AFRICAN CULTURAL DANCE

in Sketchbook4 months ago

Greetings friends, in my drawing today, I sketched a man wearing an African attire. There are diverse cultural practices in Africa although let me put it; Nigeria. I came from the Igbo race, situated in the Eastern part of Nigeria where we have different cultural practices. However in this drawing, I made a depiction of a young man playing and dancing to the sound of what we call (ọyọ) This attire is majorly worn during wrestling, new yam and ekpe festival although it is also worn by the Calabari people from the southern part of Nigeria. During the celebration of these cultural practices, people rarely put on dress given the fact you need to exert much energy which may lead to sweating.

Nonetheless, I made the drawing using pen and then did the body and background painting using ibispaint x app. Let's go through the processes involved.

First sketch.

Second sketch.

Final sketch using pen.

First smoothing and painting using ibispaint x app.

Final smoothing and coloring using ibispaint x app.

Thank you for going through. Nonetheless, the drawing was sketched, smoothed amd colored by me.