of the sentence, and when the number is one to nine. So, the sentence should read "Sixteen people have gone missing just this month, only six of..."

"Who has killed possibly more than 16 people. He's a villain who needs to be brought down."

In this sentence, the number 16 should be written as sixteen because it's part of the dialogue.

I hope this is useful. Great tale!

🥰 !LUV !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @litguru and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you! 😊

@litguru, @samsmith1971 just sent you LUV. (2/5)

Thanks for the tip...

I'll be sure to implement it in my later works ❤️

The villain Album's power to trap people inside photographs is quite sinister. The scene describing his house filled with moving pictures of his victims is chilling. I never bored reading your stories thanks for your great time and inspirations.

Thanks for the uplifting comment 🥺✨❤️

The photoman, as Eddie put it, seems a most terrifying character with a sisniter ability to get his victims trapped inside photographs, and the two detectives that are on the case play into his hands and one becomes a victim, the mirrorman. The other defective finds himself in a tight spot when his inner self that has been given him bright ideas fails him. It would have been satisfying if at the end of the story the real identity of Album was revealed.

Nonetheless it was an interesting read. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the comment 😊

It's hard to know the intention of the photo man until they encounter him. Someone who I thought was the people's hero turned out to be something else.

This is really interesting.

What a great idea. Love it! Thanks for sharing this one.

Thanks for reading ✨

hi @seki1 we will need you to image source the image that you have used before we can curate your piece. It looks as though you might have created it yourself in Canva or similar. If that is the case, please state so at the end of your post. Thank you.
The Ink Well Team

I'm so sorry, guess my update of it didn't go through...
It's been updated now.

Thank you :-)

This story grabbed me from the start and held me captive right through to the very last word. What a unique story line, very creative, and highly entertaining. You wove some wonderful features of fiction together to deliver a compelling tale that took on a darker hue as the plot developed. You've knocked this one out of the park for me @seki1 ...

Thank you for writing in The Ink Well.

Thanks inkwell😂✨

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@samsmith1971(1/15) tipped @seki1

What a fun and different story, @seki1. I liked how the main character was constantly carrying on a conversation with his inner "Eddie." But oh... bummer! I thought he was going to solve it and take photo man down!

I like to give the villains the win at times...
It ain't easy planning so much and putting so much effort to lose due to a storytelling preference.
Hence...
Push the hero backs to the wall, cause that's how it'll play out realistically 😂😂😂

At least it's what I feel...


Long time no see @jayna
How've you been?

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @samsmith1971.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations, @seki1!
Your story has been selected as one of the best of the week. It's part of the 132nd Featured Authors Magazine.

Thanks✨

This was an interesting read really, you are talented. If I had super powers like that, I would photo transmit everyone in government, 😁😁

#dreemerforlife

Ahhhh

You'll be a terrorist 😭😭😭

The way you explained each scenario makes it easy to have a mental picture. I love this creative piece

#dreemerforlife

Thanks 🥺

Wow, what an amazing write-up, this is awesome.

When I started reading, my thought was that I would be able to deduce what the storyline was all about, but I did not still get it and I was like wow what fantastic reporting.

Thanks for sharing this.

Bless ✨🔥