Crossing the alps by bike.

in Cycling10 months ago

Since a few weeks this idea of crossing the alps is growing in my thoughts. The closer I get to the peaks, the more excited I am. The higher up I get, the more I respect those mountains. I am a bit afraid too, will I manage? Is this project not a bit too ambitious?

I still haven’t quite figured out why I am suddenly so excited about crossing huge mountains by bike. But I am.

Going up in the morning. It is freezing cold. Why am I doing this?
No actually I know why I am doing this. It was an idea, weeks ago. We could cross the alps. It sounded pretty scary and difficult back then. But suddenly I am here, I am doing it.

Slope after slope is bringing me further up. I am still suffering, it’s not easy. But eventually I will reach the top. And this once so far and unreal idea to cross the biggest mountain chain I know by bike, will be a real thing.

All around us it is whistling down from the mountains. Marmottes are looking at us. Maybe wondering what this is all about. Some do not move when we slowly pass and only turn their heads while they stand on top of a big rock.

No photos taken so you will just have to believe me. I have actually never seen that many in my life. Probably one of the cutest and toughest animals I could think of.

Have you ever noticed how many different types of wildflowers you can observe in the mountains? It is never ending. While there are only pine trees and also, they get more and more rare the further up we get, the green grass turns out to have all the shades of colours you could only imagine. If only you observe them from close and at a slow speed.

Never have 3kilometres felt so endlessly long. The last three, music makes it easier and a big portion of stubbornness agains myself.

The view at the top is stunning, no questions asked. Nevertheless, I think going all the way up there at 2744m with my own two legs and no assistance or diesel just makes me appreciate the view even more. It is like all the sweat I used going up is transformed into joy or love. And it was a lot of sweat.

Byebye France and hello Italy!

What goes up comes down, or the other way around. Eventually I have enough of the wind and the sun up there. The view, I would look at it forever, live up there if it wasn’t that cold even in July.

Riding down slowly, because I can just not believe how beautiful everything is. I feel like stopping every five meters. And every ten I just want to sit down for at least halve an hour just to soak up all that intense nature around me. I keep on rolling downwards, slowly.

What a beautiful planet we live on!

Thats it, I crossed the alps by bike. Where to next?

Thank you all for stopping by, and have a good day!

All photos and words are my own, taken and written while crossing the alps.

Sort:  

Some awesome shots again!
I really like the black and white shot and the one with the reflections in the lake is very cool too.

Are you cycling by yourself or do you have a compagnon?


Upvoted by the Cycling Community
image.png


Come join the Cycling Community and share your rides, bicycle, maintenance, news or any other cycling related blogs!

You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP: 25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP -250 HP - 500 HP

Thank you!!
Yes I also like the contrast it gives, turning landscape photos into black and white, sort of highlights the shapes more I think:)
We are two yes:)

I think next is you heading home, that was a great hike and ride, i hope it cleared your mind of thoughts a bit. Is that really you riding from the back? The pic looks dope and clean

It was indeed a great ride!! And it is also really me, yes:D
Thank you!

Ohhh how did you take the shot?? Looks genuine..

Oh and thank you for thanking me🤠

We are actually two😊 so thats where the photos come from, I guess I would be too lazy to run back and forth all the time😅

Ohhh hahah😅 now i understand the magic