You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cycling etiquette; how to behave on a bicycle

in Cycling3 months ago

One huge issue around my town are the pedestrians walking/jogging on the bicycle lanes

Oh, they do that over here as well. I recently almost hit one myself. This dude was running towards me in the dark, in dark clothes without lights. He scared the hell out of me.

Here in The Netherlands we have high fines for using your phone while cycling or cycling without ligts; 150 and 60 euro.
But the chances younget caught are so low that people unfortunately keep doing it.

Sort:  

No lights at night is another huge issue. We have a bunch of ppl who use the bicycle as transportation without paying attention to anything really, especially safety. The other day a road cyclist hit head-on a young dude who was cycling against the traffic direction on an overpass. From what I heard it was brutal because the road guy was doing interval training up the bridge, so imagine a 80-something kilo guy going 40km/h hitting someone head-on -- quite the energy.

Terrible! And you have to add the speed of the other guy as well. That would have caused quite a collision.
I once drove into the side of a car with about 30 kilometer an hour (not my fault). That already broke my cycling shoe.

I once drove into the side of a car with about 30 kilometer an hour

Goddammit! That's exactly how I broke my tibia, except I avoided hitting the side, but ended up hitting the side of the front bumper while trying to escape. I flew over the engine hood.