Collecting the collection- Tea Cups, saucers and cake plate sets

So My mum was, diplomatically speaking, a collector- of EVERYTHING.

AKA she was a hoarder, for many years, decades in fact before she died.

And now that she has gone, my brother and I have inherited it all- Me that is....

Many valuable things- to the right people, but also many 'trinkets'.

So over the years I have been methodically cleaning, cataloguing, photographing her 'collections' ready for the time when I can sell them. And that time is now, since dad just passed a couple of months ago. https://peakd.com/hive-156687/@chocolatescorpi/the-passing-of-a-local-legend-my-wonderful-warm-caring-compassion-and-hilarious-dad

And there is a lot of effort in this. Not only does the item need to be cleaned and photographed, but also meticulously researched to find out all of the correct details because you don't want to be falsely advertising anything and you also need to determine the most accurate dollar value because you don't want to be ripping people off and certainly not yourself either.

So even though Mum was the original collector of these items, I am now collecting her collection and do intend to try to sell it all, but unfortunately that won't happen to fast and so it's now starting to pile up in their plastic storage containers in my little apt, which is now starting to look a bit like her home, though a lot more organised than hers was.

And for this post, although I don't ever remember mum drinking tea, this is one of her collections and I think that many of them where handed down to her from the Grandma's and many of them were given to her as wedding presents back in 1960, so if you're into tea, and pretty things, especially very delicate,artistic, handpainted pretty, vintage things, then this ones for you, so I invite you to step into her collection of authentic vintage Tea cup, saucer and cake plates sets, including a few stunningly gorgeous High Tea cake platters.

IMG_2049.jpg

IMG_8829.JPG

IMG_2057.jpg

IMG_2101.jpg

IMG_2085.jpg

IMG_2093.jpg

IMG_2066.JPG

IMG_2114.jpg

IMG_2119.jpg

IMG_2127.jpg

IMG_2134.jpg

IMG_2139.jpg

IMG_2162.jpg

IMG_2163.jpg

IMG_2171.jpg

IMG_2181.jpg

IMG_2192.jpg

IMG_2198.jpg

IMG_2101.jpg

IMG_2206.jpg

IMG_2209.jpg

IMG_2213.jpg

IMG_2215.jpg

IMG_5840.JPG

IMG_5866.JPG

IMG_5887.JPG

IMG_6015.JPG

IMG_5865.JPG

IMG_5879.JPG

IMG_5869.JPG

IMG_5877.JPG

And yes, To the right people looking for that one to complete their collection or to replace a damaged one in their own collection, maybe they are worth a few dollars, but England back in the early to mid 1900's, regardless of whether they are Royal Doulten, Meakers, Colclough or the other well known makers of bone China, were mass produced and since people back then took care of their belongings, many have survived the test if time and the second hand market is quite saturated with children of the original collectors like me, trying to free up space in their cupboards and lives.

I love them, I think that they are truly beautiful and if I drank tea- which I don't- EVER, I would probably keep them, because I would love to be one of those people having a 'High Tea' session, but I'm not and will never be.

But hey, if you are and if there's something in their that strikes a chord, I'm happy to post worlwide too if you're interested and ofcourse, being a part of my Hive family, I will give you Hive mates rates too! 😃

Sort:  

Everything is nice. I laughed as I read, the collector of the collector. 😁

Haaaa- I wish I was laughing like you...🤣

My small flat is now filled with her boxes.

ANd there's wayyyyyyyyy more to show you. wait to next Sunday....

I'm looking forward to it, the collection you had from the collectors. Hahaha, Good evening.

Hello @chocolatescorpi. I hope my two daughters display my collection as you have done for your mom. I was drooling over her precious items. But I've calmed down and come to my senses.

I'm actually going through withdrawal as I practice a minimalist lifestyle. I have almost finished cataloguing and boxing up my collectibles so that my girls know how to quickly find my "Barbie Dolls" and "Hot Wheels" in addition to my fine china.

What a wonderful daughter you are. I hope you're able to find a loving home for your inherited collectibles.

Good luck and take care.

!LADY

Oh yes, I still do drool over them because I LOVE pretty things like that- especially when there's not so many of them around these days, but in saying that, there are so many- in op shops, at markets, in facebook marketplace, ebay...Etsy, everywhere.

