Prisons of Shame - Creative Nonfiction [ENG -ESP]


Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash


Imagen2.png

No other time in my life was more chaotic than high school. Being a teenager was hard enough without having to deal with others your age. The development of your body, the insecurities, the mood swings, the loss of innocence. Schools were like experiment centers where the more primitive side of the human being roamed freely.

I was not at all popular, nor did I pretend to be. I preferred to go unnoticed rather than be noticed an ounce of my presence. I was one of those who did not answer in class so that they would not notice my existence. Exhibitions were for me like walking through a house of horror, because I had a lot of stage fright; something that I still maintain today.

In the beginning, I had a best friend, Daniel, I met him in the sixth grade. We had the same tastes in series, movies, and even video games. We spent a lot of time together after school watching a series that we both liked a lot.

It was always easier to work with someone with whom you felt comfortable and Daniel was the best at that. The assignments with him were fun and I liked the jokes he told me about our classmates.

Daniel was more popular, as he was very funny, charismatic, and handsome. Girls liked him and several of them approached him to flirt with him. In the third year of high school, Daniel had a girlfriend, Estefany, with whom he spent more time and our friendship was kind of on the back burner.

Estefany didn't like me very much, she said that I was very weird and that Daniel shouldn't waste his time with me, she even said that I liked Daniel and that I was jealous of her, which was not true, but Daniel believed it and that marked a wide gap in our friendship, to such an extent that we stopped talking to each other.

That broke my heart and I had a very bad time during that school year, Daniel ignored me and Estefany mocked his trophy giving more life to rumors that were invented about me. Everything was like hell, until the fourth year of high school. Nothing had changed, everything was still the same; Daniel with Estefany, me more insecure and insignificant, not having even an ounce of courage to socialize with others, I thought that was going to be my worst year.

During the first week of classes, a new boy from my classroom approached me. He was quite tall and stocky, he didn't look fourteen. He was looking at me with a slightly twisted look on his face and a singular smile. I thought at the time: God, I've gained myself a new stalker! But nothing happened as I expected.

"Hey I like your backpack, where did you buy it?" The boy asked me.

"Ah... My father bought it for me in Merida..." I replied with a nervous stammer.

"How cool! I also like Lord of the Rings," he replied admiringly. "My name is Luis. After school I'm meeting some guys to play Yu Gi Oh at one of them's houses, do you want to come?"

I was still a little stunned, but quickly changed my expression and said yes right away.

"Okay, then I'll see you at recess, I'll introduce you to the others."



Photo by Devin Avery on Unsplash


After class, Luis introduced me to his other friends as he said. They were from the same year as me, but they were in another classroom. I quickly became friends with all of them. From then on, I started hanging out with Luis and the boys. I completely forgot about Daniel and his obnoxious, gossipy girlfriend. I had a good time the first month, it felt great to have more friends with whom I have a lot of things in common.

However, it wasn't all smooth sailing and I had to deal with certain things that I considered buried. Daniel immediately started noticing that I hung out with Luis and his group a lot. He started to look at us strangely, with a surprised and somewhat disdainful expression. I decided to ignore him, as I no longer felt the need to pay attention to what Daniel was doing or thinking about me, but there was something that spilled the glass of my indifference.

Gradually, the rumor that Luis and I were dating gradually spread. It reached my ears because some of Estefany's friends told me in a teasing tone. When I inquired further, I realized that it was Daniel who had spread the rumor. I was shocked, at that moment, I didn't know what to think and, moreover, a part of me felt betrayed by a person I previously appreciated.

It drove a wedge in my friendship with Luis. I could not confront him after what was happening. I felt very ashamed of him and sank back into my world, letting time pass so that everything would be forgotten. Luis became very strange about my distant attitude and gradually stopped talking to me.

I returned to my zone of being a loner, friendless, insecure, with no one to talk to, that part of the rest of the year was like walking a thorny path. One morning, at recess, as I was eating my breakfast, Daniel suddenly sat down next to me. My eyes almost popped out of their sockets in surprise and I became very nervous. I was about to get up and get out of there as fast as I could, but he stopped me.

