The Companion - The Ink Well Fiction Prompt [ENG - ESP]

in The Ink Well13 days ago (edited)


Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash


Truths are unalterable statements, which can pass unnoticed depending on people's needs. The constellations, stars, and planets are based on a unique and exclusive truth that manages the whole universe. I held it in my hands and did not know what to do with it, for the creed and structural stability of all races depended on me. It is too much of a burden that power. A castle of agony awaited me at the end of that long road.

That time, before I was given my responsibilities, the seekers gathered again in the star palace of the Dreamer; the only one who knows the exact arrival of the Wish Master. Oblivion had been removed from his important task. The counselors whispered among themselves in the great hall looking for a new replacement.

“The Dreamer will return to sleep in a centurion and we cannot leave him without a chaperone,” Silicen asserted; the eighth seeker, her luminous eyes like stars shone out from her face covered by her silver hood. “We can't lose any clues about the arrival of the Wish Master, so I nominate Redimir to be Oblivion's replacement.”

Everyone murmured in an echo that ricocheted throughout the celestial walls. Some questioned Silicen's proposal, and others agreed with him. I wish I could have been there at that moment and had my opinion taken into account. Suddenly, Heartfire; the first seeker, stood up, raised his huge hands silencing the other seekers, then looked over the Argentinian dome and raised a roar mentioning my name.

Everyone was stunned, then shrugged their shoulders accepting Heartfire's final decision.

“We can't waste time!” Manifested the first seeker, his voice as imposing and sonorous as the shrieks of hundreds of men. “If Redimir is to be the Dreamer's next companion, so be it; let him be assigned his duties at once!”

The board disbanded. The starbirds went in search of me informing me of my new office. I had no choice. I was completely bound. I left my home in Verillion for the palace of the Dreamer.

Ah, the home of the one who slept and talked about the Wish Master; the maker of galaxies and constellations! My eyes gazed in awe upon that magnificent structure that rested upon a million stars. The arks rested on its crystalline shores and were bathed with the sand of the cosmos. Its staircases were said to be made of the ores of dead comets, and all its columns, ceilings, and domes were made of the dust of exploding planets. Its colossal gates tore my heart down. I shuddered at the sound of the opening. I felt like I was entering the mouth of an abyss that sucked me in and shut down all my senses, leaving me alone with fear.

I expected to meet the seekers, but I was only greeted by the Pleiades; caretakers of the Dreamer. They took me to their chamber, which was above the palace guarded by the stars, and warned me to stand right next to the bed.



Photo by Anirudh on Unsplash


I felt so small next to him, even though I could see him completely. I thought he was sleeping, but he opened his eyes suddenly and looked at me.

“You must be Oblivion's replacement, right?” He asked me in a sleepy, paused voice.

“Yes, sir...,” I replied sheepishly. “I already have everything prepared, just start when you're ready.”

“Since you will be with me for the next few eras, I would like to share something with you,” he said as he extended his arm towards me with much effort. “Please come closer.”

I did as he asked and, upon closer inspection, I perceived him as smaller. His gray, wrinkled, hairless skin, coupled with his melted eyes and wasted facial features, reminded me of the dying of Calindor, as they are about to turn to cosmic dust.

“Listen, the truth can be very scary, try not to be impressed by everything he's going to say. Record everything and don't miss any details, for the peaceful stability of the forty cities depends on it.” That was the last thing he said to me, and then he fixed his gaze upward and closed his eyes, never to open them again.

The Dreamer, as he slept, kept talking. He mentioned coordinates. Exact spaces at different points between the galaxies. His geometric conjectures seemed as literal as those of a stellar planisphere. Based on his indications, new ports and spatial distributions were created. Sidereal villages occupied different constellations on different artificial scales. New planets were besieged and new resources were acquired, preparing each place for the return of the Wish Master.

The forty cities worked in harmonious symmetry, guided by the hope coming from someone who dreamed. It was very overwhelming for me. Eons passed and truths kept coming out of his mouth. Not everything he recorded were coordinates, some messages alluded to the non-existence of the Wish Master.