Everyone my age is now trying to get rid of their parents 'collections' like me, so it will be a tough sell and tough to price too.

I think Etsy sell too high, FB marketplace wayyy to low, so I like to find a happy medium. And it's actaully too much effort to sell online I think because the market is so oversaturated.

I have been trying and with one of Mum's 70's Glomesh purses, there has only been about 11 views, yet the other 2 sold fast. And then there's the constant back and forth, they they say YES. SOLD, then they change their minds...and it's back to the starting gate....

And when I do eventually find time to take them to the Trash and treasure markets, I will be happy to bargain, as I don't need a high price for them, I don't 'need' to make any money back, because I didn't pay for them.

Infact I'm pretty sure most of them came from the Grandma's.

I just need to make enough money out of them to pay for the effort of taking them to the market, my time, van hire, plus the stall fees etc. because in reality, the mission is to get rid of them, not make a mint, but in saying that, there could be things in her collections that are worth a mint, so I have to be careful too.

Just imagine selling something for 5 bush when it's actually worth 5000 and then the person I sell it to realises this and boom, they are 5k richer from my efforts.

Don't worry, no-ones getting MY Barbie dolls either! 🤣
And no-one would want to take the Hotwheels from my brother either!

Barbie Doll and Hot Wheels solidarity! I feel better now when facing my daughters! And knowing the limited editions are valuable.

Thanks for your engagement. Hopefully the ones in collection you want to share will find a loving home soon. Take care.

Congratulations @chocolatescorpi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 35000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

Hi. Your mom, wherever she is, will be filled with pride to see that you take care of every object that has made her soul happy.
To my children, I always try to instill in them the value that an antique or collectible object has. They are young and under 22 years old, they do not value what their dad treasures at home with so much love. Sometimes it happens, that they only manage to value it, when one is already part of this physical plane. It would be nicer if it were, while alive.
Thank you for showing us that beautiful collection of rates that bind you to the sweet memory of your mom.
I was also able to read the detailed post you made to your dad. Very touching and with priceless photos. My regards from Havana.

Yes she would be happy that I have taken care of it, but she wouldn't be too happy knowing that I am trying to sell it, but there will be people out there that will appreciate them more than me- as much as she did and if I'm honest, probably more than she did, for she wasn't much of a tea drinker at all and they were stuffed in her cupboard, very dusty when I pulled them out.

I don't even drink tea- or coffee for that matter, however I do appreciate the delicate, artistic beauty of the sets.

And I like your children, did not really appreciate vintage or antiquities when I was young.

It was only as I grew older did I see the value in them- but not the financial value, the historically significant value and in finding these treasure in Mum's cupboards (and there's wayyyyy more too trust me- wait for next Sunday..🤣..) I journeyed through time conducting research and that's when I grew to love them and the history of things.

Plus I just like knowing/learning as much as possible...🤣

That tends to happen. Everything has its time in this life. In life with our parents, having them next to us, we don't stop to kiss their tastes, their inner world. When they are no longer with us, a child often opens up to the desire to know or recover those details that he had by his side and that he never saw.

Yes that is so true, I hope that your children come to realise what they will miss before they miss it.

Loved seeing your mom's collection, these cups and saucers are really, really, beautiful! 😍 And so many different patterns and shapes and all! It is lovely!

Oh, sorry I also laughed at collecting your mom's collection 😁

Haaaa yeah, you know, you think that you'l be able to get rid of it quickly, then years later you still have because you never find the time yourself to actually get rid of it so you still end up collecting on the collection that you collected...🤣

So I understand that you laughed at it- I do, crazy, maniacal laughter...😱🤣

But yes, such extraordinary, delicate pieces with such intricate, amazing artwork.

You may see imitations like them, but those imitations are really nothing like them.

Some of those I'm sure are from as early as the 1940's too, so there's so much history in there aswell.

I hope you like glassware....😁

What a lovely collection, they are so delicate and beautiful 👌🏻💖, it's a shame you don't want to keep them but at least you're trying to find good places for them with people that will really appreciate them 👍🏻. I wish you good luck, it's not easy to sell them but it's not imposible either, you should also try to sell them on Instagram and Amazon, but be patient, it's better to first know well their value so you can sell them for the right price.
I want to see more from your mom's collection 😃

Yeah totally agree with you- so gorgeous and yes such a shame that I don't want to keep them but I am a renter, so I really have no where to keep them and I don't want to drag them around with me and I want to start traveling again.

