A day with the microphone

in The Ink Well14 days ago

It was early in the morning, I was disturbed by the blaring sound of the alarm clock which was an arm's stretch away from the bed I laid.

I woke up, realizing it was 9am."oh my God!" I hastily rushed out of the bed, the bedsheets were tangled around my feet as I struggled to get them off — I had a singing performance.

mic-1132528_1280.jpg
Source

My best friend, Jessica, who happened to be my roommate in our 5th year of college gazed at me for a moment "Are you okay? what's wrong?" She asked as she witnessed the incessant struggle with myself and the sheets that seemed to not let go of my legs.

"I'm performing today? Have you forgotten?"

"Sorry about that, you know I've got a resit examination to write today."

"Oh! Yea, umm... Best of luck darling" I had forgotten she failed the recently concluded pediatrics examinations conducted by our faculty, faculty of medicine.

"What time is the exam" I asked in a soft tone realizing how insensitive I was to such an important moment as this.

"It's by 10am. What about you? What time is your performance?"

"The same time as yours" I replied.

"Seriously? Then Why did you wake up this late? You aren't even dressed."

It was then I gazed at her, rolling my eyeballs from the top of her head to her feet. It then struck me that she was fully dressed just waiting for time to draw nigh so she could leave for the examination hall.

"Oh my God" I quickly rushed to the bathroom, scrubbed my teeth and frantically had my bath. I prepared in less than 10 minutes, it was way different from the usual 1 hour which it usually took me to prepare for an occasion.

In our college, it was a tradition that after each MBBS examinations, we would host a fun-filled party to celebrate our success but unfortunately my roommate, Jennifer, wasn't going to be part of it. She didn't pass one of the exams and had to resist it. Coincidentally, the resit collided with the day of the event.

"Who will cheer me up?" I thought within myself. We were like twins, we went for occasions together. It was the first time we didn't attend an event together in our few years in school.

"Good luck Baby!" I said before shutting the door behind me.

I got to the venue in a white short sleeve gown which was just slightly above my knee. I augmented it with a black high-heel. I sat outside, waiting for my turn to perform.

Naomi who saw me at a lonely shade just outside the venue walked up to me "Ng baby" as she fondly addressed me.

"Hey dear" I replied. I couldn't utter any further words as anxiety slowly crept in.

She chuckled "you seem nervous."

"Of course I am. It's my first time for heaven's sake" I Said, gesturing with my both hands.

"You've always got a lovely voice, just believe in yourself and that's all."

"Thanks dear." I replied as she patted my shoulders while walking back to the venue from which the drumming sounds of Afrobeat songs could be heard. My heart skipped with every thundering beat. Sweat trickled down my cheeks, almost messing up my make-up.

I heard the DJ say: "ladies and gentlemen, we have one very unique artist that'd calm the stages with her soothing..." I hastily rushed towards the venue while taking a deep breath.

While preparing to step onto stage, I heard voices mixed in the crowd... "Is it Ngozi?" "Wow!" I peeped through the entrance door where performers were all lined up behind me waiting for their turns. I saw the crowd adjusting their seats, with their phones already lifted above their heads. At that moment I knew one thing: I couldn't afford to f*ck up!

I elegantly walked to the stage smiling as though I were in a modelling contest. I held the microphone which was supported by a long stand and cleared my throat.

"It was darkkk and I was..." I started singing.

The song was "set fire to the rain" by Adele. My voice was shaky and my hands visibly trembled. After about 20 seconds into the song, I got really stabilized and did runs which wasn't part of my routine.

I could hear lots of screaming but amongst them was a certain voice which was distinct "Ngozi! Let's go!" "Let's go!"

"Thank you" I said at the end of the performance as I took a bow holding out the edges of my gown like a princess would.

"That was nice star girl" A random passerby complimented me.

"Thank you" I replied wearing a smile. I recieving hundreds of compliments from both people I knew and the ones I didn't. At some point, they either said "star girl" "lovely performance" or "That was beautiful." I literally felt like a superstar.

"Ngoziii" someone screamed, running towards me with her hands outstretched. I strained my eyes to see who it was — it was Jessica.

"Oh my God!" I covered my mouth with my hands while Jumping in excitement — she had come for my performance.

We hugged for some seconds. "You killed it!!"

"Really" I asked.

"Yeah, everyone is sharing the video on their stories and Whatsapp status".

"Seriously?" I asked again in excitement.

"Yeah, I was just screamed your name so hard during your performance that I nearly lost my voice."

I suddenly recalled the distinct voice which stood out from the crowds. "Oh! So that was you... The one shouting my name and kept saying 'let's go' right?"

"Yeah... I couldn't afford to miss you very first performance."

Tears brimmed at the corner of my eyes as I was filled with emotions. "How was the exam?" I curiously asked.

"It was perfectly fine." She replied with ecstacy.

"Awwnn! Thank God. I'm happy for you." I stretched my arms for a hug as we embraced each other again.

"It seems like your performance was delayed because I wasn't expecting to meet you performing."

"Yeah! I eventually performed by 12am instead 10am but I was happy, it gave me more time to prepare and build my stage confidence."

"Star girl" she said, turning sideways towards me as we both walked towards our room. Our day couldn't have been any better.

Sort:  

Your friend is such a darling. We all need a cheerleader like her to keep us going even at the face of adversity.

Yes dear...we do need people like her indeed

Congratulations @ucngozi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Your story is engaging and entertaining. However, you need to pay attention to editing your work carefully; if you use a tool like Google Docs to write and Grammarly to edit, you’ll find that your work will be more polished and gain better rewards.

This is an entertaining story. Nervousness comes mostly when we are doing something for the first time, I'm happy you got yourself back after and killed the performance. Having lots of people who believe in us and encourage us is an inspiration.

Nervousness,if not properly handled on occasions like this can ruin things no matter how long you rehearsed for it. You handled yours perfectly and ended up killing the performance. Beautiful read.

It is moments like these that make life truly special, It is actually a beautiful depiction of friendship, determination, and the thrill of pursuing your passions.

Awww! It's so sweet that her friend Jessica still made it to her performance. I love to see beautiful friendships. How is your music career going by the way?

A very nice story and you express the emotions very well. It is a moment to remember forever.
Best regards @ucngozi

You braced up and conquered nervousness. That's lovely.
I so much love the part where Jessica came to cheer you up. Such a lovely friend she is.