Sweet Spicy Tempeh Mushrooms With Plant-Based Butter

Sweet and spicy taste to serve tempeh and mushrooms at the next level. Adding plant-based butter also creates a delicious savory taste.

226375FB-614F-4034-9D36-9EE87F6D0ECA.jpeg


I often see on other social media that many people complain about the disgusting taste of tempeh. I can't say that they are wrong. In my opinion, the taste of tempeh is also influenced by the type of soy beans and how it is made.

Traditional things have an important role in the process of making tempeh. So, tempeh other than Indonesia may have an unpleasant taste. Plus, there are many local spices that must be paired with tempeh to produce the best taste of tempeh.

A66C75ED-4012-431F-8D66-4B35C9634C47.jpeg

In Indonesia, the best seasoning for tempeh always comes from sweet soy sauce. Again, the type of soybean plays an important role in making delicious sweet soy sauce. The best one of sweet soy sauce taste will have umami taste (a balanced combination of sweet and savory).

So, it will be very tricky if you cook tempeh or tofu as well. As a suggestion, you can buy tempeh and seasoning as well at a shop specializing in Asian products. That would be better. :)

I will also add plant-based butter (margarine) to add a more savory taste. This is the first time I added margarine to a tempeh recipe and it turned out well. :)


Also, in tempeh recipes spicy flavors are more often used. In this recipe, I use chili powder. Don't worry, you can skip this chili powder and replace it with half a teaspoon of ground pepper.

734C268C-AAD5-4D2A-A38A-695571AE97E2.jpeg

I just bought chili powder for less $1 which turns out to be super crazy spicy. Just one teaspoon makes me feel too spicy :D well, this is good news because it can save money. As I write this blog, 1 kg of red chili has reached $6. when it's cheap, the price of chilies per kg is only half that. This is because growing chilies is never easy. There are many pests that attack chili plants. So, it requires a lot of maintenance which is expensive.

D7FBC38E-64CD-4577-AB32-371A08B493A3.jpeg

Well, I hope you like your recipe this time which might add new knowledge about tempeh and the perfect seasoning for tempeh :). stay tuned.




The Ingredients

657ECD96-BD6A-4249-B69F-32F05814A2E2.jpeg

  • 200 grams of tofu, cut into small cubes
  • 150 grams of mushrooms
  • 100 grams of green veggies, pak choy, or broccoli

Seasoning

6781B961-B865-4EB6-8CC4-C20DEB3D8CCA.jpeg

  • 2 tablespoons of vegan butter (margarine)
  • 5 small cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 5 small cloves of red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons of sweet soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
  • a thumb-size of ginger, flattened
  • 2 dried bay leaves
  • (optional) 1 teaspoon red chili powder



Cooking Instructions

STEP 1

F3C9A6D0-9AF5-47D0-BD7F-6D61106A728D.jpeg

C8D9AC42-AC9A-44D6-BC63-DE6F39E10298.jpeg

Prepare the green vegetables that will be used. Here, I'm just going to steam veggies. So, first, here I remove the bottom part of the bok choy, and then I open the stems one by one which look dirty.

C3100D0A-2C85-40F4-9426-E013AA99D18A.jpeg

Then, wash with running water. Then, arrange them in a steamer.



STEP 2

633F39BC-B0B3-471F-B1E4-ABFA58E3A4B3.jpeg

Steam the vegetables for 5-10 minutes until the vegetables are cooked. Depends on the type of vegetables used. Pakcoy only takes 5 minutes, while broccoli takes 10 minutes.



STEP 3

BA657A70-3BDE-4EF9-BC0F-EA04100B6CBB.jpeg

While the green veggies are being steamed, we cook the tempeh. Prepare tempeh and mushrooms. Cut the tempeh into small squares.

32BB7E59-C008-4628-AFDF-9F50271094F1.jpeg

For mushrooms, here I only remove the bottom root part of the mushrooms. I don't cut them anymore into small pieces, because they are already "easy to bite" in size.



STEP 4

9E1BB84D-6E81-4E1F-8734-85E8AF4009F0.jpeg

Heat the cooking pan. Then, add margarine. Followed by adding chopped garlic, red onion, flattened ginger, and dried bay leaves. Stir-fry them in low heat until they are caramelized, about 2 minutes.



STEP 5

17F27FE3-053B-445D-A624-CEB9107C8991.jpeg

Add sweet soy sauce, chili powder, pepper powder, also salt. Mix and stir well for 1 minute.



STEP 6

F3AC31FE-9D06-4945-A33E-D504E4A85FB4.jpeg

Add tempeh and mushrooms. Stir well. Don't add water because the mushrooms will release themselves when cooked. Cook with a lid on the pan over medium low heat for about 5 minutes. Then, remove and serve with steamed green veggies and rice.

