Inktober sketchbook spread !

in Sketchbook2 years ago

Hey everyone,
I have decided to give Inktober a try this year, this is the first time participation from me and these are also my first 3 ballpoint / fine liner drawings so please go easy on me and as always creative criticism is always welcome, as I see we got some really amazing ballpoint artists in the community.


Let's get to business, I start all of the sketches on the spread with a light pencil sketch which I erase once I got the ink down, here we go with the first one - Gargoyle:

viber_image_2022-10-06_15-27-50-013.jpg
Next I went to do some linework with a fine liner:

viber_image_2022-10-06_15-27-49-842.jpg
and after this I went in with the ballpoint pen. I totally did not expect to have so much fun using that material but it was so satisfying getting all these different values from something that we are not used to being that kind of a material, most people think its just making a single 1 shade color line and that's that, but it is much more than that.

viber_image_2022-10-06_15-27-49-676.jpg
I decided to add just a little red in the eyes for an accent bending the rules a little bit but hey I think it looks better this way so why not. Once the first was done I went on the other side of the page to do the second and third prompts - Scurry and Bat. For the scurry I decided to do a running black rat and for the bat I went with a vampire bat hanging down of a branch:
viber_image_2022-10-07_14-22-40-006.jpg

Here is a close up of it done:

viber_image_2022-10-07_14-22-40-370.jpg

Again just a tiny bit of red in the eyes for effect, and I forgot to take a picture of the rat pencil sketch below but here is the finished spread:

viber_image_2022-10-07_14-22-40-543.jpg

I decided to do a bit of a combining background with some black watercolor and I don't know if I did the best I can but I like the end result. I am also new to the whole sketchbook thing this is my first one so I am learning and any tips or anything that will help me out is more than welcome.

If you took the time of they day to check out my post I thank you very much.
Have an amazing day and until next time!

Sort:  

good drawings!

Thank you very much 😊