"Wait, don't go!" He said grabbing my arm.

"What do you want?" I asked him obnoxiously. "I don't want to talk to you!"

"I know you don't want to talk to me, I just came to apologize and find out why you didn't come near me again."

"Me?" I retorted plucking up my courage and looking him in the eyes. "But it was you who walked away because you thought I liked you! All because of your little girlfriend!"

"I know," he replied, lowering his head. "But I wanted you to come over and tell me that it wasn't like that and that we were still friends. Instead, you walked away and started dating that fool, Luis. I got so mad that I made up that rumor about you guys, but I regret doing it and I can make amends."

On one hand, I felt he was right, I was too much of a coward to confront problems, I would just let them pass until time banished them to oblivion. I began to reflect on that very thing and that it was affecting my friendship with Luis, and if I let any more time pass, I would lose him forever.

"You know, Daniel, we were both foolish cowards. You were hoping I would be brave enough to get our friendship back, and you made up a lie about me just because you were upset that I got a new friend."

I noticed that he accepted his mistake as if it was nothing; as if he simply wanted to get it over with. I gave him the benefit of doing so, just because I was tired of it all.

After the conversation, we both shook hands apologetically, sealing the last vestiges of our friendship. As if it was the resolution of a diplomatic talk, we made nice after that, but we never spoke to each other again. Immediately, I went to Luis, apologized for ignoring him the last few days, and explained what had happened.

"Relax, I'm glad you spoke to me again," he said smiling with a relieved tone. "I like hanging out with you and the guys. Shall we meet tomorrow at my house to watch Alien vs. Predator on DVD?"

"Sure!" I replied enthusiastically.

Luis and I were friends for many more years. We continued to have contact even after I left for college. He is now in Spain, married with a daughter, and I am still here in Venezuela living with my partner. About Daniel there is nothing left but memories; beautiful and meaningful memories, even the last conversation we had was a treasure that I will always cherish.

THE END


Imagen1.png

CÁRCELES DE LA VERGUENZA


Ninguna otra etapa de mi vida fue más caótica que la secundaria. Ser adolescente ya era lo suficientemente difícil como para lidiar con otros más de tu edad. El desarrollo de tu cuerpo, las inseguridades, los cambios de humor, la perdida de la inocencia. Las escuelas eran como centros de experimentos donde el lado más primitivo del ser humano deambulaba con libertad.

Yo no era para nada popular, tampoco pretendía serlo. Prefería pasar desapercibido a que notaran un gramo de mi presencia. Era de los que no contestaba en clase para que no notaran que existiera. Las exposiciones eran para mí como transitar en una casa de horror, pues tenía mucho pánico escénico; cosa que hoy en día todavía sostengo.

Al principio tenía un mejor amigo, Daniel, lo conocí en el sexto año de primaria. Teníamos los mismos gustos en series, en películas, incluso en videojuegos. Nos la pasábamos mucho tiempo juntos después de clases viendo una serie que nos gustaba mucho a los dos.

Con él hacía los trabajos cuando los profesores nos colocaban en equipos, siempre era más sencillo trabajar con alguien con quien te sentías cómodo y Daniel era el mejor en eso. Los trabajos con él eran divertidos y me gustaban mucho los chistes que me contaba de nuestros compañeros.

Daniel era más popular, ya que era muy gracioso, carismático y guapo. A las chicas les gustaba y varias de ellas se le acercaban para coquetearle. En el tercer año de secundaria, Daniel tuvo una novia, Estefany, con la cual él pasaba más tiempo y nuestra amistad quedó como de segundo plano.

Yo no le caía muy bien a Estefany, decía que yo era muy raro y que Daniel no debía perder el tiempo conmigo, incluso llegó a decir que Daniel me gustaba y que yo estaba celoso de ella, cosa que no era cierta, pero Daniel lo creyó y eso marcó una brecha muy amplia en nuestra amistad, hasta tal punto en que dejamos de hablarnos.