Every time the Dreamer mentioned it, my heart wanted to stop, but I was warned to record everything I heard without question or the consequences would be dire.

“The Wish Master will not appear. Abandon any hope of finding him,” the Dreamer whispered as he dozed. As time passed, I grew accustomed to those lacerating words, but I could not keep them in. It was as if I had been hit hard by a demotivating reality, so why am I doing this?



Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash


After so many eons of recording, finally, the Dreamer awoke. He stared at me as if searching my face for some change, and apparently, I did not disappoint him. “I expect you did a great job, Redimir,” he said in his leisurely voice. “I hope to see you next time.”

I said nothing, just smiled. I grabbed my things and almost shot out of the Dreamer's room. The searchers were pleased with my work, but I realized they were only using the most convenient records. The forty cities had expanded and were more united than ever, ready for the arrival of the Wish Master.

I should have felt happy, but I couldn't, knowing that everything our cosmogony was based on was a lie. I decided to seek out the only person who could understand my grief, so I went to Plétoris in search of Oblivion. When I saw him, I was struck with astonishment, for he looked very strange.

His eyes looked as if they had been castrated and his mouth was very much consumed downward. His skin no longer possessed the characteristic emerald color of all Plethorians, it was now blue and very dark.

He watched me with a gaze so deep that it seemed to go on forever. He implied to me that he knew why I had gone to look for him.

“I take it you are the Dreamer's current companion, are you not?” He said in an excessively deep voice that made me tremble with nerves. “Now you know...”

“Why...? Why didn't you ever say anything? Why did you let this lie continue to consume you?” I inquired forcefully.

“It's out of our hands,” He explained as he moved closer to fix his eyes on mine. “Lies are sometimes very necessary to maintain the beauty of a structure. A truth as immense as this would destroy everything, including everything you love. Though the weight of this burden is very great, we must do our best to resist in the face of it. I could not and here I am, I preferred to go far away and forget, and perhaps you will do better than me.”

Oblivion's words saddened me, I could detect the agony in his voice. I decided to continue down that path, but the weight of that truth was too tiring, so I decided to abandon my trade as the Dreamer's companion. I returned to Verillion, but I was never the same. The ghost of that knowledge haunted me forever and excluded me from all contact with any other living being. Every light year, in the solitude of my enclosure, I kept wondering how long it would take for the next companion to visit me.

THE END


Imagen1.png

EL ACOMPAÑANTE


Las verdades son afirmaciones inalterables, que pueden pasar desapercibidas dependiendo de la necesidad de las personas. Las constelaciones, astros y planetas, se basan en una única y exclusiva verdad que maneja todo el universo. Yo la poseía en mis manos y no sabía qué hacer con ella, pues de mí dependía el credo y la estabilidad estructural de todas las razas. Es demasiada carga ese poder. Un castillo de agonía me esperaba al final de ese largo camino.

Aquella vez, antes de que se me fuese otorgada mis responsabilidades, los buscadores se reunieron nuevamente en el palacio estelar del Soñador; el único que conoce la llegada exacta del Maestro del Deseo. Oblivion había sido destituido de su importante tarea. Los consejeros susurraban entre ellos en el gran salón buscando un nuevo reemplazo.

“El Soñador volverá a dormir en una centuria y no podemos dejarlo sin acompañante,” Aseveró Silicen; la octava buscadora, sus luminosos ojos como las estrellas resaltaban de su rostro cubierto por su capucha plateada. “No podemos perder ninguna pista sobre la llegada del Maestro del Deseo, así que propongo a Redimir para ser el reemplazo de Oblivion.”

Todos murmuraron en un eco que rebotaba por todas las paredes celestes. Algunos cuestionaban la propuesta de Silicen, otros le daban la razón. Me hubiera gustado estar en ese momento y que mi opinión se tomase en cuenta. De repente, Heartfire; el primer buscador, se levantó, elevó sus inmensas manos silenciando a los demás buscadores, luego miró por encima de la cúpula argentina y alzó un bramido mencionando mi nombre.

Todos quedaron pasmados, luego encogieron sus hombros aceptando la decisión definitiva de Heartfire.

