Mixed-sex school?

in HiveGhana19 days ago (edited)

There’s this prejudice associated with parents choosing single-sex schools over mixed-sex schools, it’s the same thing as choosing Boarding school over Day school, I don’t know if this prejudice is evident in our Gen Z parents but back then this was a thing for our parents.

From your experience, would you allow your kids attend a single sex school or a mixed sex school?

Growing up I remember how my Aunt would constantly speak highly of single-sex schools, she’d enumerate all the advantages a single-sex school has over a mixed-sex school, as a parent listening to my Aunt’s unpaid single-sex school advertisement, you would be forced to enroll your kids in the single-sex school and as a child, you would dream of getting enrolled in the single-sex school, yes she was that good!

IMG_9465.jpeg
source

My Aunt’s faith in single-sex school continued till her kids were set for high school. They got enrolled in a girl's catholic school and my Aunt was so happy, she was happy that to some extent she was able to protect her girls from boys or being promiscuous, she was happy that her girls wouldn’t have to deal with any form of sexual assault and she was also happy that her kids were going to stay focused and many other benefits she considered her children to gain from being enrolled in a single-sex school.

The major prejudices parents have on mixed-sex schools are that kids are bound to be distracted by the opposite sex, tend to go wild, sexually assaulted, or tend to go astray as a result of their constant interactions with the opposite sex but I beg to differ. I have heard and seen cases of girls or boys who attended single-sex schools that turned out to be worse than students who attended mixed schools.

IMG_9463.jpeg
source

A student in a single-sex school is likened to a caged bird, the day you open that cage or release that calm and proper bird from his cage, you will understand the harsh truth of life. That sweet bird of yours will fly as fast and high as it can leaving you shocked. This applies to students in single-sex schools. These students learn to deal with no girls or boy policies, they live from the start to finish of high school without any interaction with the opposite sex except when they go home for vacation.

They prep themselves for the D-day when they can finally explore and you know what happens when you take years to prepare for something? You become a master of it and those who do not prepare end up making grave mistakes.

IMG_9466.jpeg
soirce

Most of these students who have little or no interaction with the opposite sex may turn out to be timid or inferior.
Let’s look at it like this, you’ve been locked up with your gender for a couple of years and now you have less experience in dealing with the opposite sex which leads to you withdrawing from the opposite sex as you see it as a lot of work as you would rather stick to your gender since it is less stressful to deal or understand them as compared to the opposite sex, you get the gist? Now such decisions by these students result in lesbianism, homosexualism, and the rest.
Mind you this act might even occur in single-sex schools as you are privileged to see, communicate, and build relationships with your gender and you discover that you find solace in them instead of going through the process of learning how the opposite sex mind works.

Both single-sex and mixed-sex schools have their pros and cons but for me, I would go with a mixed-sex school for my kids. I want my kids to see the world for themselves from a very young age, rather than being kept away from it only to be introduced to it later in life.

I attended a mixed-sex school and I can say for a fact that it helped build my relationship with people and by people, I do not just mean the opposite sex alone.

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of Love🥰🥰
XOXO

Sort:  

Mixed-sex school is my choice any day, I totally prefer it to single-sex schools. I have also heard many tales to make that choice. However, it is not a rule that works for all cases. People go to single-sex schools and turn out great, I guess it just depends on a lot of things.

At the end of the day a school is a school😀

Though it might look advantageous to enroll kids in single sex school but what happens underneath the whole surface is not worth it at all. I also agree with the point you outlined, I attended a mixed sex boarding school but despite that after graduation I had issues with communicating with people, in fact I preferred to lock myself in a room away from the world. Not that I felt inferior but I just couldn't see myself cope with the chaos of the outside world. Now imagine if I were to attend a single sex school wouldn't that worsen my case.

I believe parents should study their children before choosing a school that befits their personality.

Pop in from #dreemport
#Dreemerforlife

I believe parents should study their children before choosing a school that befits their personality.

This right here is a valid point and I totally agree with you. Once parents study their children’s personalities then both parent and child can make a decision.

Both single sex and mixed schools are good, and each have their pros and cons.

#dreemerforlife

Exactly my love🥰

I feel this whole thing is just in the head. Be it mixed or single sex what ever that's bound to happen will still happen...
And yes of course i support your motion too.

#dreemerforlife

Yes my darling whatever that is bound to happen will happen🥰

Very true.
Good morning sis❤

I have never been a supporter of children attending single sex schools
Reason being that they will not be wholly mature
And this leads to many cases of lesbianism and gay relationships.

You are totally right my friend

Congratulations @ibbtammy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 11000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 12000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

Well, that’s a good choice from a good point of view but you choosing for your kids? Don’t you think you are behaving like your aunt already?
What if that’s not what they want?