Riding a bike towards the downtown of Bogotá / Rodando en bici hacia el centro de Bogotá.

in Cycling14 days ago

IMG_20240425_082950_838.jpg

This was my second and final bike ride in Bogotá during my stay in the city. Unlike the previous time, I planned a route taking into account the coverage area and the nearby stations of the public bike service, as I had gotten lost and deviated from the planned route on my first occasion.

This time, I traced my route towards the city center, an area I was already somewhat familiar with and also wanted to revisit to make the most of the morning and visit a museum before starting my workday, which usually began around 11 a.m. during those days.

IMG_20240425_075855_769.jpg

The journey was quite enjoyable. When I crossed the Universidad Nacional de Colombia on foot, I encountered a large avenue that could be crossed through a pedestrian bridge also designed for cyclists, which made mobility much easier.

IMG_20240425_075757_663.jpg

Then, after picking up my bike at the nearest station, I followed a route along a long bike path that bordered an extensive walkway on a beautiful tree-lined avenue in a residential area, with only a very slight uphill slope towards the center.

IMG_20240425_085445_507.jpg

I pedaled for less than 20 minutes along that street, and to my surprise, I suddenly found myself in the heart of the historic center, on one of its main avenues, going from a quiet and peaceful street to one with very active traffic in a matter of minutes.

IMG_20240425_085153_101.jpg

I confess that this made me a bit nervous at first, but I still felt secure having the bike lane in this downtown area. I also shared the lane a couple of times with people using electric scooters, something that is just starting to be seen in some parts of my city.

IMG_20240425_082849_784.jpg

I crossed part of the historic center until I reached a station very close to the museum I wanted to visit. I left my bike at the station, and the trip was successfully completed in the app.

IMG_20240425_081640_468.jpg

I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. I loved the cool temperature of the city for cycling, in addition to having an excellent and extensive system of bike paths, which I found ideal for using the bike as a daily means of urban transportation.

IMG_20240425_082847_539.jpg

So far, this is the fourth city in Latin America where I have been able to ride a bike. In addition to my local city Caracas, I had previously cycled in Arequipa, Peru, and Buenos Aires, Argentina. From my limited experience, I can say that Bogotá has the most comprehensive and cyclist-friendly system.

IMG_20240425_081630_801.jpg


ESPAÑOL

Rodando en bici hacia el centro de Bogotá.

Esta fue mi segunda y última salida en bicicleta por Bogotá durante mi estadía en la ciudad. A diferencia de la vez anterior, establecí una ruta considerando el área de cobertura y las estaciones cercanas del servicio de bicicletas públicas, ya que en mi primera ocasión me había perdido y salido un poco de la ruta planificada.

IMG_20240425_081635_741.jpg

En esta oportunidad, tracé mi recorrido hacia el centro de la ciudad, una zona que ya conocía un poco y que además deseaba volver a visitar para aprovechar la mañana e ir a un museo antes de comenzar mi jornada laboral, la cual en esos días solía iniciar alrededor de las 11 a.m.

El trayecto fue bastante agradable. Al cruzar a pie la Universidad Nacional de Colombia, me encontré con una gran avenida que se puede atravesar por una pasarela diseñada también para ciclistas, lo cual facilita mucho la movilidad.

IMG_20240425_081852_298.jpg

Luego, al tomar mi bicicleta en la estación más cercana, tomé una ruta por una larga ciclovía que bordeaba una extensa caminería en una hermosa avenida arbolada de una zona residencial, con apenas una muy ligera pendiente ascendente hacia el centro.

IMG_20240425_075559_683.jpg

Pedalee durante un lapso menor a los 20 minutos por esa calle, y mi sorpresa fue aparecer de repente en pleno centro histórico, en una de sus avenidas principales, pasando en cuestión de minutos de una calle silenciosa y tranquila a una con tráfico ya muy activo.

IMG_20240425_081146_743.jpg

Confieso que esto me puso algo nervioso al principio, sin embargo, me daba seguridad aún conservar el carril de ciclovía en esta zona céntrica. También compartí el carril un par de veces con personas que usaban patinetas eléctricas, algo que apenas se empieza a ver en algunas partes de mi ciudad.

Atravesé parte del centro histórico hasta llegar a una estación muy cerca del museo que quería visitar, dejé mi bicicleta en la estación, y el viaje se finalizó en la app correctamente.

Disfruté al máximo el paseo. Me encantó la temperatura fresca de la ciudad para manejar bicicleta, además de contar con un excelente y bastante extenso sistema de ciclovías, me pareció ideal para el uso diario de la bicicleta como medio de transporte urbano.

Hasta ahora, esta es la cuarta ciudad de Latinoamérica donde he podido pasear en bicicleta, además de mi local Caracas, ya había rodado en Arequipa, Perú, y en Buenos Aires, Argentina. Puedo decir, desde mi corta experiencia, que Bogotá es la que tiene un sistema más completo y amigable para el ciclista urbano.

Sort:  

Bogota indeed looks like a cycling friendly city. More cities are improving the infrastructure for cyclist lately. That's a good thing!


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

You bet! It's awesome to see more cities stepping up their game and making things safer and smoother for cyclists. It's definitely a move in the right direction, and I'm all about it!

!discovery shots
!VSC

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @astrolabio

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @astrolabio

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 13/25



This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Visual Shots community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program