Sketchbook 020 - Being dramatic on paper & Reworking an old painting

in Sketchbook13 days ago

Greetings and happy Saturday!

This week has been an absolute mindfuck, (no better term for it, sorry) in the best way possible.

As I mentioned a while ago, I was feeling pretty down and moody for a while there, which even though it isn't always the most comfortable feeling, does seem to help me draw some pretty cool looking stuff.

This one came from just a fleeting moment of blah. (that's totally an emotion and a real word! Haha) Funny thing is, I had absolutely no reason for this glum mood, which is exactly why I decided to just put it on paper and get over it. Somehow, that tends to work really well.

Not one single drop of planning went into this one. I simply put on some earphones and let the image create itself, so to speak. I quite like it and felt pretty cheerful once it was done.

Drawing these kinds of just go with it pieces tends to also be very relaxing and enjoyable, even though they aren't challenging like the portraits and paintings.

Okay, enough rambling and ranting about randomness (what a fun sentence to write)
As a bonus, yesterday, I finally managed to get to fixing some of the issues with an old (and huge) painting I did a while ago. It is the only piece of art displayed in my office/creative space/dungeon of madness, and even though I love it, it needed some more depth and drama!

Before - still my favourite piece! I am not religious at all, not even a little bit, but the original image that this was loosely based on just drew me in immediately, it seemed very intense, I like that! It is also very obvious but at the same time a little bit obscure in a way. All in all, 100% up my alley.

After - Do not fear the white highlights! I'm very happy with the way it looks now, the white definitely added some depth to it. It might still not be fully done and perfect...maybe it will never be. If I ever get the opportunity, I am considering asking for additional references as the new details were just based on guesswork instead of anything I could see on the original photo. The chances of me getting to ask for that are on the lower end of things, though it isn't exactly impossible at this stage.

Either way, things are looking up and I think I might finally be getting a little bit better at this art thing, now I just need to improve about 97% more 😆

Well that's it for today, well done for surviving my rant if you are still with me!

Till next time, much love and good vibes to all!

Credit - All images in this post are my own, the clumsy collection of words too.
Banner created using Adobe Express

Sort:  

Sketch with mindfuck in mind really captures strong feeling through that piece. Deep dive to ponder over!

@tipu curate

Thank you! Sometimes it is easier to show what you feel through images instead of words. Thanks for reading!

!LUV

Devil easy to imagine, other half confusion, the bubbling crazy thoughts that throw us into a tizz, love the split effect as well.

Hello, dear soul... I understand your mindset here. Those "Blahs" can permeate right into your brain... yes? Like a hang nail that always catches on your sleeves. Or that one clock that doesn't change with Dalight Savings. A constant reminder of those things that really get under the skin. But to me... what matters here, is that you are aware of the situation, and you are doing something to try and take your mind off of it. I am curious what music you were listening to when you made your art creations. I could imagine something like, Tool, NIN, or even Black Sabbath.


"Either way, things are looking up and I think I might finally be getting a little bit better at this art thing, now I just need to improve about 97% more 😆"


This is a positive end, to a very unique post. I hadn't seen your words in our Thoughtful Daily Post Community before. So I wanted to stop by and say hello... Keep resonating with this positive energy, my friend I hope you have a good rest of your weekend... Love and light...


Wes...
TDPBlinkie-anim.gif

!WEED
!LUV
!LADY

Greetings! Thank you for the lovely comment and kind words. 😁

You definitely understand the emotion behind this, nice to know that it isn't unique to my strange little mind. "Hangnail always catching on a sleeve" Is a lovely way to describe it, like that very much.
As for the music, while all of those are on my playlist and often played in heavy rotation, I was listening to a Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and also Suicide at the time. (I am quite obsessed with music)

This was my first post to the community, a friend suggested it a while ago, felt right at the time!

Thank you for stopping by to say hi, it is very much appreciated. Have a lovely weekend, good vibes and love, always!

!LUV

well then! Thanks to that friend, that suggested your visit! (Jacob Peacock, perhaps?) If you like Nick Cave... perhaps then, you are familiar with dear Dax


Perhaps you have jammed to the Vool?


I too... love music. The Universal Language... One more... Atomship


lightWorker_banner (1).jpg

😁Yes, it was Jacob. He's a cool dude.

It blows my mind that there is still new (and good) music to discover.
I like to say that my favourite people are the ones who share music and add to my playlist, so thank you! I haven't heard those before, but love them! Especially Dax ❤️
Today's drawing session should be great now. 😁

wesphilbin, hellsveiah sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@wesphilbin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @hellsveiah and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/6 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

hellsveiah, wesphilbin sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.


TDP_MSP_Curation_.png

Of all the art you've posted, I think has to be my favourite. I don't know if I understand it right, or just that I understand how my brain interprets it but... wow.

I always do my absolute best work when I'm in the darkest places, I guess everyone has a different mechanism to crawl out of the black hole. So I rally hope things do get 97% better and fast - you're one of the good guys and deserve to have good stuff happen to you 😀

🐈‍⬛🖤Thank you! Most people don't seem to like the darker/weirder things too much. Can't really comment on if you understand it right or not, but maybe that's the best thing about art, we can all make up our own story or idea as to what it all means.
Life things have been getting better slowly, complicated and strange but better 😁 it is the art that needs to be 97% better.
Thank you so much for the kind words and wishes, really appreciate it and hope the same for you, my friend. You're awesome too 🤘🏻👻

That drawing is pretty cool! I like the words in the center of it also. 🏹🗝️😍

😁🖤🤘🏻👻Thank you! I think the words are the best part 😅

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan


Curated by wesphilbin

At first Look I thought these photos might be taken form somewhere or a digital art. But if it is Sketchy it's just awesome 😎

😁Thank you! They are just sketches done with black gel ink pen, glad you like them. Have a great day 😁

They are wonderful, I am shocked how you made them !lol

Why do you never see elephants hiding in trees?
Because they are so good at it.

Credit: reddit
@hellsveiah, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of nabbas0786

(1/1)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

😂Guess it is time to make a few video tutorials!

Wowww this is amazing 😻💚

💚🖤💚Thank you so much!

@hellsveiah!

@wesphilbin passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

I really wish to understand the concept behind this sketch !! Looks very create and scary at the same time!!

😁There was no real concept, just a free flow of emotion and feeling onto paper. It was fun to create!

Wow !! That's incredible!! I can see a lot in the images! I see forms in things

Thanks! Sometimes just drawing without thinking makes for interesting pieces 😁

Facts!!! that's just the way it is !!

😂🙌🏻🙌🏻

!LUV

Nice pictures 🤩🤩

Congratulations @hellsveiah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024