You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cycling: Do you service your bicycle?

in Cycling4 months ago

You are totally right. If you make quite some cycling kilometers it can be useful to invest in some tools.
I also invested in the basics a while go. The most profitable was my cheap chain breaker which allows me to replace my chain a couple of times a year. This not only saves service costs, but I pay attention to bargains from online cycling shops so I can buy chains (or other gear) with a reduced price. I always have one or more spare chains.
The one thing I find difficult is adjusting the derailler. I have often tried to 'configure' them with the screws, but somehow I never manage to make the chain go both on the smallest and the largest gear.
Maybe your derailleur alignment tool will fix this. I have nevwr heard of that one before. I'll check it out.

I know @hectorfaria1 used to post some bicycle maintenance blogs in the past.
He surely has some great tips too.

@friendlymoose


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community

cycling.PNG

Join our Discord Channel!

Delegations are welcome
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Sort:  

but somehow I never manage to make the chain go both on the smallest and the largest gear.

That sounds like a slighly bent hanger indeed. Either that or the b screw (the one that sets the tension). It's fairly easy to bend a hanger; the other day mine bent after a fall.

I got my alignment tool from Aliexpress. Quality is amazing! To be honest, it's on pair with Park Tools.

It might be worth a try. For now I had brought it to a repair shop to fix it.
I also often buy tools at the Decathlon.
They also have good tools for a reasonable price. I don't know if that is a worldwide firm. I know it is in a lot of European countries.

Decathlon, yeah, they have some nice deals. Bikeinn as well. Have you ever tried that? In Europe there's also Chain Reaction.

I don't know BikeInn and Chain reaction.
I also sometimes buy online at Mantel.com

Those are huge chains. I only bought a pair of tires from Bikeinn. My favorite is Aliexpress though -- there's a bunch of low 1uality stuff and knoc-offs there, but the good stuff is generally superb