Overcoming Sedentarism [EN/PT]

in EXHAUST25 days ago

This week marks four months since I started bodybuilding again. It hasn't been easy to keep it up, as the body takes a while to get used to an exercise routine after a long break. Your body hurts, your mind sabotages you and you think about giving up. But it's important to focus on the details. Just put on your socks and sneakers, put on your exercise clothes, grab your water bottle and focus on the immediate. Take your mind off the effort you'll have to make, focus on the now and things will get easier.

When I was younger, I was always exercising. Playing soccer was an almost daily practice. When I was in the army, I can say that it was the peak of my physical condition. I ran an average of ten kilometers a day and also practiced other sports and weight training. I don't know what led me to be sedentary for so many years after that, considering that my exercise record was good.

The body gets used to being comfortable, but we have to be aware that our health is also at stake and action needs to be taken. Creating this new routine wasn't easy, but I can say that I got through the quitting period with flying colors. Our psyches take a few months to get used to a new routine, and during this process it's important to keep going and persist. I can tell you that I had to go a few days, almost a week, without exercising due to a bad cold, but I still carried on and I missed not being able to do it those days.

With this practice back in my life, I feel some changes, including in my mental health. I feel better self-esteem, I'm more confident, I have fewer depressive peaks and my thinking is great. I also feel that my energy is higher and my mood has improved a lot. My body is also changing, which has a great influence on my psychological state, linked to self-esteem and confidence.

Another thing that has changed in the last two months is my sleep. I've always had nocturnal habits and sleeping late was normal, but now things are changing naturally and, to be honest, I'm not sure I like it. At around ten o'clock at night I'm already very sleepy and can fall asleep very quickly, in a matter of seconds. I like to stay up later, but my body seems to be dictating its own rules. I'm also waking up very early and that's always been a challenge, but now it's natural. I really don't know what happened for my body to just change this habit!

It's been an interesting four months since I made the decision to exercise and many things have changed, with many benefits. Eating has also been another habit that has improved and this has worked in harmony. I still haven't managed to quit smoking, but it's in my plans to seek treatment and I believe that, when I do, I'll be much happier, as this is also one of my goals.

Anyway, I've stopped for a few moments to put these thoughts out there and make another record of my progress in changing my health-oriented lifestyle. It's not easy, but the results and well-being are worth all the effort. I can say that this was one of the best decisions I've made in recent years and I'm looking forward to writing more stories in the near future!

Translated with DeepL


[PT]

Esta semana completo quatro meses desde que voltei a praticar musculação. Não foi fácil manter a constância, pois o corpo demora a se acostumar com uma rotina de exercícios depois de muito tempo parado. O corpo dói, a mente te sabota e você pensa em desistir. Mas é importante focar nos detalhes. Apenas coloque as meias e o tênis, vista sua roupa de exercícios, pegue sua garrafa de água e concentre-se no imediato. Tire os pensamentos do esforço que terá de fazer, foque no agora e as coisas ficarão mais fáceis.

Quando eu era mais novo, estava sempre me exercitando. Jogar futebol era uma prática quase diária. Quando eu estava no exército, posso dizer que foi o auge da minha condição física. Corria em média dez quilômetros diários e também praticava outros esportes e musculação. Não sei o que me levou a ser sedentário por tantos anos depois disso, considerando que meu histórico de exercícios era bom.

O corpo se acostuma a ficar confortável, mas temos a consciência de que a saúde também está em jogo e atitudes precisam ser tomadas. Criar essa nova rotina não foi fácil, mas posso dizer que ultrapassei o período de desistência com louvor. Nosso psicológico demora alguns meses para se habituar a uma nova rotina, e durante esse processo é importante continuar e persistir. Posso dizer que tive que ficar alguns dias, quase uma semana, sem me exercitar devido a uma gripe forte, mas ainda assim continuei e senti falta de não poder fazer isso nesses dias.

Com essa prática instaurada novamente na minha vida, sinto algumas mudanças, inclusive na minha saúde mental. Me sinto com uma melhor autoestima, estou mais confiante, com menos picos depressivos e meu raciocínio está ótimo. Também sinto que minha energia está mais alta e a disposição melhorou bastante. Meu corpo também está mudando, o que influencia muito bem na parte psicológica, ligada à autoestima e à confiança.

Outra coisa que vem mudando nesses últimos dois meses é o meu sono. Sempre tive hábitos noturnos e dormir tarde era algo normal, mas agora as coisas estão mudando de forma natural e, para ser sincero, não sei se estou gostando disso. Por volta das dez horas da noite já estou com muito sono e consigo dormir de forma muito rápida, em questão de segundos. Gosto de ficar acordado até mais tarde, mas parece que meu corpo está ditando suas próprias regras. Também estou acordando bem cedo e isso sempre foi um desafio, mas agora está natural. Realmente não sei o que aconteceu para meu corpo simplesmente mudar esse hábito!

Foram quatro meses interessantes desde que tomei a decisão de praticar exercícios e muitas coisas mudaram, com muitos benefícios. A alimentação também foi outro hábito que melhorou e isso tem trabalhado em harmonia. Ainda não consegui parar de fumar, mas está nos meus planos buscar um tratamento e acredito que, quando isso acontecer, estarei muito mais feliz, pois esse também é um dos meus objetivos.

Enfim, parei por alguns momentos para colocar esses pensamentos para fora e fazer mais um registro do meu progresso na mudança de vida voltada para a saúde. Não é fácil, mas os resultados e o bem-estar compensam todo o esforço. Posso dizer que essa foi uma das melhores decisões que tomei nos últimos anos e estou ansioso para escrever novos relatos em um futuro próximo!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Obrigado por promover a comunidade Hive-BR em suas postagens.

Vamos seguir fortalecendo a Hive

Metade das recompensas dessa resposta serão destinadas ao autor do post.

Vote no @perfilbrasil para Testemunha Hive.

I’ve always wanted to look ripped (natural not roids) but I conceit that I just don’t have the time to invest

I think it's cool, but it really takes a little daily time and patience to get there.

I can see how bad you really want to become more healthy and I hope you achieve it. I hope you’re also able to quit smoking as soon as possible
Good luck!

Great progress you're making and it's amazing to read the ripple effects exercising has on other aspects of your life. I used to struggle with sleep too, making it a habit of sleeping late but now, after adopting an active lifestyle, I sleep way early than before.

Congratulations @michupa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 14000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP