Happy April 25th, the Liberation Day here in Italy!

in Sketchbook26 days ago

An happy April 25th to you all! Today here it's another grey day, a lot of dark clouds on the sky and it's raining a little, but today is also a very special day here in Italy, because it's the Liberation Day!
It's a national holiday here, we remember adìnd commemorate the victory of the Italian resistance movement against the nazis and fascists during the World War 2 and, for more information about that event, you can read more about that historical day here .
Just to know, thanks my age (I'm 53 years old), when I was a girl I could hear the memories of that time directly from the old people who lived in my village. I can remember the tears on their eyes while they told us about the bloody days during that war and the joy for the liberation.
Sometimes the world seems to forget the history (also here in Italy) but I think it's very important to remember that our grand-parents lived under a fascist nightmare for years and they fought against it for their (and our!) freedom, giving their life for a better future, for a future in freedom.
As I wrote the past 2 year during this day, I want to send all my thoughts to the brave people in Ukraine who are still suffering cause the bloody invasion by Putin and I really hope they will have soon a day to celebrate their own Liberation Day. ❤️

Here we use poppies as one of the symbols for the Liberation Day and so,this morning, I painted the following page of my sketchbook:

DSCN8821.JPG

As usual, I took some pics while I was painted it so you can see the process too:

DSCN8817.JPG

DSCN8818.JPG

DSCN8819.JPG

DSCN8820.JPG

I hope you like it and, again, happy Liberation Day!
See ya soon and stay safe,
Silvia



***If you like my artworks, you can find them on my online shops on
Artfinder ( https://www.artfinder.com/silviabeneforti#/), on Etsy (https://www.etsy.com/shop/vumap) and on my Patreon page too (https://www.patreon.com/silviabeneforti). If you are interested about my artworks, you can buy my catalogue here:

US (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0C9S4VLQK)
Italy (https://www.amazon.it/dp/B0C9S4VLQK)
Uk (https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0C9S4VLQK)
You can find it in different countries, you have just to search "silvia beneforti portfolio" on Amazon. ^^
^
^ ****

Sort:  

Greetings Dear Silvia,

The dearest parcel has arrived....

26C2B5DA-B8B9-43D4-87E4-28B505DBF47B.jpeg

9F2CBBF0-5253-4FE7-B53C-4984BCC19EB6.jpeg

Thank you my dear friend...we are delighted to have received a painting from your hand.

Kind Regards,

Bleujay

Wow!!!!! I thought it needs more time to arrive to you! I'm so happy the Lady now is on your hands! Thanks sooooo much, dear Bleujay! ❤️❤️❤️

Happy Liberation Day! We need to remember these things to avoid them happening again. It's sad to see history being repeated.

I agree with you, Steve, it's so sad to see history being repeated.

Greetings Dear Silvia,

Happy Liberation Day,...indeed we should never forget.

Bleujay will celebrate with you and Italy this special day. ^__^

Such a commemorative painting, very illustrative of your written thought.

Caio/Cheers!

I love the red touching in the artwork
It makes it look bright