If I Never Met You : A Book Review

in Hive Book Club2 years ago (edited)

I'm a sucker for great love stories. Younger me read many of them before discovering my love for crime fiction. I added a few romance novels to my library some months ago and today I'll be sharing a review of the most recent one I read.
Enjoy!!😊


Made in Canva

Book details;
  • Title: If I Never Met you.
  • Author: Mhari McFarlane.
  • Release date: 6 January, 2020.
  • Genre: Romance.

First impression

I judged this book by its cover. There isn't much going on there but the simplicity and everything are aesthetically pleasing. The title doesn't reveal too much but I think it's very fitting. The cover and the title made me curious about what would go down in the story and I couldn't wait to find out.


Summary

The book is about a jilted lover. In an attempt to save face and appear strong in an embarrassingly uncomfortable situation, she finds herself doing something she least expected with someone she'd never considered would be in the picture. She was falling in love all over again and she was falling in love with Him.


My Thoughts on the Book

The characters make the story and the ones here were pretty interesting which made the story enjoyable. They were developed well, their backstories made sense so you'd see why each of them is the way they are. The protagonist is the lady whose perspective of the story was narrated and the antagonist is her ex-lover who bailed on her.

The plot is very creative. The story behind their relationship; how they met, why they stayed together and why one of them eventually left, is something I enjoyed reading about. If you read romance novels you can agree with me that most of them have similar storylines. The writer took those similarities and harnessed them into something unique.

Unfortunately, besides the back story, I talked about in the last paragraph, the rest of the plot is pretty clichè. In romance though, a little clichè is expected so it wasn't bad at all. Once you get over the initial high while reading it you can guess how the story will go, you may come across a few bumps in your predictions but it pretty much ends the way you expect.

The chemistry between her and her later lover was beautiful. They had the right amount of sexual tension and cute awkward moments that seemed natural and not unrealistic. I could see those scenes happening in real life so it was very believable. The new beau had a lot of characters and features that would make any boy-loving girl swoon and I did...a little lol.

This part of the book came as no surprise as the writer being female probably wanted to make him seem like the type of man any girl would want and she succeeded in doing just that.


Review Summary

The book has an interesting storyline that will keep you happily engaged till the end. It has a good ending so you don't have to worry about unnecessary cliffhangers and equally frustrating stuff.

If you are looking for a good, modern-day set, exciting romance story to read then this is for you.

I rate this book an 8/10.


I'd like to know your thoughts if you've read this book and if you haven't, does it sound like something you'd consider reading? Please let me know 🙃

The photo of the bookcover used is a screenshot taken from my library.

Thank you!❤️

Sort:  

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

I've seen a couple of Mcfarlane books not this one tho. I do understand while people enjoy love stories and romantic books. And no I'm not suggestive of any stereotypes 😅

I actually enjoyed reading this. Seemed like the kind of story you'd watch in and wonder, what if? Like you said, there's always that bit of cliche in them, still they do have their moments.

I also think there's this weird gender gaming going on in every readers head when they read this typa story 🤣. Enough said.

Great review.
Thank you for sharing with us 😌.

!discovery 40

It's cool that you've come across her work before🙂.
I think most people, including those in denial, have even the tiniest tiny bit of liking for love and romance.

I'm glad you enjoyed reading my post and yea, they have their moments.

Yesss, there definitely is😂😂. It's just default I guess. You can't not think of these stuff when you read books like this.

Sharing was a pleasure...I think I'll do more book reviews😁.

I appreciate your boosting my post, I am grateful ❣️

Sharing was a pleasure...I think I'll do more book reviews

Please do 😌

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @stevenson7.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @kamarah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!

😊🤗

I'm not a romance reader, but this story looks interesting, it seems that even though I had ended a relationship and had a new one, I was still in contact with his ex, or that's the impression I get, that kind of relationships damage the new ones, if it's the case, you can't keep flirting with the past, it ruins the present.

She was in contact with her ex but not in the way you'd think. Their life setting made it impossible to be totally free of each other but I totally agree with you. Flirting with the past does ruin the present.
Thanks @actioncats for your thoughtful comment. 🥰

it is sometimes impossible to completely detach oneself from one's ex-partner, especially if one shares spaces such as work.

Touché... the main characters here shared work spaces that's why their remaining in each other's lives was inevitable.

I don't read novels these days but this sounds interesting even though you said the plot is a bit cliche :)

It really is interesting. Clichès aren't always bad, this one isn't😊

That's right, sometimes it makes us reconnect with our own "forgotten" feelings, lol!

😂😂 exactly!!
Thank you @ifarmgirl ❤️

You are very welcome, cheers to you :)

🥂🥂😊

With your review, I expected the book to have a higher rating but then you know better. I am a sucker for romance novel and this seems like the kind of book I want to spend my evening with. I do hope I find an e-copy of it. Thanks for sharing

Lol it is what it is. It got a not so high rating because I've read a lot of similar books and besides the one thing I mentioned in the post it didn't stand out that much.
It is definitely a chill in the evening kinda book. Yes you can, I read an e-copy not a paperback. I'm excited for you to read it.
Tell me what you think of it when you are done? Please?🥺

I already saw your comment on changing the rating before seeing this. I guess you have a think over and decided it was worth more and that I agree with. Yes when I read it, I'd let you know what I think of it. Thanks once again for sharing

Thank you😊😊
❣️❣️

Always welcome ♥️

Hey Zyzy🙃, I edited the rating to an 8. I think it alligns better with the post and the book does deserve an 8 despite what I previously said.

Now you've done well. An 8 surely aligns with the post. ♥️♥️

Yeaa, it does❣️

What a cracking review Kamara!
I know you love books and I know you are a fantastic writer, so I expect more great book reviews from you.
Is a 6/10 should read or how does your scale work?


Hi there Kamara it is Week 1 Day 4 of the ecency dreemport challenge!
This is one half of The Charming Rascals checking in with with you! How are you still enjoying it?
Are you ready for tomorrow? Did you click on the 🔑 in this post You're in the right place! Nice job from dreemport? IF so bring a bottle and see you on Friday, If not then click it now, any questions let me or Dreemsteem know. Have fun and see you tomorrow PS Bring a bottle!

Thanks Ed, you flatter me every single time. Your charms really work you know?😊
A 6 is a should read in my scale. Zyzy said something about it too so I may just go edit the 6 to an 8 so I won't give my future readers the wrong impression.


I clicked the key already thanks. I hope I make it in time tomorrow, if I do I'll definitely bring a bottle. I'm really enjoying this first challenge week, my partner seems to be AWOL though so there goes my dreem tokens😪

Well I do now Kamara and to be honest I like that they do😁

Oh zyzy did, did she! Yeah a 6 was mmm so so in my book, but a should read would be a 7 or an 8.

Good yes it is 5pm our time, always such an inconvenient time for me, but we shall do our best! Who was your partner?

Of course you like that they do😂
Yeaa, She did and it has been edited😊
We will do our best! Iska's my partner

aww glad you edited it!
Iska has two accounts now, one for LeoFinance and one of everything else. Right enough I have not seen around apart from the one in Leo...

Yeaa, me neither.
I just hope everything is alright with her.

I did see a LeoFinance post from her today, I am only getting on Hive now, was an offline day:)

This should be an amazing read, just like you, a younger me would have jumped in excitement at a chance to read this, but I’ve discovered I’m more of a mystery/ trailer kind of person (I’m not a preacher of love …lol😂) .Regardless, I’m in the mood to be excited by a romantic tale, I’d most definitely start with this one.

Thanks for sharing !