My entry to Hive Infographic Contest: 1,000 HIVE Grand Prize!

in Sketchbooklast year

Hello everybody. The CBRS contest looked like a good opportunity to try something new.
I actually stumbled across it by mistake. I got a mail on ecency newsletters on my email, and it was the post on “NFT giveaway and infographic Contest" as first. To my shame I wasn’t familiar with the term infographic until then.

First search lead me to a bunch of charts and percentage sheets. I admit I was a bit discouraged. But as I scrolled more, found it's more than that. "A tool to educate and inform" - How cool.

As a matter of fact this was my first ever infographic so I learned a lot of things thanks to this challenge.

I might have actually even fallen in love with this graphic style and will definitely try it again with the first opportunity that arises or if not, I’ll search for it for sure.
I can’t say I am great at designing, I just like making collages from time to time, be them digital or analog.

And it’s too little to say that I am atechnical. My mind refuses to learn difficult stuff or if I try I usually just barely scratch the tip of the iceberg. This is what happed to me when I joined the blockchain too.

Among the details too technical for me I made my way through the communities and made my first posts ever, a bit clumsy too.
But actively posting and finding your communities is what I believe retains people in ultimately.

So for me, and many more this is the aspect of Hive that I think is the best and tried to showcase it briefly through my infographic: To Make a post, finding a niche and posting, getting encouragement from fellow hivers and doing something you like and that others might enjoy too.

I particulary liked the ”you got all the artistic freedom” in the contest article in there, this is what hive is about afterall: Freedom.

Check the link to the contest here to join: https://ecency.com/hive-132595/@coldbeetrootsoup/hive-infographic-contest-1000-hive-grand-prize

An infographic whose tips for posting are the basics of any successful post.
I wanted my infographic to be easy to read with most key components so I tried to squeeze them in as to not have too many text as that’s not the purpose of an infographic afterall.

Now about its design:
For me the most time consuming was choosing a design to look aesthetic, went ahead with a more classical look and a subtle symbolism. Second to that was to sort the text and keep it as concise and helpful as possible.

I had to work a bit on the road way element as well as to where to place the texts. I randomly put "Be yourself" in the middle at first, only to find it most properly placed as this to me seems to be one of the core things in writing as well as creating that can set you apart, your uniqueness.

At first I sketched a vertical one but after thinking about it some more, I chose the horizontal display instead, to give the feeling of a map if folded.

https://pixabay.com/photos/girl-woman-hair-braids-3959203/

Because this is what it is, a journey that differs for everybody.
As for colors, my inspiration and keywording was: “retro design on modern times” as what I googled for. From there it was easier as I had an image in mind already and searched on Pixabay.
The aestetic:
-For design: a journey- roads, travel, destination

()

https://pixabay.com/vectors/trees-woods-forest-deciduous-trees-154168/
https://pixabay.com/vectors/cars-road-street-transportation-5970663/
https://pixabay.com/vectors/bees-honeycomb-combs-honey-wax-45790/
https://pixabay.com/vectors/tree-trunk-nature-leaves-branches-576836/
-And for text: the simplest, most basics steps to a successful post in the communities on the blockchain
-Why simple? Simple is boring? Not at all. Because simple is POWERFUL.
Simplicity is about subtracting the obvious, and adding the meaningful.” - John Maeda. I also believe that this is a factor of utmost importance that is often easily overlooked. And this comes rather “simple” to us the more we think about it, regarding all aspects of our lives too.

-I extracted the information I used from the "3 Things Newbies should do guide, mostly". But also from my little experience at writing posts. (that I don’t always apply though but would like to)
https://ecency.com/hive-174578/@livinguktaiwan/3-things-newbies-should-do-in-their-first-week-on-hive

A few before, in between and after:
I have taken a look at the infographics already posted and they are all amazing. I found particularly interesting as idea to use QR codes in the infographics. As it can be really practical and if for example the image gets separated from the actual post or link, it can redirect users to website source directly.

Getting closer:

And closer:

About sharing this on other platforms I can understand, as to attract more people or even designers to the contest. But as much as I would like to promote this contest as much as possible, I really don’t use Twitter that much.


My edits are done in Photoshop with all the graphics free to use.

It was an enjoyable journey.
Thank you so much for the read.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mynatasha! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!