Books and Life competitivo - Empowering me with knowledge [Esp-Eng]

in Hive Book Club6 months ago (edited)

English version

6578ebc866c0f557847dbeb2.jpeg

Greetings dear friends, I am happy to share with you my participation in an incredible initiative in which I am happy to participate, proposed by @creativemary. In this publication I share with you one of the books that marked a before and after in my life, I hope you like it.

There are many books that not only I have liked, but also have taught me things and each of them I treasure in my heart as something valuable. However, there is one specific one that taught me something important at the very moment I needed it.

In order for you to understand, I will tell you a little about myself, I am the youngest of 4 siblings, all of them with different personalities. At home we always had parties and visited friends all the time. In fact my family was very happy being surrounded by people, friends and acquaintances, being mostly quite extroverted.

IMG_20231212_194149.jpg

As a child I couldn't do anything about it but adapt to it, but as I got older I realized that I was a little different, in my world full of extroverts, I grew up an introvert. I really enjoyed playing alone, watching movies and reading books and as a teenager my personality came out a lot more.

However, the world and also my acquaintances used to bombard me with comments that "I was boring" or "I should be more sociable". So, I grew up with the idea that there was something wrong with me or that I needed to change in order to not only fit in, but to feel good.

So I spent a long time hurting myself, thinking that by being quiet or preferring to connect with one person, rather than being listened to by hundreds, I was not worthy of being chosen by anyone, because I was boring, quiet and so on and so forth. It was a long road, and it wasn't until I was 18 years old when I read this book that I understood it, at my darkest and deepest point when I thought that being me was terrible.

Screenshot_20231212_175110.jpg

I came across "The Power of Introverts in a World Unable to Shut Up", the title alone has so much power and meaning for me, and just by looking at it I knew I would learn something different about myself. The book is written by Susan Cain and although I have not read anything else by her, she is an amazing writer with depth in her words.

The book is about the differences between an extrovert and an introvert, and how each of these personalities have their strengths. In fact it also talks about several studies and researches that have been done on the subject and makes it clear how being an introvert, not only has nothing wrong with it, but it also makes me a special being.

As I read it, I realized that it doesn't matter if the world has the idea that extroverted is synonymous with fun or even mentally healthy. As long as introverts is synonymous with weird or even emotionally unstable. It matters that I know what my strengths are and focus on them, because being the way I am doesn't stop me from fulfilling my dreams, or having strong and lasting relationships.

A sentence from the book that really stuck with me is:

"Introverts have been given the keys that give access to inner orchards, full of wonders. Possessing it is like stumbling like Alice down the rabbit hole: she didn't choose to go to wonderland, but she knew how to make it a new, fantastic adventure with a personality of its own."

These words made it clear to me that being an introvert was not a curse, it was something I could make the best of and that along the way, I would find people who could understand. My brain expanded at that idea and could never go back to its original size, which is good, because I keep getting the same kind of comments about how I should talk more or come out of my shell.

Those comments now have only one response and that is, "no thanks, thinking makes me more comfortable". Reading often leads you to think and know things about yourself that were crying out to be heard. I invite you to read this great book that is full of learning, thank you very much for reading it. See you soon friends, we will read each other next time.

Versión en español

6578ebc866c0f557847dbeb2.jpeg

Saludos queridos amigos, me alegra poder compartir con ustedes mi participación en una iniciativa increíble en la que me alegra poder participar, propuesta por @creativemary. En esta publicación les comparto uno de los libros que marcó un antes u un después en mi vida, espero sea de su agrado.

Hay muchísimos libros que no solo me han gustado, sino que también me han enseñado cosas y cada uno de ellos los atesoro en mi corazón como algo valioso. Sin embargo, hay uno específico que en llegó a enseñarme algo importante en el momento que justo lo necesitaba.

Para que lo entiendan, les contaré un poco de mí, soy la menor de 4 hermanos, todos ellos con distintas personalidades. En casa siempre se hacían fiestas y visitaban amigos muy constantemente. De hecho mi familia era muy feliz estando rodeada de gente, amigos y conocidos, siendo en su mayoría bastante extrovertidos.

IMG_20231212_194149.jpg

De niña no podía hacer nada al respecto más que adaptarme a ello, pero a medida que fue creciendo me di cuenta que era un poco diferente, en mi mundo lleno de extrovertidos, crecí yo siendo introvertida. Disfrutaba mucho de jugar a solas, ver películas y leer libros y en mi adolescencia salió mucho más a relucir mi personalidad.

Sin embargo, el mundo y también mis conocidos solían bombardearme con comentarios de que "era aburrida" o que "debía ser más sociable". Así que, fui creciendo con la idea de que había algo malo conmigo o que debía cambiar para no solo encajar, sino para sentirme bien.