“¡No podemos perder el tiempo!” Manifestó el primer buscador, su voz era tan imponente y sonora como el alarido de cientos de hombres. “Si Redimir será el próximo acompañante del Soñador, así será. ¡Que le asignen sus obligaciones de inmediato!”

La junta se disolvió. Las aves estelares fueron en mi búsqueda informándome de mi nuevo oficio. No tenía otra opción. Estaba completamente obligado. Abandoné mi hogar en Verillion para dirigirme al palacio del Soñador.

¡Ay, el hogar de aquel que dormía y hablaba sobre el Maestro del Deseo; el hacedor de galaxias y constelaciones! Mis ojos contemplaron con asombro aquella magnífica estructura que se posaba sobre un millón de estrellas. Las arcas reposaban sobre sus costas cristalinas y se bañaban con la arena del cosmos. Se decía que sus escaleras estaban hechas con los minerales de cometas muertos, y todas sus columnas, techos y cúpulas, fueron elaborados con el polvo de explosiones de planetas. Sus colosales puertas derribaron mi corazón. Me estremecía con solo el ruido que hacían al abrirse. Sentí que entraba a la boca de un abismo que me absorbía y apagaba todos mis sentidos, dejándome solo con el miedo.

Esperaba encontrarme con los buscadores, pero solo me recibieron las pléyades; cuidadoras del Soñador. Me llevaron a su aposento, que se hallaba por encima del palacio resguardado por los astros, y me advirtieron de situarme justo al lado de la cama.

Me sentí tan pequeño junto a él, a pesar de que podía verlo completamente. Pensé que dormía, pero abrió sus ojos repentinamente y me miró.

“Tú debes ser el reemplazo de Oblivion, ¿verdad?” Me preguntó con voz somnolienta y pausada.

“Sí, señor…,” contesté con timidez. “Ya tengo todo preparado, solo empiece cuando esté listo.”

“Como estarás conmigo las siguientes eras, me gustaría compartir algo contigo,” dijo mientras extendía su brazo hacia mí con mucho esfuerzo. “Por favor, acércate.”

Hice lo que me pidió y, al verlo más de cerca, lo percibí más pequeño. Su piel gris, arrugaba y desprovista de cabello, aunada a sus ojos derretidos y características faciales consumidas, me hicieron recordar a los moribundos de Calindor, cuando están a punto de convertirse en polvo cósmico.

“Escucha, la verdad puede ser muy aterradora, trata de no impresionarte por todo lo que vaya a decir. Regístralo todo y no pierdas ningún detalle, pues de eso depende la pacífica estabilidad de las cuarenta ciudades.” Fue lo último que me dijo, luego fijó su mirada hacia arriba y cerró los ojos para no volver a abrirlos.

El Soñador, mientras dormía, no paraba de hablar. Mencionaba coordenadas. Espacios exactos en diferentes puntos entre las galaxias. Sus conjeturas geométricas parecían tan literales como las de un planisferio estelar. Con base en sus indicaciones se crearon nuevos puertos y distribuciones espaciales. Aldeas siderales que ocupaban diferentes constelaciones en distintas escalas artificiales. Se sitiaron nuevos planetas y se adquirieron nuevos recursos, preparando cada lugar para el regreso del Maestro del Deseo.

Las cuarenta ciudades trabajaban en armónica simetría, guiados por la esperanza proveniente de alguien que soñaba. Era muy agobiante para mí. Pasaban los eones y las verdades no dejaban de salir de su boca. No todo lo que registraba eran coordenadas, también había mensajes que aludían a la inexistencia del Maestro del Deseo.

Cada vez que el Soñador lo mencionaba, mi corazón quería detenerse, pero fui advertido de registrar todo lo que escuchaba sin ningún cuestionamiento o las consecuencias serían terribles.

“El Maestro del Deseo no aparecerá. Abandonen cualquier esperanza de encontrarlo,” susurraba el Soñador mientras dormitaba. Con el pasar del tiempo, me fui acostumbrando a aquellas lacerantes palabras, pero no podía mantenerlas. Era como si hubiese sido golpeado fuertemente por una desmotivadora realidad, entonces, ¿por qué estoy haciendo esto?

