Monday Run - 16km (more camera testing, sound is better)

in EXHAUST16 days ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hello again!

So, after my previous attempt of filming my run, and after the steep learning curve using the editing software, and the issues I discovered with my sound, I'm now back with another test video to see if it has better results this time round!

And personally, I think there is an improvement.

Lessons learnt:

1 - I'm holding the camera closer to my face, so obviously the camera can record the sound in more detail
2 - I'm running on quieter roads (most off the time at least!) and I will try to think about my surroundings before pressing the record button
3 - I tried to keep the spoken sections shorter. This helped to keep my words more precise (i.e. less mumbling or rambling)
4 - I also made a concerted effort to speak a little louder and to try to enunciate my words better (again, less mumbling!)

Having less windy conditions than the previous day helped, although I don't really have much control over the weather to be fair. Maybe it is just a case of being aware that the wind could be a factor, and that if it is windy, to try harder to minimize the effect from it with the points above.

I still need to work on my endings though, its still quite abrupt here. Could do with some generic B roll footage to end on or something, or maybe just keep recording a little longer so it doesn't just stop immediately.

As for the run itself... I aimed for a nice and easy 10 miles, and I achieved that.

image.png

I mentioned in the film I was going to aim for another one on Wednesday, but due to time constraints I ended up only doing a short 35 min session

ended up getting squeezed into my lunch break, really struggled for time on Wednesday!

Thursday was a little better so I managed another 10 miles down to Navenby and back on Thursday evening. And now its Friday evening, and I'm just quickly creating this post, before heading to bed. Tomorrow (saturday) is gonna be a long day... in the morning will be another long run, hopefully approx 18 miles down to Whisby.

Its another excuse to take the new camera out I guess!

And after the run I have an assortment of chores to work through, and then I'll be off to visit my Dad for a small BBQ, and then we'll be watching Eurovision later on tomorrow evening.

I know, I know, it's a little bit naff, but it will still be a mostly enjoyable evening!!

Hiveblog divider.png

Notes
All footage captured by Dan Newton
Music: “Save As” by Toby Smith from Pixabay
https://pixabay.com/music/beats-save-as-115826/
Camera: Insta360 X3
Editing Software: Started with Insta360 Studio, and then used DaVinci Resolve to finish

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for watching, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos and video footage taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I’m glad you could learn some lessons and this run filming is better
Honestly, if I was the one who held the phone and even put it close to my face, I might have fallen down😅

A mate of mine has channel, not sure what he’s running but check his videos out I’m never bored watching them and he closes each video well IMO

https://youtube.com/@runwithwoody?si=oxrSBFXbm_l-UDkX