The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 105

in The Ink Welllast year

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

**We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

**The following are just a few of our favorite stories from May 3 to May 9/ 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author:@deraaa

BAI LI MEI

image.png

Source

"Mei Mei. Would you go on a date with me?"

"What?" she gasped, her eyes wide.

"I know...Mei," he stepped closer forcing her to step back, "Mei, do you remember that night at the well?"

She nodded. How could she forget? They'd both made a wish and when she asked him what he wished for, he told her he'd tell her someday.

"You asked me what I wished for. I wished...I wished that we would be together forever."

@deraaa

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @morey-lezama

CHRONICLE OF HEARTBREAK AND FRIENDSHIP

image.png

Source

As time went by, the friendship with Edgard recovered, healing the wounds and leaving resentment behind. But the bond with Marcela remained fractured, unable to heal. That painful experience, that unexpected betrayal, became a turning point in my life. Then I thought about the absurdity of love and concluded that the whole fragile life of the human being was founded on something so absurd and that perhaps the word could save us from that fragility.

It was at that moment of uneasiness and disenchantment that the need to write was born. Writing became a refuge, a way to give voice to the feelings and emotions that had flooded me. Words became allies, a means to process the lived experience and find meaning in the chaos.

@morey-lezama

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @lightpen

Agreement with my pupils

image.png

Own photo

They swung into action and different answers were presented to me which were incorrect. I waited for everyone to submit after giving them adequate time to provide a solution to the question. David's solution was the last that I marked and to my surprise, he solved it correctly. I was amazed. I immediately called him and gave him a marker to solve what he had in his book on the board. He confidently solved the question on the board with enough explanation to other pupils to understand.

We celebrated such a level of brilliance as a whole class. At that point, it dawned on me that I was parting away with five biscuits to David as earlier agreed with the whole class. I told the pupils that I was going to redeem the prize to David on the following Monday but the whole class chorused "No Uncle" as they stood in solidarity with David to demand for the prize. I had no option than to keep to my own side of the agreement.

@lightpen
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @erh.germany

Marriage rules without ever explicitly mentioning them

image.png

Own photo

One episode, after I got furiously mad at him,
and we didn't see each other for several days, and I thought of breaking up with him, sending him emails to which he didn't react, he suddenly stood in front of my door. What did I do? I simply, wordlessly invited him in. It was strange. First all this anger and then he comes over and I reject any thought of separation. We went on like that for quite a while.

When I expressed that he didn't seem to give a damn about what I said to him and that he retreated to his ivory tower, this prompted him to respond: "No, that's not true. I take what you say to heart and I think about it."

@erh.germany

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @mmykel

I was a bad influence

image.png

Source

Parents and boys in the neighbourhood stared with different expressions. Some looked with admiration, while others looked with indignation, making one think I was an accursed being. Maybe I was.

My dress sense changed. Misery ceased to be my only company. Boys and girls were added to my list of companions. But there were mothers who warned their kids not to come close to me. I couldn't understand why they did. I wasn't violent or known for any vices, at least not yet. I was only a poor little boy who'd been fortunate to be loved by the big boys in the neighbourhood, so I thought.

@mmykel

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @ricardo993
The chocolate beings

image.png

Images obtained with Canva's AI,

The sun was approaching the planet's orbit. Every five years, the orbit would get closer, causing the chocolate beings to die. Their bodies were made of pure chocolate, but the temperature on the planet was optimal for them to have a physical form without melting. Not only were they made of pure chocolate, but they also could modify the structure of their bodies at will, allowing them to be flexible and versatile. In addition, they contained a mixture of hazelnuts, milk, emulsifiers, and oil that gave them these properties.

@ricardo993

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @millycf1976 and @grindan.

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86,87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102,103, 104

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @millycf1976 and @grindan.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @itsostylish, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull and @timix648.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Thank you for finding my story worthy of being featured in the magazine. I am motivated.

Deraa with her story Bai Li Mei,
Morey Lezama : Chronicle of dismourning and friendship
Lighpen: Agreements with my students
erh Germany : Marriage rules without explicitly mentioning them
Memykel: I was a bad influence
Ricardo 993: The chocolate beings
I congratulate all these short story writers who participated on the date set . In The Ink well's featured short story magazine. Congratulations to the administrators of this magazine. Have a happy day to all of you

Many thanks :)

Thanks for the mention 😍😍😍