I also don't like keeping things that I don't have a use for - not being a tea or coffee drinker...plus there are people out there that will love them and want to use them and I will find them, and you're right, by being patient and determining their value first.

I have never thought of selling them on Insta and Amazon either. Interesting...
I do have an ebay page and have sold some of Mum's Vintage dress patterns on there and alos sell on FB marketplace too, but I find that there's a lot of time that you need to invest in selling online, (plus an oversaturated marketplace) plus I haven't touched Insta since I stumbled into Hive 4 years ago...🤣

But interesting...Very very interesting (now you have planted a big seed...🤣)

Oh and if you're interested, watch out for next Sunday as there will be more- I intend to share these historical collections every Sunday, and knowing how big Mum's 'collections' are, that could be for many more years to come! 🤣😂😅😱

Next week will be the glassware section- 1950's till the 1980's..

I understand, when you are a renter you must live with just few things because it's hard to move from one house to another with so much stuff 😬🥴, the less, the better 😉 and it turns worse when they're things that aren't yours or that you're not interest in them 🤷🏻‍♀️. Anyway, you are lucky to have them, there's a treasure in your hands, both collectible and monetary 👌🏻💰.

Instagram is a nice place to sell things like those, you can create a special vintage stuff account and start posting them with the right tags #, and yes, you must invest some time taking good photos, looking for information and their value but I'm sure that will surely bring you good profits 💰 if you're patient 😉
Wow, 50s - 80s glassware 😲, I don't know how is that but sounds really interesting and sure l'll be waiting for that post 😃 and the rest 🤭🤭🤭🤭😁. Sorry for the late answer.
Have a happy weekend

Hey there @gatubela
So sorry for the delayed reply.
Work and life has been hectic that past few days!

Yeah I never thought of selling on INsta, infact I really haven't touched my Insta accounts since I stumbled into Hive! 🤣 I don't see the point in Insta anymore in comparison to Hive...but yes, definitely food for thought that you @gatubela

Also here's the glassware...https://peakd.com/hive-180658/@chocolatescorpi/the-great-glassware-collection-thanks-to-mum Feast you eyes on these pretties! 🤣

Have a great week and talk soon!
XXX

Thank you for showing beautiful collection

So glad you enjoyed seeing such pretty things and such wonderful art work.

This is pure art beyond what it is; everything is beautiful, this collection of your mom certainly has value; I recommend using Google Lens so you can find exactly these models and you can check their costs, open the app, focus on each object with the phone and hit search and you will find the pages specialized in this type of items, I did it with some of your photos and it was interesting what I saw.

My grandmother used to collect glassware, it was crazy what she had and my aunts inherited it and sold it all before moving. What you show us is too well taken care of and I don't doubt you will have problems selling them if you advertise them well (here you already did hehe)..... Greetings and have a great week, I loved reading you and seeing these great photos.... You Rockkk!!! 👍😎🔥❤️

Yes I do certainly agree with you- this collection is more than tea cup sets- it the art work that went into it too.

I do use Google lens, but have not had time to do them all. Also even if there is something in there that is actually worth more than the standard, people don't want to pay the price and the marketplace is so oversaturated these days too, it makes it harder to sell.

Unfortunately (for me) this is just the very tip of the iceberg for Mum's collections.

Just watch out for next Sunday night- that the glassware collection- you will love it! 🤣

So glad that you enjoyed this one. And thanks for the info too.

I'd be interested to know which ones were 'interesting'....😃

I look forward to speaking with you again! 😃

They are really beautiful tableware, well preserved over time. You don't see teaware like this anymore, I would keep them haha I don't drink tea or anything like that, but the memory and how beautiful they are ❤️

Yes I do agree with you, so gorgeous and delicate and in such good condition but I have zero use for them and zero space for them- or even time for that matter- Like Mum too I think....

So beautifull!! i love tea cups based rabbits and another tea cups based roses😍

They are so gorgeous and delicate and pretty and feminine aren't they.

They all remind me of Ballerina's with their beautifully decorated tutus! 😂