Drawing the body in volume.

in Sketchbook17 days ago

IMG_20240325_0021.jpg

Hi everyone! 😄

I come back with some body sketches, made with a peculiar technique.

Thinking of objects and live models as volumes is one of the most important things to learn in order to draw correctly.

As I develop my vision of volume and 3D (I used to be really bad at it), I tried a new exercise that I find really useful and fun.

The principle is to draw the curved lines that delimit the volume - like a 3D vision in an armature that shows the volumes and the orientation of each part in space.

IMG_20240409_0004.jpg

It's a good exercise, not so easy, that asks you to see where this or that part is in space; I used to struggle more with the arms, I don't know why. As I can easily see the orientation of the torso (there are often lots of clues, like fat folds), the arms can move quite freely, and sometimes, flattened in 2D on a photo, it's quite hard to see how it's oriented in 3D.

IMG_20240325_0022.jpg

This time I did quick sketches, and I wasn't really precise with the volume curves, I thought of them more as gesture drawings, capturing movement quickly.

IMG_20240419_0001.jpg

So it would be really interesting for a next session to do this exercise, but in a very careful way, drawing it as if it were a real 3D object in a software. (or as close as possible 😂)

IMG_20240419_0002.jpg

bannière.png

I hope you will like it 😊

See you soon for more creations.

Sort:  

Well done! It's very important to exercise our hands studying the bodies in different poses and yes, it's not so easy! Great! ^_^

Thank you :)
Yes, it's a must if we want to improve!😊