Sketching Sport.

in Sketchbook2 months ago

IMG_20240229_0001.jpg

Hi everyone! 😄

As you know, I'm doing a lot of sketching exercises these days, and one that I like is the gesture exercise. It involves making just a few dynamic strokes (mostly curves) to create our drawing.

The more a body is in motion, the more you will feel these curves. And that's why a body drawn in a straight line looks static. A body is always going to move in a curved way - that's one of the golden rules of animation. Only a robot or a mechanical object will move without following curves.

So drawing athletes (with dancers) is the perfect reference to see these movements and curves.

IMG_20240224_0001.jpg

IMG_20240224_0002.jpg

When drawing such poses, we have to ask ourselves: "Where is the point of attention? Which muscles should the athlete use and if so, which part of the body is involved?" etc.

I can understand doing a 1 minute drawing. But what I try to do is to do the drawing mostly in one minute, but after some seconds or minutes of analysis. If not, I can only practise the mechanical aspect of drawing, improving my instinct. But what I can't improve in this case is the understanding of what I'm doing, and also the repetition of it in a different context (and perhaps without reference).

IMG_20240224_0003.jpg

IMG_20240224_0004.jpg

IMG_20240224_0005.jpg

IMG_20240224_0006.jpg

So I tried both to let my arms and shoulders do the curves naturally, and to concentrate my brain on what I was doing.

Another important point when drawing bodies in motion is to look at the centre of gravity and the balance of the body. Walking and running is a constant catching up after a fall.
If you know that, you know that in some frames you can see the body unbalanced. And that's why the posture looks dynamic: the person couldn't hold this position, so the brain interprets it as a moving and therefore dynamic position.
At least if you understand how walking works, you can understand why you sometimes fall flat on your face on the pavement 😁.

IMG_20240229_0002.jpg

bannière.png

Hope you will like it, see you soon for more creations!