Después de tantos eones de registros, finalmente el Soñador despertó. Me miró fijamente como si buscara en mi rostro algún cambio y, al parecer, no lo decepcioné. “Espero que hayas hecho un gran trabajo, Redimir,” me dijo con su voz pausada. “De verdad espero verte la próxima vez.”

No dije nada, solo sonreí. Tomé mis cosas y salí casi disparado de la habitación del Soñador. Los buscadores estaban complacidos con mi trabajo, pero me di cuenta de que solo usaban los registros más convenientes. Las cuarenta ciudades se habían expandido y estaban más unidas que nunca, preparadas para la llegada del Maestro del Deseo.

Debí sentirme feliz, pero no podía al saber que todo lo que se basaba nuestra cosmogonía era una mentira. Decidí buscar a la única persona que podía entender mi pena, así que fui a Plétoris en busca de Oblivion. Al verlo, me atacó el asombro, pues se veía muy extraño.

Sus ojos parecían cascados y su boca estaba muy consumida hacia abajo. Su piel ya no poseía el característico color esmeralda de todos los Pletorianos, ahora estaba azul y muy oscura.

Me observó con una mirada tan profunda que parecía eterna. Me dio a entender que sabía por qué yo había ido a buscarlo.

“Supongo que eres el actual acompañante del Soñador, ¿cierto?” Dijo con una voz excesivamente grave que me hizo temblar de los nervios. “Ahora lo sabes…”

“¿Por qué…? ¿Por qué nunca dijiste nada? ¿Por qué dejaste que esta mentira te siguiera consumiendo?” Inquirí con fuerza.

“No está en nuestras manos,” Explicó mientras se acercaba para fijar sus ojos en los míos. “Las mentiras a veces son muy necesarias para mantener la belleza de una estructura. Una verdad tan inmensa como esta lo destruiría todo, incluyendo todo lo que amas. Aunque el peso de esta carga es muy grande, debemos hacer lo posible para resistir ante ella. Yo no pude y heme aquí, preferí irme lejos y olvidar, y quizás tú lo hagas mejor que yo.”

Las palabras de Oblivion me entristecieron, podía detectar la agonía en su voz. Decidí seguir por ese camino, pero el peso de esa verdad era demasiado fatigante, así que decidí abandonar mi oficio como el acompañante del Soñador. Volví a Verillion, pero jamás fui el mismo. El fantasma de ese conocimiento me atormentó por siempre y me excluía de todo contacto con cualquier otro ser viviente. Cada año luz, en la soledad de mi recinto, no dejaba de preguntarme cuánto tardaría en visitarme el próximo acompañante.

FIN

Texto traducido con Deepl | Text translated with Deepl

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Me encantó este cuento. La historia es muy imaginativa y está llena de detalles sobre un universo fascinante. La lucha del protagonista con el peso de la verdad me pareció muy conmovedora. Los personajes y su misión para mantener la armonía del cosmos me mantuvieron enganchado de principio a fin. ¡Muy bien escrito!

I liked this story. The story is very imaginative and full of details about a fascinating universe. I found the protagonist's struggle with the weight of truth very moving. The characters and their mission to maintain the harmony of the cosmos kept me hooked from beginning to end.Very well written!

Muy halagado por tu comentario. Me alegra que te haya gustado mi historia. Gracias por leerme y por tus palabras.

TIW_Com3_Banner.jpg

Oh, thank you, this is very nice.

Thank you for the support and for this recognition.

A great piece of fantasy that you give us today. I really liked how you developed the story and the charming narrative that makes we imagine each scene. The idea of ​​the story that revolves around a lie makes us reflect on how the world works and how farces are necessary to maintain balance. Very excellent work.

Thanks for sharing your story.
Excellent Wednesday.

Thanks, friend, writing about these kinds of worlds has really been fun for me. Thank you for reading me and for your comment.

Wow! I like the storyline as it captures a profound sense of regret and the heavy toll that secrets can take on individuals

Thank you, I'm glad you liked my story.