This is the inside of the Cathedral Nuestra Señora de la Asunción

Last month in a publication that I shared in this same community, I showed you the external part of the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption, a structure with a very interesting shape in which the Syrian-Catholic religion lives. In that opportunity I could not take pictures in the internal part since it was closed, in fact, I consulted with the security personnel if there was the possibility of letting me enter for a couple of minutes, but they denied me access, they told me that the doors are only open when there are masses or other activities, so it was impossible and I only had the opportunity to return another day.

Frankly I had never been inside this cathedral, but some friends had told me that there were very interesting and picturesque structural elements that I could use for my blog. What happens is that I don't live nearby, so going back after the first time I went was unlikely, but I knew that at some point I would have the opportunity. So one afternoon when I was sharing with some friends very close by, it occurred to me that it was the perfect time to go inside to take pictures, and well, fortunately for me the doors were open.

20240505_183246.jpg

20240505_183151.jpg

20240505_183526.jpg

20240505_183402.jpg

As you may have noticed in the three previous photos, the triangular elements are quite striking on the roof and in the stained glass window in the background. I am impressed by how well the white ceiling is perfectly painted and with what appear to be some crosses that are repeated every certain distance, from my point of view that gives it a very distinctive touch and that takes away from its simplicity. On the other hand, the stained glass window showing the image of Christ with open arms looks quite imposing, I suppose that when the sunlight hits it directly it generates a striking visual effect, even more so considering that this window is directly over the altar where masses are celebrated.

20240505_183447.jpg

20240505_183254.jpg

Now, I consider that the previous stained glass window is not the most impressive since the one above the entrance has a more complex shape. In addition to the fact that it is triangular, I notice that it is not completely flat, which I suppose increases the complexity of the construction, besides, it is much more colorful, so the play of light that it generates must be spectacular. Unfortunately for me, I took these at dusk, so I could not capture the effect that the sunlight produces in the stained glass when it is at its maximum splendor. There are also rectangular stained glass windows on the sides of the structure, but these are smaller and simpler.

I want to highlight briefly the columns that are in the internal part, these seem to be of marble, but of a quite particular and distinguished color. The surface is embossed and at the top they have a golden ribbon that bring elegance and showiness, I must say that I have rarely seen columns of that style.

20240505_183459.jpg

20240505_183515.jpg

Diseño sin título (1) (1).png

I know that the following photos may not be of architectural interest, but it seemed unfair to exclude them considering that my intention is also to show you every corner of the sites I visit and share with you. As you can see, these are elements that we usually see in most religious temples, there is not much to highlight these.

20240505_183312.jpg

20240505_183325.jpg

20240505_183422.jpg

20240505_183425.jpg

20240505_183551.jpg

20240505_183557.jpg

20240505_183532.jpg

20240505_183333.jpg

So with this post I finish sharing with you all the spaces of the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Assumption, a place that inspires a certain peace and transmits an air of grandeur through its impressive stained glass windows. I would have liked to show you everything in one post, but as I told you, it was impossible. I hope you liked it, see you soon.

Diseño sin título (1) (1).png

Tools used and credits:

Gracias por su visita (7) (2).gif

Sort:  

What a beautiful and colorful cathedral, and I really liked the stained glass windows. A beautiful place.

Cheers!

Yes, the truth is very nice and you feel a lot of peace, thanks for stopping by!

Lovely place, and always stained glass windows in churches like this one are magnificent!!!

Yes, the truth is that the stained glass windows are always what attracts the most attention! thank you very much for your support!

This cathedral is beautiful. It has a fabulous modern touch

Yes it is more modern than the traditional ones! thank you very much for stopping by!

A very striking place. I loved the stained glass windows and the shape of the ceiling... thanks for sharing this review.

!PIZZA 🍕

Yes, the stained glass was the protagonist! Thank you for your kind support!

Wow! the interior design is beautiful, I love the stained glass windows and ceiling decorations. 🌺🌸🌻

Cheers!

Yes, the window is the most beautiful thing! thank you for your kind support!

 last month  

Congratulations dear @dinaaczib! We are delighted to inform you that your outstanding publication was specially selected as an exclusive feature for our Curated Content Catalog and was awarded RUNNER UP in Architecture Anthology™ 73. More power!

AA CURATION BANNER - RUNNER UP.jpg

Thank you for subscribing to Architecture+Design, an OCD incubated community on the Hive Blockchain.

Thank you very much dear ones! it is always a blessing to read you! thank you for so much!😇

 28 days ago  

Always a huge pleasure to experience your amazing A+D content dear @dinaaczib. Keep sharing them! 😀

Such a beautiful cathedral. The stained glass windows seemed to take my breath away. I bet the windows portray the best version on sunny days. I can imagine the peace that’s going to be there, so serene yet so peaceful. Thank you for posting ✨

Yes it's true with the strong sun those stained glass windows are amazing! thank you very much for your nice comment!😇

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you very much!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@chacald.dcymt(2/5) tipped @dinaaczib