Aquello rompió mi corazón y la pasé muy mal durante ese año escolar, Daniel ignorándome y Estefany mofándose de su trofeo dándole más vida a rumores que se inventaban sobre mí. Todo fue como un infierno, hasta que el cuarto año de secundaria. No había cambiado nada, todo seguía igual; Daniel con Estefany, yo más inseguro e insignificante, sin tener siquiera un gramo de valor para socializar con los demás, pensé que ese iba a ser mi peor año.

Durante la primera semana de clases, un chico nuevo de mi salón se acercó. Era bastante alto y robusto, no parecía tener catorce años. Me miraba con una mirada un poco retorcida y con una sonrisa singular. Pensé en ese momento: *¡Dios, me he ganado un nuevo acosador! Pero nada ocurrió como esperaba.

“Oye me gusta tu mochila, ¿dónde la compraste?” Me preguntó el chico.

“Ah… Mi padre me la compró en Mérida…” Le respondí con un balbuceo nervioso.

“¡Qué Genial! También me gusta el Señor de los Anillos,” respondió con admiración. “Me llamo Luis. Después de clases me voy a reunir con unos chicos para jugar Yu Gi Oh en casa de uno de ellos, ¿quieres venir?”

Yo todavía estaba un poco pasmado, pero rápidamente cambió mi expresión y le dije que sí de inmediato.

“Bien, entonces nos vemos en el receso, te presentaré a los demás.”

Después de la clase, Luis me presentó a sus demás amigos como dijo. Eran del mismo año que yo, pero se hallaban en otro salón. Rápidamente, me volví amigo de todos ellos. A partir de ese entonces, comencé a juntarme con Luis y los chicos. Me olvidé por completo de Daniel y de su odiosa y chismosa novia. La pasé bien el primer mes, se sentía muy bien tener más amigos con los que tienes muchas cosas en común.

Sin embargo, no todo fue tranquilidad y tuve que lidiar con ciertas cosas que yo consideraba enterradas. Daniel inmediatamente comenzó a notar que yo me juntaba mucho con Luis y su grupo. Empezaba a mirarnos de forma extraña, con una expresión de sorpresa y algo de desprecio. Decidí ignorarlo, pues ya no sentía esa necesidad de prestar atención de lo que hacía o pensaba Daniel de mí, pero hubo algo que derramó el vaso de mi indiferencia.

De manera gradual, se espació el rumor de que Luis y yo éramos novios. Llegó a mis oídos porque unas amigas de Estefany me lo dijeron en tono de burla. Al indagar más, me di cuenta de que fue Daniel quien había esparcido el rumor. Quedé impactado, en ese momento, no sabía qué pensar y, más aún, una parte de mí se sintió traicionada por una persona que anteriormente apreciaba.

Aquello creó una brecha en mi amistad con Luis. No podía confrontarlo después de lo que estaba pasando. Me sentí muy avergonzado con él y me hundí en mi mundo nuevamente, dejando que el tiempo pasara para que todo se olvidara. Luis se extrañó mucho por mi actitud de alejamiento y paulatinamente dejaba de hablarme.

Volví a mi zona de ser solitario, sin amigos, inseguro, sin nadie con quien hablar, esa parte del resto del año fue como recorrer un camino de espinas. Una mañana, en el receso, mientras comía mi desayuno, Daniel se sentó a mi lado de repente. Mis ojos casi se salían de sus cuencas por la sorpresa y me puse muy nervioso. Me disponía a levantarme y salir de ahí lo más rápido que podía, pero él me detuvo.

“¡Espera, no te vayas!” Dijo sujetándome del brazo.

“¿Qué quieres?” Le pregunté de manera odiosa. “¡No quiero hablarte!”

“Yo sé que no me quieres hablar, solo vine a disculparme y saber por qué no volviste a acercarte a mí.”

