The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 156

in The Ink Well28 days ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from April 25 to May 1 / 2024.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @trexane

The chase

image.png

Pexels

My feet were barely touching the floor as I stretched the farthest I could while running. At one point, I lost my footing and I fell, but I didn't even have the time to remain on the floor. Within a split second, I was up and running. The dog got so close to me, and I kept hoping that something or someone would intervene. Eventually, before the dog could pounce, an adult who was walking by intervened. He chased the dog back to where it came from. My heart was beating so fast, both from fear and from exhaustion.

@trexane

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @rukkie

A Forced Hand

image.png

Freepik

After calming down for a while, I played back the scenario in my head and that was when I knew that "we are sometimes defined by the choices we make when conflict arises". My mother's words kept ringing in my ears, then I began to regret the fight. It angered me more that I allowed the girl to force my hand.

"Why didn't I just ignore her? Why did I have to give in to my anger?", those thoughts kept playing over in my head as I awaited my mum's arrival from work because my dad had traveled at the time.

@rukkie

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @iskawrites

Confidence is the key that unlocks your true potential

image.png

Pixabay

The minute I got on stage, my ability to speak was temporarily lost. I turned the microphone in my hands for almost a full minute before I began uncertainly,

“It's time to show the world who I am….”

And that was it. The other lines came rushing out of me with the gesticulations and intonation I had practiced severally the previous week.

@iskawrites
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author:@nancybriti1

The hiding place of some creatures

image.png

Pixabay

The gods heard of the interest of certain creatures to cross the threshold and find out what was hidden in that dividing line. Aware of the consequences that the first man and the first woman had produced by disregarding the laws of paradise, the gods agreed to place, in large letters and in all languages, a sign on the horizon saying: "No trespassing: stay away".

Contrary to what the gods wanted, that sign aroused more curiosity among the creatures:

"But why can't we come closer? What are the gods hiding there that they don't want us to see?" -The minotaurs shouted in fury.

@nancybriti1

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @balikis95

The Talk With Mr. Hook.

image.png

Pexels

"You could have let the feeling of bitterness take over you completely. Your heart almost gave up." The man with the hook said with a big smile.

"You are a douchebag. Stay away from my body. Stay away from me and.." Turning to face her body, she saw the people beside her body. Her husband, Jeremy, and..."Oh, gracious Lord, Jamie?" she said, walking close to her baby daughter only to find her crying so bad.

"What happened to you, honey? You don't have to cry. Mommy is here for you. Are you hurt?" she asked her daughter as she tried to touch her, but her hands slipped past her daughter's body.

@balikis95

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @wrestlingdesires

Summerscale's Secret

image.png

Image generated via Bing AI

Razelle nodded. "In addition to their size and fire, dragons possess powerful magic. I knew I wouldn't have a chance if she decided I was there to take her treasures."

"What did you do?" asked Jenny.
Razelle laughed. "I did what any sane person would do around an angry dragon. I hid!"
Both girls giggled.
"I hid in a crevice near the cave. She saw, and tried to get me. While she was digging at the rock, she caused a rockslide. A boulder landed on her head, and pinned her."
Mia's eyes widened. "That was lucky!"

@wrestlingdesires

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @bipolar95

image.png

Unsplash

“What do you mean the wind talks?” Oak questioned, feeling rather irritated, and this unsettles Afoke as she couldn't help but wonder what was offensive in her utterances that her father would respond to her in such a tone.

But then, Afoke knew better than to have her father in a grumpy state, so she quickly let the cat out of the bag and told her father about her visions and nightmares.

She told her father how she sees tiny lights and hears the wind whispers. She also told him how she had followed the sound and tiny light sparkle down a rabbit hole, or so she thought as she came face to face with the old mine.

@bipolar95

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , @samsmith1971, and @agmoore

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129,130, 131,132,133,134, 135, 136, 138, 139,140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146,147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @samsmith1971 and @agmoore.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @itsostylish, @blueeyes8960, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @juniorgomez, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @rinconpoetico7, @nathy33, @marriot5464, @iyimoga, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @tomiajax, @kushyzee, @rare-gem, @ricurohemi28, @benwesterham.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations, @trexane, @rukkie, @iskawrites, @nancybriti1, @balikis95, @wrestlingdesires, @bipolar95!
Your stories have been selected to be part of the 156th Featured Author Magazine. Thank you very much for publishing in our community!!

Thanks so much, I'm truly honored ♥️

Congratulations to all who were selected 🙌

Thank you so much, Inkwell. I appreciate the community for all the support 💖

Thank you. I appreciate the love from the community.

Thank you very much, friends. It is an honour for me. Regards

The collection of stories with everyone's wonderful presence and skill always brings us a new delight. Respect and love to all the present winners. Also, I salute everyone's skills. Thank you so much for bringing this wonderful curation to us.

Congratulations to the selected authors.