Building Relationships

in HiveGhana • 18 days ago

image.png
source

I was reading a book today known as 360 Degree Leader(a book I've been reading for almost a year now😅) and it was talking about how you lead down an organization as a leader in the middle of a 360 Degree leader as the author calls it. I got to a place where it talked about building relationships as a leader and how important it is. It talked about how to relate with people where it pointed out three things

1. Build people up with encouragement.
2. Give people credit by acknowledgement.
3. Give people recognition by gratitude.

The author talked about how he saw these three things written in his father's office on his telephone, showing how he had to relate to people anytime they called.

image.png
source

Reading the book, I saw how this applied not only to leaders in an organization but also to everyone.
Yes, we all agree that we need people to move forward but how do you treat the people around you. How do you relate to them? You've been able to get these people but will you be able to keep them? If you are going to get people to get you up there, it will depend on how you relate with them; and how you treat them. Relating well with people will make them develop a liking for you and they'll end up ready to do anything for you.

People like to feel loved and respected. They like to feel present and appreciated but most of the time, we lose sight of that. We think O, I have my own troubles to worry about, I can't help you with yours, or I have to put myself first so sorry. I won't argue with you about putting yourself first, but sometimes think a little about others too. Encourage someone, acknowledge them, and be grateful for what they have done for you. You might not realize it but these are the little things you do that will make someone ride with you.

image.png
source

Building relationships is very important, you'll never know where that one relationship will take you.