“¿Yo?” Le repliqué armándome de valor y mirándolo a los ojos. “¡Pero si fuiste tú quien se alejó, porque pensaste que tú me gustabas! ¡Todo por culpa de tu noviecita!”

“Lo sé,” respondió bajando la cabeza. “Pero quería que tú te acercaras y que me dijeras que no fue así y que siguiéramos siendo amigos. En cambio te alejaste y comenzaste a salir con ese tonto de Luis. Me enojé tanto que inventé ese rumor sobre ustedes, pero me arrepiento de hacerlo y puedo enmendarlo.”

Por una parte, sentí que él tenía razón, yo era demasiado cobarde para confrontar los problemas, simplemente los dejaba pasar hasta que el tiempo los desterrara al olvido. Comencé a reflexionar sobre eso mismo y que estaba afectando mi amistad con Luis, y si dejaba que pasara más tiempo, lo perdería para siempre.

“¿Sabes, Daniel?, ambos fuimos unos tontos cobardes. Tú esperabas que yo fuera lo suficientemente valiente para recuperar nuestra amistad, y tú inventaste una mentira sobre mí solo porque estabas molesto de que consiguiera un nuevo amigo.”

Noté que él aceptó su error como si nada; como si simplemente quisiera acabar con todo aquello de una vez. Le di el beneficio de hacerlo, solo porque ya yo estaba cansado de todo eso.

Después de la conversación, ambos nos dimos la mano con disculpas, sellando así los últimos vestigios de nuestra amistad. Como si fuera la resolución de una charla diplomática, quedamos bien después de eso, pero no volvimos a hablarnos. Inmediatamente, fui con Luis, le pedí perdón por haberlo ignorado los últimos días y le expliqué lo que había pasado.

“Tranquilo, me alegra que me hayas vuelto a hablar,” dijo sonriendo con un tono alivianado. “Me gusta pasar el tiempo contigo y los chicos. ¿Nos reunimos mañana en mi casa para ver Alien vs. Predator en DVD?”

“¡Seguro!” Le respondí con entusiasmo.

Luis y yo fuimos amigos por muchos años más. Continuamos teniendo contacto incluso hasta después de que yo me fui a la universidad. Él ahora está en España, casado y con una hija, y yo sigo aquí en Venezuela viviendo con mi pareja. Sobre Daniel no queda más que recuerdos; recuerdos hermosos y significativos, incluso la última conversación que tuvimos fue un tesoro que siempre conservaré.

FIN

Texto traducido con Deepl | Text translated with Deepl

Enlace aquí

Sort:  

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

You set the premise for the piece with this line:

Being a teenager was hard enough without having to deal with others your age.

We are social animals, but at no time in life is our connection to others more important than it is in adolescence. You demonstrate that well in your piece. Your reticence may have felt extraordinary, but most people who recall their youth will recall being self-conscious.

Daniel it seems fell prey to peer pressure more than you did, because he gave up a friend in response to pressure from his girlfriend. Fortunately you resumed your friendship with Luis and had a friend for years.

Thank you for sharing this experience with us, @universoperdido

Certainly, each past is individual to each person and each person lives their youth in a particular way. Mine was a bit chaotic; a little full of loneliness and insecurity, but fortunately I was able to overcome it.

You are right that Daniel was a victim of all that, I would have liked us both to have gotten over it and have even a small friendship again.

Thanks for reading me and for the support.

Me gusta mucho la manera en que escribes. Se siente muy fácil de leer y también haces que el lector que enganchado queriendo saber más. Creo que escuadras la historia muy bien desde el inicio, dando sólo lo justo para tener una idea de que tratará y por eso queda la intriga que da ganas de seguir leyendo.

Muy buen post

Gracias, amiga @mandysmoon
Me alegra que te haya gustado mi historia. Es un placer tenerte por mi espacio.
¡Saludos!

Seems being a teenager is always troublesome. We all have gone through these confusing, complicated situations we do not exactly know how we ended up into.

Yes, a very hard and aberrant period, but with the company of friends, murky things become beautiful moments.

Thanks for reading me!