On Three Wheels Everyday.

in HiveGhana13 days ago (edited)

Last week, my sister and I were returning from work and we decided to take the usual tricycle ride or keke as we call it here in Nigeria. The major roads are quite bad in my area, not quite, really bad so we expected that the driver will take us through many streets before we can get to the stop near our home. We were so engrossed in our chats during the bumpy ride until we noticed that the driver has taken so many turns through unfamiliar streets. My sister look at me and back to the driver and I could tell what was on her mind. Just when I was about to ask the driver if he remembered where we were supposed to stop, the man seated beside us asked him "Oga (Sir), I hope you are not taking us to heaven from here, with the way you're just taking these turns?" That was just a hilarious question that got all of us laughing. The driver replied him "don't you want to go to heaven?" and the man said "not yet o"

Not yet?

Turns out the driver knew other shortcuts different from the regular ones used to know and finally we got home. One of the perks of using keke as a means of daily transportation is that the drivers always have a shortcut to follow. No matter how bad the roads continue to get, they are unstoppable, so to say. It can be quite a disadvantage sometimes, especially during the morning hours when a lot of people are trying to get to work early. It's not their fault though, we anticipate the many turns along the way and just leave home earlier.


I don't use buses a lot except when I'm traveling through states because there are like a thousand and one tricycles for daily transportation in the town I live. It's really affordable too, although the increase in fuel prices lately have caused increase in transport fares. It can be a fun ride when the passengers on board start up interesting conversations that engages everyone including the driver. Some passengers are naturally funny, immediately they get into the keke with you, everyone's mood changes. Sometimes I don't get to hear the end of a very interesting story someone started along the ride and it makes me wish I didn't have to stop.

Comfort is one thing 99.9% of most public transportation don't have. The remaining 1% comfort is what you get when you know there is going to be just you on board, which is quite rare. One of the things I dread is being inside a keke with someone fat or worse still, two fat persons. Trust me, it doesn't end well. I know one time I tried it, it was on my way to work and two fat passengers were already sitting, the moment the saw I was slim, they were like "Oh come and sit dear, this space is just perfect for you". I was skeptical at first but I was also running late so I had no choice but to get in. Worst choice ever! I felt suffocated throughout the ride and the hot weather wasn't even helping, I was sweating through the entire bumpy ride, thankfully it wasn't such a long ride, I couldn't wait to make a stop.


Most times the discomfort be may caused by mothers who are riding with their kids. The space in a keke is so small to fit it three adults comfortably, now imagine someone coming in with three little children and having just a single spot to sit on because two other passengers will be sharing the other remaining space. A lot of times despite being stressed out, I had to help carry a child so that we all can at least get some fresh air along the ride.

You would think it's called tricycle until you come over here and you realize that drivers also share their space with one extra passenger in front with him, sometimes two even, one on the right, one on the left. The main passenger pays while the other one who is just attaching himself doesn't pay. One thing drivers won't do is tell you when their tricycle is faulty. Some tricycles needs to be pushed before they can even start and you'll be the one doing it unless you prefer trekking the rest of your way home. Which is why I am always careful while trying looking for a tricycle to get me to my destination. I avoid the old looking ones just in case they might be faulty.


Just a few tips before I go, always ask for the specific price of the transport fare before getting on to avoid issues with the driver. If you ask them to carry you for any amount below the regular fare, make sure you have the exact amount at hand. Try to avoid sitting at any of the extremes inside a keke, especially when it's about to rain, find your spot in the middle (don't say I didn't tell you), and lastly, don't be a troublesome passenger.

We may not entirely avoid using public transportation once in a while, there may be complains that may arise from unprofessional drivers to some discomforts from fellow passengers. As long as it's something public, the services may not be all that perfect for everyone, we just have to keep hoping for the best.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @empressjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

The middle tip is very important especially if it’s about to rain but if it’s not about to rain then don’t be in the middle o, because you might faint from scents here and there…..hmmm from experience 🤣🤣

😂😂😂
Very important! On a hot day avoid the middle spot, for the sake of your oxygen😄

🤣🤣

Hah! That sounds like a really frustrating time. You between two fat passengers? Oh oh
It’s great to know the journey wasn’t a long one.

Those are really helpful tips for anyone who takes public transportation.sitting at the extreme end of a Keke in raining season is just death wish😂

Sitting there is like willingly choosing to be the sacrificial lamb😂
By the time you get down, you will be dripping but not in Dior 😄