Así que pasé mucho tiempo lastimandome a mi misma, pensando que por ser callada o preferir conectar con una persona, a ser escuchada por cientos, yo no era digna de ser elegida por nadie, por aburrida, por callada y otro sin fin de cosas. El camino se hizo largo, y no fue sino cuando tenía 18 años que leí este libro que lo entendí, en mi punto más oscuro y profundo en el que pensaba que ser yo era terrible.

Screenshot_20231212_175110.jpg

Conocí "El poder de los introvertidos en un mundo incapaz de callarse", el título por si solo tiene muchísimo poder y significado para mí, y solo con verlo supe que en el aprendería algo diferente sobre mi. El libro es escrito por Susan Cain y aunque no he leído nada más de ella, es una escritora increíble y con profundidad en sus palabras.

El libro trata sobre las diferencias que hay entre una persona extrovertida y una introvertida, y como cada una de estas personalidades tienen sus puntos fuertes. De hecho también habla de varios estudios e investigaciones que se han hecho sobre el tema y deja claro como ser introvertido, no solo tiene nada de malo, sino que me hace también un ser especial.

Al leerlo, comprendí que no importa si el mundo tiene la idea de que extrovertido sea sinónimo de divertido o hasta mentalmente saludable. Mientra que introvertido es sinónimo de raro y hasta de inestable emocionalmente. Importa que yo sepa cuales son mis puntos fuertes y me centre en ellos, pues ser como soy no me impide cumplir mis sueños, ni tener relaciones fuertes y duraderas.

Una frase del libro que realmente me marcó es:

"Los introvertidos han recibido las llaves que da acceso a vergeles interiores, llenos de maravillas. Poseerla es como tropezar como Alicia dentro de la madriguera del conejo: ella no eligió ir al país de las maravillas, pero supo hacer de ella una aventura nueva, fantástica y con personalidad propia"

Estas palabras me dejaron claro que ser introvertido no era una maldición, era algo que podía aprovechar del mejor modo posible y que por el camino, hallaria personas que podrían comprenderlo. Mi cerebro se expandió ante esa idea y ya nunca pudo volver a su tamaña original, lo cual es positivo, porque sigo recibiendo la misma clase de comentarios sobre que debo hablar más o salir de mi caparazón.

Esos comentarios ahora tienen una única respuestas y es, "no gracias, pensando me siento más cómoda". Leer muchas veces te lleva a pensar y conocer cosas de ti, que estaban llamando a gritos ser escuchadas. Les invito a leer este gran libro que está lleno de aprendizaje, muchísimas gracias por leerme. Hasta pronto amigos, nos leeremos la próxima ocasión.

1173466073.gif

-Content entirely of my authorship and inspiration.
-Original text in Spanish, translated at DeepL.
-Personal photographs, taken with my Huawei p30 Lite phone.
-Banners made with Vistacreate.
-Book cover captured from the pdf version of the book.

-Contenido completamente de mi autoria e inspiración.
-Texto original en español, traducido en DeepL.
-Fotografías personales, tomadas con mi teléfono Huawei p30 Lite.
-Banners hechos con Vistacreate.
-Portada de libro capturada desde la versión en pdf

Encabezado de correo electrónico 600x200 px (2).gif

Sort:  

Es un exelente libro ya lo leí y me aportó muchísimos conosimientos nuevos. Soy alguien introvertida y hubieron muchos aspectos con los que me identifique

Que bueno que lo leíste, a mi también me enseñó muchísimo y hasta ahora guardo dentro lo que me enseñó, un libro que todo introvertido debe leer. Gracias por pasar y dejarme un comentario.

Hey! What a beautiful book you have picked! The quote is really nice! I like how you wrote about this book and the ways it helped you understand that your personality is OK, that there is nothing wrong with being quiet and more socially withdrawn when you feel like it. Yes the boon showed millions of introverts that there is nothing wrong with them. Thank you for your post and entry to the contest🤗

Thank you, @marycreative, for your kind comment! I'm glad you liked the quote I chose. It's one of my favorites from the book. This book has taught me a lot and I was happy to be able to share it, I send you a big hug.

Hola amiga, interesante este libro, creo que podría sentirme identificada, tiene muchos aspectos parecidos a mí, lo buscaré para leerlo, espero retomar la lectura, hace mucho que no lo hago, y ando en búsqueda para empezar, gracias por compartirlo, saludos.

Si, es un libro que te recomiendo leer, vale la pena retomarla la lectura con el, principalmente pode te hará sentir bien con la personalidad que tienes, gracias a tu, por pasar 😘.