The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 147

in The Ink Well2 months ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from February February 22 to February 28 / 2024.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @phyna

Smile, Baby

image.png

Pexels

On our way home, Honour's mum played ’Smile’ by Katy Perry. I didn't know the song then, but it was the perfect music for me at that moment. I remember taking a deep breath and smiling at my little self.

“Girl, there are so many things to be thankful for. Why worry when you can do it. Get up and be the attractive girl you are” I told myself, and my spirit became revived.
The chorus of the song resonated with the energy I craved and before I knew it I was singing along and my cousin joined.

@phyna
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @zino01

Stealing habit

image.png

Unsplash

We made it three blocks before the wail of cop sirens sent us running. My legs burned as we ducked through familiar back alleys. But soon the footsteps behind us grew fainter. We’d actually done it - pulled off an armed robbery at age fifteen. I should’ve felt pumped up and proud. Instead I just felt kinda sick.

James and I laid low for near a week before the guilt broke me. Late one night I slipped out my bedroom window and walked to the nearest police station. My legs shook as I turned myself in, but some part of me knew I had to make things right. The cops said the terrified shop owner refused to press charges given my age. But James got locked up since he was eighteen.

@zino01

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @fashtioluwa

TIPTOE

image.png

Image created by POE AI

Together, Nelson and Abena went on a journey of discovery. They spent time together laughing, picking flowers, fishing and sharing their hidden fear. One evening, Nelson walked up to Abena and asked her the question he had been meaning to ask her. He held her two hands gently and said to her “How were you able to walk quietly into my life, find the keys to my heart then stole it away from me?”. Abena replied “I guess the only mission given to me by God was to Steal your heart” “You did a very good job at that” Nelson replied.

@fashtioluwa

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @menace123

A tale of the brave

image.png

Unsplash

"Have you ever entered the hut before?" Lily, the inquisitive one, asked.

"Yes, have you ever entered the haunted hut?" Rose, who was Lily's little sister, asked too.

"The day I managed to enter, there was a giant bird inside. And it flapped its wings so hard that I was blown far away outside by the wind it made." Gregory couldn't even keep up with the amount of false tales he told his friends.

@menace123

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jjmusa2004

My stolen friend

image.png

Pexels

"Good morning, Sophia; good morning, Kemi." I said, faking a smile in an attempt to conceal my discomfort and jealousy.

"Good morning, Stella; we didn't see you leave the hostel." Sophia said as she sat down opposite me with Kemi by her side.

At this point, I needed to cover my tracks. "I wanted to tidy up an assignment before class." I replied, hoping they'd not ask further. I was very uncomfortable, especially as Kemi sat mute on the table. I stole glances at Kemi, who apparently had stolen my best friend, and I felt intimidated in addition to the jealousy that coursed through my veins.

@jjmusa2004
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @emreal

Caught By The Web Of Good Humor

image.png

Pexels

Some weeks later, I was sitting under a locust bean tree with Abraham during the break hour, conversing and laughing only to raise my head and see Lovelyn standing in front of me, "Oh my God! What's this surprise for?" I asked, trying to act tough. Honestly, my legs were shaking, but I composed myself.

"Emreal, right? Sorry I didn't mean to startle you, I am Lovelyn," she replied. "Stop acting like you don't know me and Who doesn't know the almighty Love in this school? I mean you are like the school's signboard, the lady everyone likes," I replied romantically.

@emreal

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , @samsmith1971, and @agmoore

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129,130, 131,132,133,134, 135, 136, 138, 139,140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @samsmith1971 and @agmoore.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @itsostylish, @selftheist, @blueeyes8960, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @juniorgomez, @rinconpoetico7, @nathy33, @marriot5464, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @tomiajax, @kushyzee, @rare-gem, @ricurohemi28, and @benwesterham.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations, @phyna, @zino01, @fashtioluwa, @menace123, @jjmusa2004, @emreal !
Your stories have been selected to be part of the 144th Featured Author Magazine. Thank you very much for publishing in our community!!

Thank you very much. I'm grateful

Thank you so much❣️🥰

Thanks so much 😇

I'm much honored to be featured here. Thank you so much!

It's a great honor to be featured in the community magazine, I appreciate it.

Congratulations to you all.

Thanks inkwell and everyone who also got selected

Congratulations to you all

Thank you so much for featuring my post.