Plant based stuffed pies - Mid East inspired "'Fatayer"

DSC_2852.jpg

I love all foods from everywhere, and usually make my rounds. Spicy curry one day, European the next, Mexican, the next etc. This week I'm feeling like middle eastern.

These hand pies I've made are usually stuffed with spinach, cheese, and/or meat. I have decided to mix spinach with vegan mince. Usually I just use spinach. I don't use soy mince very often, but I have quite a bit sitting in my cupboard. I sometimes make plant based minced from lentils and walnuts, or ground tofu or tempeh. This was convenient for me at this time.

I think almost every culture has their own version of a stuffed dough. There are samosas, Jamaican patties, empanadas, panzerotti, arepas, and the list goes on.

Every time I make something like this, Marc will call it a pakora no matter what it is. I have to tell him, "it's not a pakora, it's a fatayer". It doesn't matter what it is. If I make dumplings he calls it a pakora. I don't think I've ever made a pakora. He loves to make me crazy like that.

Untitled-1.jpg

Filling
200g cooked spinach
280g soy mince uncooked
150g onion
20 almond flour
Juice of lemon
300g vegan yoghurt
1 cup vegetable broth or water
Salt to taste
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon sumac
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon paprika
25g fresh herbs (parsley and dill)

DSC_2729.jpg

The spinach that I got was fresh and in a huge bag. I thought it would make quite a bit. It didn't dawn on me that it would shrink quite a bit. I just blanched it for a minute or so in boiling water. It was drained and the moisture squeezed out.

DSC_2747.jpg

The spinach was chopped along with fresh herbs. The onion was browned in a pan with oil. The soy mince was added along with the yoghurt, and broth. It was simmered with the seasonings until evaporated.

Untitled-4.jpg

I added everything together. I also added lemon juice as an after thought.

DSC_2807.jpg

Dough
430g flour
1 1/4 cup warm water
2 1/2 teaspoons yeast
2 teaspoons sugar
2 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup olive oil

Whenever I work with dough, I get a bit of stress relief from kneading and the steps that it takes. Lately life is a little strange and unpredictable. Cooking helps with this. I would say that eating helps as well, but I have to be careful. I've gained a few pounds through the winter and being more idle. I look at the scale and say "no".

Untitled-2.jpg

Put the water, sugar and yeast together and mix. Set aside for 15 minutes or until it's bubbly. Add it to the flour and oil. Knead for 7 to 10 minutes or until it's smooth. Put in an oiled bowl, cover and put in a warm place. I just put a bowl of hot water in the oven to keep it warm. I put the dough beside it.

Untitled-3.jpg

Divide the dough into around 15 to 20 equal balls. It depends on how big you want them. I made smaller ones which made around 20 circles. I put a tablespoon of filling in each one. Put two sides together then bring up the third side.

DSC_2828.jpg

Since this is plant based, I brushed them with flax egg. I made the flax gel by soaking flax seeds in two times the water that was boiled.

DSC_2832.jpg

I decided to sprinkle with poppy seeds because I have them and want to use them up.

They were baked at 350F for around 15 minutes, turning the tray around in the middle of baking. I checked to make sure they were golden before taking them out.

DSC_2865.jpg

DSC_2874.jpg

I made a yogurt sauce with 1 1/2 cups vegan yogurt, 2 tablespoons vegan mayo, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, thyme. It had enough taste that it didn't really need the sauce.

DSC_2882.jpg

This could also be good with a tomato based sauce or tahini garlic sauce.

DSC_2857.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 by me except the ones of me taken by my other half

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1646743197589323776 twitter metadata:MzYxNDg1NjAxMnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8zNjE0ODU2MDEyL3N0YXR1cy8xNjQ2NzQzMTk3NTg5MzIzNzc2fA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlufer, @sudeon, @muneeb487 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you very much!

