My introduction as a cyclist

in Cycling3 months ago (edited)

Hi, I am a 53-year old every day cyclist as I have chosen to commute by bike. My every day bike is a VanMoof Smart S from 2018, before they shifted to only manufacture electric bikes. The Vanmoof bikes are specially made for city use, with integrated anti-theft features (alarm, lock, special screws...) and ease of use features (full protection of the chain, hub gear shifting, powerful lights embedded in the frame, mudguard...) as you can see on the image below. It has been very reliable for the last 5 years.

Official photo of the Vanmoof Smart S (from VanMoof's web page)

As I enjoy riding along the channels around my home, I have recently bought a gavel bike from Origine Cycles, a local manufacturer that produces customizable bikes. You can choose every part of the bike, from the frame to the gears, pedals, wheels, handlebar, even the paint and decor. Here is a photo of my bike in its natural environment:

I am currently training to participate to the Lille-Hardelot ride at the beginning of June. I have less than 3 months left to become able to ride 160 km long / 1000 m ascent... I will keep you updated on my progress.

 

Licence Creative Commons
This text and its illustrations (all the pictures have been taken by myself except the Vanmoof one) are licensed under Licence Creative Commons Attribution - Share Alike 4.0 International.

 

Sort:  

Hello and welcome!
I know those bicycles. Van Moof is a Dutch brand. They look really cool.
I do remember they went bankrupt last year. Did you get anything from that?

And 260 kilometer with 1000 meter climb is quite a ride. Good luck with your training!


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community
cycling.PNG
Subscribe to the Cycling Community and share your cycling related posts with us.
Join our Discord Channel if you want to chat about cycling.


You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP
| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |

Indeed VanMoof went bankrupt last year. They were bought by McLaren Applied and thus the bikes (and the app!) are still supported. There is no recent news though (https://reengineering.vanmoof.com/).

Oh, good that they were taken over by McLaren. There were lots of Van Moofs sold and they do need to be maintsined somehow to keep them running.

It’s good to know you as a cyclist
I hope I get to know you better
Have a great day!

Congratulations @pboulet! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery