MONOCHROME OIL PAINTING: IDRIS ELBA

in Sketchbook3 months ago

IMG_8749.jpeg

Good morning everyone,

I’m happy to share with you guys my latest painting of Idris Elba. First of all, Idris Elba is my celebrity crush. I’ve loved his acting skills ever since I was young but I have never painted him before which makes him to be at the top of my painting list.

Couple of weeks ago, I experimented with black canvas. As some of you guys must have known, I create my canvases myself from the scratch which mean I could create whatever color of canvas I want. This particular time, I decided to create a black canvas by mixing a black acrylic paint to my gesso and trust me, it came out nice.

To work on this canvas, I decided to go with a monochrome painting. After a long search, I came across a picture of Idris Elba which caught my attention so I choose to work with that one.

IMG_8467.jpeg


While painting, I realized I find it easier to work with monochrome painting compared to colored painting. It also came out very nice and the painting popped out of the dark background. The materials I used are also limited compared to a colored piece. The colors I used are Titanium white and Lamp black. I created different shades and they served me well.

PROCESS

IMG_7701.jpeg


IMG_7741.jpeg


IMG_7805.jpeg


IMG_7814.jpeg


FINAL LOOK

IMG_8748.jpeg


IMG_8749.jpeg


IMG_8747.jpeg


20240122_015526_0000.png


Sort:  

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Wow! This is beautiful

It is brutally realistic. I loved the use of color and the intensity in his expression. Fantastic work

Beautiful art! Thanks for sharing

Congratulations @gloriaolar! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 230000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 240000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery