Creative Nonfiction Prompt #37

in The Ink Well11 months ago (edited)

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt #37

Source

Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.


Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...


We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.


Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt Storm

Last week's participants

@marynn@jjmusa2004@marriot5464
@farahikram@alexlight@caroolina
@blessworld@mrenglish@gracielaacevedo
@ricardo993@kinganny@lightpen
@merit.ahama@inessita@nancybriti1
@kemmyb@rammargarita@juniorgomez
@abigail04@vivaebony@jhymi
@diikaan@nelson-george@ibbtammy
@cypher09@popurri@treasuree
@rukkie@cool08@amiegeoffrey
@kingsleyy@marilour

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@popurri
Storytelling Night

We felt something walking on the sheets and we heard a fluttering near us and we felt it was a flying cockroach, we were terrified of it and through the window they were coming in from the garden. We screamed and ran out of the room, shaking our hair with the impression that it was over our heads. When we got to the living room, our friend screamed while Pelusa barked.

@diikaan
Weathered the Storm for Afang

I strolled back to the house after my exploits, dancing through the field reminiscent of a ballerina waltzing gracefully through the stage. I wanted to avoid every contact with mom, till she went to bed then I can sneak to the kitchen like a house rat to fend for myself.

@vivaebony
Through the Storm

I'd hoped to find him in his class, but when I got there, he was nowhere to be found. My heart sank as I combed through every corner, calling out his name, but my voice echoed back and I was washed in panic as I couldn't find a trace of him.

@jhymi
The Gale I Love

I watched from the room of my window as the formerly bright blue clouds began to turn an angry shade of dark and I jumped excitedly. My favourite weather was coming. I hurriedly picked up my phone and ran outside to sit on the porch and enjoy the beautiful view of the sky and the heavy winds that preceded every storm.

A special mention for @ginika we are very impressed with the progress you're making.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @jjmusa2004, with the story:

She named him Samuel

Source

I kept a tab on her to encourage her. Three weeks later, I had the occasion to travel to Minna, about six hours drive from my place of residence. I ensured to make a stopover at Bida, where she resided with her parents. I was much welcomed by the family, and I got a spare moment to encourage her further. After spending a week at Minna, I returned to Ilorin, where I reside, and during that period, she traveled to Ekiti, where she worked, and met the man responsible for the pregnancy. All these while, I encouraged her like a pillar.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @juniorgomez, with the story:

Thought storm

Source

I didn't care about anything else. Long periods of time when I didn't know anything about myself. I was an addict, I struggle every day not to relapse. I spent so much time using weed that it created a rupture in my psyche. I wanted to do one thing, but I did another. I thought one thing but said another. The other was taking over.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @marilour, with the story:

To get sick is human

Source

The immune system turns instructions to the defense cells. My white blood cells, my battle soldiers, in their different classifications, prepare themselves quickly. Ready to multiply by the thousands if necessary, to enclose and attack the infectious agent, to prevent its terrible spread. Many will die in the revolt and will be replaced by others. There is uncertainty, the consequences are unknown and unpredictable.

divider

This Week's Prompt #37:

Difference

Sometimes the most unusual experiences make a difference. The difference between good and bad. The difference between acceptable and unacceptable. The difference.

This week we ask you to write a creative personal story that reads like fiction using words related to 'difference'.

For this topic, there are several possible approaches. For example:

  • Consider a situation where a difference of opinion changed your perspective.
  • Maybe, you discovered that a family member or friend had a different interpretation of a shared event.
  • Perhaps you found an alternative trajectory because of a difference in cultural directives.
  • A difference in calculations caused a rift between family members.

Tell us about it! And remember to integrate storytelling elements like characters, scene setting, dialogue and action to bring your story to life!

Have fun and good luck! We look forward to reading your stories.

divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt

  • First place : 5 Hive.
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @grindan, @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @itsostylish, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @kenechukwu97, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @nelson-george, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @wongi, @balikis95, @juniorgomez, and @jhymi.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations dear terrific authors @jjmusa2004 , @marilour and @juniorgomez . You guys did amazingly with the prompt .

Thank you very much @marynn. Much appreciated 🤗✨

You are welcome darling. Do have a pleasant day.

Same to you, excellent day 😃☀️

Oh... Thank you so much, I'm grateful 🤗

Greetings respected writers.
Very excited and grateful for the deference, thank you very much @theinkwell 😃🎉🎊.
My extensive congratulations to the winners @jjmusa2004 and @juniorgomez.
In tune my congratulations to the honorable mentions @popurri, @diikaan, @vivaebony and @jhym 👏👏👏👏.

Thank you dear friend, I'm honoured. Congratulations to you also

Thank you very much, dear friend 😃✨

Congratulations, @marilour! Thank you for sharing your creative nonfiction story in The Ink Well.

Thank you very much @jayna

Thank you @theinkwell for the special mention, it is encouraging to me and I am honoured.

Thank you so so much @inkwell

I'm much honoured. To my fellows and mentioned, I say a big congratulations

To every participant, we have all made the community a haven to calm our troubled minds, enjoy the art of beautiful story telling and you've all taken each of us beyond our own worlds through your share of experiences

Thank you and congratulations to the other winners and honorable mentions. Best regards.

Congratulations to @marilour @juniorgomez and @jjmusa2004, wonderful writers and to those who received honorable mentions. I appreciate mine.
Regards

Thank you dear friend,I'm honored

Here is my entry: https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@kinganny/the-perfect-apartment

Congratulations to all the winners