How I Discovered My Purpose With Ease

in HiveGhana7 months ago

One of the challenges of a man who wishes to live a fulfilled life is “self-discovery”; some people put their hands in a job that doesn’t bring happiness and satisfaction all because they want to survive. This is common in African countries where the economy is poor such that citizens look for any occupation they can put their hand into inorder to earn a living and meet their basic needs, meanwhile this is not how life is meant to be. Man is expected to do what his passion lies in which emanates from self-realization or self-discovery.

pexels-andrea-piacquadio-3779409.jpg
Source

My Story

In my life journey so far, before gaining admission into university I didn’t know what I wanted to be in the future. Since I was a science student the predominant courses were engineering, pharmacy, and medicine; before now, I’ve made up my mind not to do any course related to medicine because of how disgusted I feel when I see some ailments – so I preferred the other profession, engineering. A few hours before filling in my JAMB (Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board) form, I got a call from my mum to fill in Geoinformatics and Surveying as my first choice of study. She knew I love mathematics and physics, also she knew I was confused about what to be in the future. Without any second thought, I filled the form with Geoinformatics and Surveying as my first choice. The day turned to months, months to years till I got to my fourth year still not knowing what I intended to be in the future. During my industrial training, I got myself into many ICT skills; while still hovering around, I discovered my purpose with ease. What made me feel it was my purpose was the satisfaction I got in learning the skill, the happiness, and the eagerness to learn more about other aspects related to the skill.

Fortunately, my purpose indirectly works hand in hand with my course of study which gives me more fulfillment. Let me tell you about it: I’m learning backend development, and implementing it with surveying is being able to create a database, query, update, and carry out other necessary analyses which is a problem-solving skill for a nation at large. Hopefully, when I’m done in this stage another phase will unfold. For now, I will keep learning!

Conclusion

Sometimes our parents are our angels who tell us what course is best for us in the institution just like what happened to me. They shape us to the point that we walk into our purpose without knowing. Another thing that helped me discover my purpose at ease is hovering around my daily activities; so, if you haven’t discovered yourself yet, give it some time it will come forth - for now, get something doing even if it doesn't make sense.
Finally, life is in phases, so while discovering one part of your purpose, keep growing and the small dream will be a nation’s desire!

Thank You

Sort:  

Congratulations @johnuko! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the November edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @johnuko.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It’s a shame some people get to realize their purpose in very late stages of their life but that doesn’t mean one can’t divert into what they are actually passionate about. I guess that’s the beauty of life.
Thanks for sharing your journey to self discovery with us.

Wave Media

Yeah, it's so sad but the joy is when you come back to pursue purpose. Thank you for visiting my blog.