Hello dear friend @carolynstahl good day
I admire your creativity and the knowledge you have of different cooking styles.
This looks really delicious and invites you to take a bite.
I appreciate you sharing this recipe and how to make it
have a nice day

Thank you my friend. I appreciate your kind comment and support. Hope you are enjoying the day.

Hi @carolynstahl

A wonderful post, worthy of The Best Vegan Lion!

I appreciate that. Thank you very much!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Has anyone ever told you you should be in the restaurant business?

I have mostly worked as a kitchen slave and now I can't find a job even as a dishwasher. I hate restaurant work and it's all I can do. We are almost out of money and we have to move if we don't find work. I can't even work at Walmart because you have to speak French. I couldn't open up a restaurant with 0 money and neither one of us even has identification. It's a real shit show but the world seems to be ending anyway haha. If things get really bad the Canadian government is more then happy to suicide anyone with same day service. It may sound like a joke but sadly it's true. I am kidding though I would never take their offer. They can stick it.

I'll take your comment as a compliment and some encouragement to face another day.😌

I'm still laughing! You don't know how many "pakora episodes" I get at family gatherings. One of my brothers is a wise learner and always asks first, while frowning: "what is this?" 😁😂 It's very offensive, but it's family 🤣 Here in my hometown, Marc's pakora would all be "pastelitos" (hand pies). Zero culinary complications or cultural clashes! As always, loved your recipe. Doughs are a weight hazard; I know from my own experience; I'm trying to lose weight without stressing out, eating better and exercising. All without obsessions--and without quitting dessert.

I also believe that cooking is therapeutic, not just the dough working part. I believe that cooking for yourself--not for customers--allows you to exercise many freedoms: choice of ingredients, improvisation, playfulness, the possibility of passing on something or deciding not to do it anymore, etc... This compensates for this life full of uncertainty and regulations. I think it's so therapeutic for us who love cooking.

Big hug, my friend. Sure you enjoyed those delicious fatayers a lot 💚

Haha I love that you have the pastelitos equivalent. I need more therapy right now but I also need something easy and relaxing from time to time. You can't have everything haha.

There is much to discover in cuisine now that I have Hive friends from around the world. I'm constantly being educated on unique ideas. You seem to be worldly and know about many things. I love that. Thank you for your kind support and encouragement. I hope we can dine together someday.

Hugs and good wishes.😊

At least you guys already have good weather. I need a year of no work and room service! In the meantime I'll dream about it. I don't know much about many things, but I do love learning from everyone I meet. Here at Hive there are very interesting people; among them, you, my dear friend.

Thank you for your nice words. It'd be great to dine together someday, but please, let's invite the squirrels. Best wishes!

I love all recipes that are toasted or crunchy, your dish made my imagination fly and travel there haha The filling looks VERY tasty and succulent!
Thank you so much for this great recipe, hugs and blessings!

I always appreciate your kind comments my friend. I thank you a million!❤️

A wonderful creation dish for a light morning but full of healthy nutrients. Thanks for your sharing

Thank you for your comment!!!!

Wow superb mam ❤️❤️

Thank you very much!!!!

oh i want this @carolynstahl.
They look tempting!

I'll trade you for your food please.😊 Thank you so much.

This sounds interesting @carolynstahl:)

You probably have your equivalent over there but different haha. Thank you.😊

https://leofinance.io/threads/@thetimetravelerz/re-leothreads-2gq2ub4zr
https://leofinance.io/threads/@crypptogalz/re-leothreads-27vfq5sz5
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( thetimetravelerz, crypptogalz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Hi, This is the very delicious pie you made. I like your way of making these pies nice and cute. You are the best creative chef/cook I had seen. thank you for sharing. Have a nice weekend 💓😊

You give me too much credit. I would love to cook like you and get lessons from you. Thank you for your kind support my friend.😊❤️

Super chef ❤@carolynstahl

Thank you for your kind comment. I think the same about you.😊

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you for your support!

The food is very delicious and also looks very good if it is close to my residence of course I really want to try it.