5E5D450F-DD49-4096-B5D8-B2AF65AD937C.jpeg




Serving Ways

35B72A92-7884-4EE8-83FC-F86B57A871A0.jpeg

Serve these tempeh and mushrooms side dishes with steamed green vegetables and also rice. I rolled steamed pak choy for plating.

6C8179D9-22E5-4F7F-95D6-3D9A09CCBC34.jpeg

Honestly, this is the next level of cooking tempeh. It feels really spicy! With the sweet taste of sweet soy sauce, it is the perfect flavor pairing for tempeh.

AE04B1DA-63D8-4D8E-86B3-7A0824BFAF82.jpeg

My husband and I laughed together, full of gratitude. Because we are grateful that we can eat spicy food even though the price of chilies is rising drastically! So, until next on my kitchen stories. :)

9E873FBB-6976-4561-9E85-AE60EEC8A927.jpeg




Thank you for reading my blog and reblog if you want my blog this time worthy of reading by others.

60E8D280-3435-4D59-992B-00761553321B.jpeg

BC3D9B17-47F9-4C74-889A-29034D70BD11.jpeg




Best Regards,
Anggrek Lestari


B5983B2C-4913-4AE8-8864-368654B44008.jpeg

Who is Anggrek Lestari?

Anggrek Lestari is an Indonesian fiction writer who has published two major books. Now She is a full-time content creator. She has a goal to share life, poem, and food content that makes others happy and can get inspiration.


Contact Person: [email protected]
Discord: anggreklestari#3009


Sort:  

Packaged dried fine chilies are incredibly spicy, I once tried cooking with them for curry, ended up with my stomach ache, hehe.

Using dried chili powder must be in the right combination. I'm sure your spicy dish will be very suitable, especially when combined with rice, I think I have to add rice several times.

Thank you for recipe @anggreklestari !.

yes, the chili powder really help in now condition, so expensive price for chili 😊

Your cooking knowledge is truly admirable, you know all the secrets to obtaining a delicious meal.
I loved this recipe and the ingredients you used, plus the dish looks really delicious.
Thank you very much dear friend @anggreklestari for sharing these secrets to make meals more exquisite
Have a great day

we have to know what the ingredients we want to cook to create the good results 😊

This combination looks delicious, your photos whet the appetite, I haven't eaten some good mushrooms in a while, you encouraged me to go shopping at the supermarket hahaha.

go, go, shopping mushrooms. Buttom mushrooms are also my favorite 😊

Here they are expensive, but I can buy a small portion just for myself hahaha.😁😊😋

Yes just bought small. Because they can not last long

I want big ones hahaha, but I'm not out shopping yet. 😊

It looks so tempting😋
I will try to make this, but we only have button and oyster mushrooms here. Will this dish taste the same if made with it?

yes, without tempeh it is okay. the taste will same as long as you use sweet soy sauce, not savory soy sauce

Ok so the secret of its taste is the Sweet Soy Sauce 😅 #JustJoking!

Thanks for the suggestion. I will definitely try this soon😋

This dish of spicy, buttery tempeh and mushrooms with a good white wine would be phenomenal. ;)

Yes, adding wine would be great. I've seen many people use wine.

But anyway, since I am Moslem, so I can not use wine on cooking, or drinking wine 😊

Sure, I imagined it. But I was watching myself as I tasted your dish. And that's why I thought of wine for me.
You present your dishes in such a special way that every time I look at them, I can almost taste them.

😍

❤️❤️❤️
If I fly aboard to your city, I would to be a chef for you 🍜

Wow 😅 Who knows if one day that will be possible. Thank you!

Yeah who knows. 😊❤️

Delicious and spicy. Rice needs spiced up sauce to go very well in our taste bud. I love spicy food too. Thanks for sharing.

We need to control ourselves to not eat rice to much, because the yummy sauce Will makes us under control sometimes 😅

Yes. Especially with a good sauce like this . Have a nice week beautiful 😻

Such things are very good for our health and the kind of details you give us all benefit a lot.

thnk you 😊

Most welcome dear.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Siempre tan brillante en tus platillos amiga, me encantó este platillo, la combinación de condimentos, colores y texturas de ven realmente increíbles. Gracias por siempre compartir tus maravillosas recetas amiga, saludos y un abrazo. ❣️

This plate looks pretty nice and tasty.

Más que la receta las fotos están maravillosas

I never tried this type of recipe...and while I read it is spicy and sweet in the taste I wanna try it 😀

So good you could bring spicy chili to your food without more expenses, sis! Good that you enjoyed it too, it looked tasty :9