You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Water, the Good the Bad and the Ugly. My Collage for LMAC #205

many of us are buying water in bottles because we don't trust the tap.

In Venezuela you can't trust either the tap or the bottles. Thirty years ago, there used to be a Pasteur home filter in most houses, we still have ours at home, but we know for a fact that most people haven't been able to buy one at least in the last decade. Anyway, I don't know if our water is Good, but it doesn't look Bad or Ugly unless you use a microscope 🙈

Microplastic pollution and all kinds of pollution are everywhere in the world, but some of us are lucky to have a piece of cleaner nature around us. I owe you some pics; I need to find the best ones, but here you can see Queen Gunivere "Winnie". She comes to the kitchen when she feels a queen should eat something better than hug plums and rose apples. She comes for mangoes, bananas, lettuce, and tomatoes (her favorites).

image.png
image.png

This is Paco, our 20 year old parrot. I'll tell you his story someday. He isn't afraid to be free if we are nearby. It doesn't fly very high because--I guess--someone broke its left wing so they could sell it as a pet, which is a practice as horrible as it is common here. Anyway, he's safe here in the house. And although I feed him and take care of him, I'm not his favorite person; sometimes we must put him in his cage because he attacks the cats. His love is my husband, haha. We get by.

image.png
image.png

And this is the young iguana I told you about. He's at my father's; he's shy and we rarely see him now, but you can hear him when he moves around high up in the mango tree or when he's going to the house next door. I say he, but who knows 😄

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you for the pictures!!! I love Winnie, and Paco, and the shy salamander. What a wonderful collection of 'pets' you have. The pictures are magnificent.

I agree with you about bottled water. We don't feel confident drinking it at all, but what are we to do? We live with what we have and try to listen to voices of reason when the issue of pollution and contamination arises.

You have made me smile this morning. Thank you very, very much, @marlyncabrera.

Is Roberto a salamander? Haha. I didn't know! The one we see these days is definitely an iguana, so perhaps he's not Roberto, haha.

We have three tortoises: Queen Guinivere, Sir Lancelot, and Spatu (which is a cruel nickname in Spanish 😅 like slang for flattened, but we named her like that out of love). She's handicapped; she drags her hind legs, so I look for her every day to see if she's stuck in a root in the backyard (she seldom is).

Keep smiling, friend. Have a lovely day!

Salamander, iguana. I have used the terms interchangeably, which is not correct. Iguana works fine for me. I love your backyard pets. Life is richer with these friends around :)

Then I think Roberto the iguana is still around 🤭 If he honors us with his presence, I might take his photo 👌🏻