LIL - 13 More Christmas Themed Items (3D Renders with Transparent Backgrounds)

gingerbread_house_left.png

Here's another round of Christmas themed images for the LIL! I still have a few more items in my list of images to make, but we'll see if I can get to them all before Christmas! 😅

I seem to always talk about what I enjoyed about creating the image, what I struggled with, and I could improve on. It's kind of a way for me to document my progress in 3D, so here goes if you care to read haha.

With the snowman, I really wanted to get a nice, tightly-packed-snow look to it, without having to actually model all that. Very time consuming, and also really hard on (old) computers to add in all that extra detail through geometry. So a bump map was perfect. It "fakes" geometry without actually putting it in there.

I actually used two noise texture nodes, one for the big lumps, and another for the smaller lumps, and joined them together with, I believe, a mix shader. Maybe it was a mixRGB, I can't remember. But I REALLY like how the snow turned out. I felt like it had a nice balance of bigger lumps (from hand packing the snow), and little shimmering, sand-like, detail.

The scarf was a bit different. I didn't really know how to go about creating a wide scarf that wrapped around the neck, but still looked realistic with being smashed in certain parts, like how it would in real life from just being cloth. I started with a single vert and just wrapped it around and extruded it to give it depth. Then I just rotated it in parts so it would lay flat. It kind of worked I guess haha. I feel like it ended up being too thick and not wide enough. Also the hair I added to it looks a bit weird I think.

The gingerbread man was a lot of fun and I basically traced around a picture of a real gingerbread man. Then I did "single vert - to curve - with beveling" in order to create all the icing. No real issues with this one.

Same thing with the gingerbread house. I didn't really have any issues with this one. I try really hard to stay under an hour when I create images for the LIL. It's kind of like training myself to work faster haha. This one took about an hour and a half. It would have been longer but I already had a bunch of textures from the gingerbread man.

Icing was all done the same way here. Single vert, converted to curve, adding beveling in the options to give it depth. I used a TON of arrays and mirrors on this one for the icing and candies.

Enjoy!

Snowman - Front View snowman, snowmen, snows, snowy, decorations, cold, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Snowman - Left View snowman, snowmen, snows, snowy, decorations, cold, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Snowman - Right View snowman, snowmen, snows, snowy, decorations, cold, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Snowman - Top Front View snowman, snowmen, snows, snowy, decorations, cold, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Snowman - Top Left View snowman, snowmen, snows, snowy, decorations, cold, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Snowman - Top Right View snowman, snowmen, snows, snowy, decorations, cold, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread Man - Front View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, candys, candies, sweets, happy, persons, peoples, faces, smiles, man, men, woman, women, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread Man - Side View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, candys, candies, sweets, happy, persons, peoples, faces, smiles, man, men, woman, women, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread Man - Top View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, candys, candies, sweets, happy, persons, peoples, faces, smiles, man, men, woman, women, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread Man - Bottom View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, candys, candies, sweets, happy, persons, peoples, faces, smiles, man, men, woman, women, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread Man - Bottom View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, candys, candies, sweets, happy, persons, peoples, faces, smiles, man, men, woman, women, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread House - Front View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, happy, houses, homes, buildings, stores, desserts, candys, candies, sweets, baking, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread House - Side View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, happy, houses, homes, buildings, stores, desserts, candys, candies, sweets, baking, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Gingerbread House - Top Front View gingerbreads, cookies, decorations, Chirstmas, xmas, noel, yuletides, jolly, joyful, happy, houses, homes, buildings, stores, desserts, candys, candies, sweets, baking, holidays, cutouts, transparency, transparent
Sort:  

Congratulations @donroberts! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Every time I look at your pictures I go back to mine and see how much better they ought to be. I don't do 3D so I guess they won't be as good as ever :)

These are wonderful!