Social Media: adding Backlinks to promote Hive

in 500 Words a day4 years ago

This post is inspired by @sidwrites post on the use of Backlinks to help attract new people to Hive, and to help build this community. If you haven't come across Sid yet, his blog is well worth checking out and is full of useful tips to help you, the writer/blogger, to get the most out of Hive.

This post is also inspired by the work of @nathanmars who essentially preaches the idea that if we want this Hive community to grow, then we need to take responsibility for it, and do what we can to promote it.

Now there are several reasons why you using this site. Some of you are here for the community and to talk to, and share information with, like-minded people. And some of you are here for the money (no shame in that, most of us would probably like some more money if we can get it).

To improve both of these, the answer is the same: we need more people to join us. We all have a variety of Social Media accounts, and simply by placing 'LINKS' on our profiles or in the bio we can 'Link Back' to out profiles on Hive. This way we can help connect more people to this Hive blockchain.

Earlier today I went through some of the accounts I use and added links to my blog here on Hive. And while I do that, it is an opportunity to link to the other social accounts I have which focus on music.

insta.JPG
https://www.instagram.com/blackmetaltape/

First up is instagram. I only set this up earlier this year, and in the space of 6 weeks with very little actual engagement from me apart from uploading my images of Black Metal tapes, I am close to 500 followers. I though I would have a similar engaement here when I set up this @earthsea account, but no. I think that's partly because it is harder to search for content (tags) here, and also there are much fewer people using this platform.

I have tried searching for communities but that depends on users actually adding them to the community in the first place.

bandcamp.JPG
https://bandcamp.com/dan_newton

Next up is Bandcamp. I flippin' love Bandcamp!

I use it to keep up to date with new releases from small Music Labels and Distros, and you can actually support the band. After bandcamp takes their fee, you can be confident that the rest of the money will actually go to the band. There is all sorts of music on here (not just metal) but most are small or unsigned independent artists. They may not be popular in the mainstream, but the music will always be interesting, and there are a number of gems hidden there.

bandcamp2.JPG

You have the options of buying physical media (CD, tape, Vinyl or t-shirts etc) depending on what the artist has for sale, and for each physical copy sold you will be sent a digital copy as well. Or you can just buy the digital album if you prefer. And if that wasn't enough you can stream the music so you can try before you buy.

A fantastic site (and much better than 'spotify' which I refuse to use on principle!)

discog.JPG

https://www.discogs.com/user/thedragonwarrior

The final social music site I will share is Discogs

This is an excellent site which can be used as:

  • a reference source to find out which artist released what album and when
  • a marketplace (like ebay) where you can buy and sell items in your collection
  • a place to keep a catalogue of what is in your collection

I regularly forget which albums I own, and which I still need to complete the sets of certain bands, so the 3rd option is the main reason I use this site.

discog2.JPG
https://www.discogs.com/user/thedragonwarrior

There you go. A brief overview to some of the other social media sites I use relating to music, and in line with @sidwrites excellent article HERE, all of them now link back to my profile here on Hive and @peakd

I hope you found this interesting, and if you have social media pages/profiles focused on music then feel free to share the links to it in the comments below.

Sort:  

Sid has indeed great articles for Hive! I'm glad to see his positive influence!

Agreed, some really useful articles, and i'll be sharing them to anyone else who is interested in joining the hive community

Good advice. I had updated most of my social profiles to point to Hive, but just found my Bandcamp account still linked to Steem. I have fixed that. I still have loads of posts that link there, but since Steemit censored my account for daring to criticise them the links may be broken anyway. I had run something to all my old posts link to Hive.

Setting links on other profiles also verifies your identity on Hive.

Thanks. Next on the list will be to go through the rest of my social media accounts and update my website so that they all point to hive

Excellent excellent work. So glad to see your support. Tweeted this.

You found some gems.

Thank you! And like I've already said, thank you for a selection of excellent articles, keep up the good work! 👍

Thank you for joining #500WordsADay

Thank you! I see you have been posting regularly in the community, theres some excellent stuff there... and I truly am inspired by your relentless positivity!

Let’s keep moving forward together with our Hive

Congratulations @earthsea! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators

Now there are several reasons why you using this site. Some of you are here for the community and to talk to, and share information with, like-minded people. And some of you are here for the money (no shame in that, most of us would probably like some more money if we can get it).

I came for the money and stayed for the community. We have lost some users along the way but there is still a great bunch of people here. I'm hoping to see even more join and add to that community as well as bring back some of the old ones. I see thriving communities as a great way to add value to hive and keep people involved with the site.

Token price and engagement will be two huge factors for retaining users and building up hive. Backlinks are a smart way to increase our viability and I do follow @sidwrites. He has some very good posts and useful information. I might need to check a few of my older profiles and see if I can add a little bit more exposure.

Same here, i joined at the promise of real money, and even if the actual money is quite low its still more than i'll ever get out of facebook and co.

However I am really enjoying the interactions and conversations thus far, and I suspect the 'community' will be the reason I decide to stay in the end

You could spend 5 years on Facebook and never earn a cent. Even if you can get to $50 a month from hive I think it's a great opportunity. That's enough to buy something nice or pay your insurance for the year.

If the price rises at any stage that $50 can quickly become a $100 and if you build your account large enough you can earn just from voting good content. What's not to love. That and the fact that you can have fun while doing it is a win-win in my books. Three years down and I have no intention of leaving.

I want to see where we are in three more. Then ten more.

@earthsea, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for @steemitboard as a witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs