Bottle caps - let's see them in April

in Hive Collectors2 months ago (edited)

IMG_20240401_142616.jpg

The bottle is to blame.

I opened that small bottle of apple cider I bought the other day and the three of us shared it. It was a mini bottle of 4.1% cider - you can't even get drunk on this, nor do you get a little dizzy.

However, I didn't pay attention to the bottle cap which was there on the table until the next day when I was about to throw it away and my husband asked me why I didn't add it to our bottle cap collection. Maybe that alcohol affected me, not to remember about it... could be the case. So, thanks to my husband I reached that box that you could see in December in this post.

IMG_20240401_144945.jpg

There I mentioned that it hides a collection of bottle caps which will be presented one day.

That day has arrived and at the same time, it will be the topic for the Hive Collectors community in April.

Bottle cap collection!

IMG_20240401_145017.jpg

What do we know about the habit of collecting metallic crown caps? My husband used to collect them when he was young but the whole collection was thrown away lost. For some years my son also used to collect them and these are kept here in this box.

If you lived in the 19th century, you would not be able to collect crown caps as they were invented just in 1892 by William Painter. Thanks to him we also got the bottle opener, which is the only, or let's say the best thing to open the glass bottles with the metal crown cap.

Our collection of bottle caps is relatively small. I counted around 40 different caps of beer, and a few caps of water, soda, and rum. Many are repeated so those don't count... It is much smaller than the largest collection of this item in the world - 101,700 bottle caps, as stated here.

Let's see now together the content of this box.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Crown caps of cider beverages.

IMG_20240401_145139.jpg

Sidra El Mayu is from the bottle that we shared the other day and the cap that shows a tree and ladders (Somersby Cider) was given to us by my niece. She likes to drink it, cold, during summer.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Crown caps of soft drinks

IMG_20240401_145257.jpg

Although I don't drink carbonated soft drinks often, my favourite one from these that we can see in the photo is Schweppes. I also like Sprite but I don't own a bottle cap of it. Fanta is ok, we all know the flavours of Coca-Cola but there is one cap in this collection that I don't know actually what it is - the orange one with the flamingo. My son told me that it is a soft drink too, so it comes in this section.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

One mysterious crown cap

IMG_20240401_145524.jpg

I have no clue where this cap arrived from or what kind of drink was in its bottle. Maybe beer, but I really don't know. If you recognize it, feel free to reveal its origin.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Rum crown caps?

IMG_20240401_145456.jpg

I wrote it with a question mark, as we found these caps but again my son was informed that these are caps of rum bottles. He asked Google hahaha, no, he doesn't drink rum. (hmm, I hope... 😂)
What I find cute in these caps are the bats.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Mineral water crown caps

IMG_20240401_145417.jpg

Monte Pinos, Sierra Nevada Agua Mineral Natural and Rosa are caps of natural mineral water but here I made a mistake with La Casera. I thought it was just sparkling water but it is also flavoured... so I think I had to include this cap in the soft drinks section.

My bad. (the alcohol from the cider bottle is to blame 😂)

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Beer crown caps

IMG_20240401_145724.jpg

This is definitely the largest section of this collection. Beer, and I don't even consume beer (if @godfish hears me now... 🤐). The thing is that we found the majority of these beer crown caps. There are brands from Spain, Ireland, Germany, Serbia, the Czech Republic, Mexico, Belgium, and The Netherlands and if there are more countries you can recognize from these caps, you know, feel free to inform me. 😉

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

...behind the scenes...

IMG_20240401_145824.jpg

As I mentioned, there are many repeated bottle caps in this box, so these were waiting on a pile while the other caps had the photo session. I felt they had to visit this post anyway!

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Do you have a collection of metallic crown caps? If not, you are still on time to make one, as this topic is open during the whole month of April. One month is quite a long time to collect a few bottle caps and participate with your entry.

But don't you worry, these topics are not limited just to the current month. I know some users will maybe bring mugs, Christmas postcards, maybe some musical instruments or puzzle collections, at any time of the year.

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

What a colorful collection!

This month I don't think I will be able to participate in the initiative. In this house we don't drink soft drinks, no mineral water 🙄, no beer (the few bottles Eddys has drunk have been recycled by acquaintances of my mom to bottle tomato paste or fruit pulp or whatever else) 😆.

So I will gladly read other hivers' posts and admire their collections. 🤗

I thought it would be an easier topic this month, than the puzzles or musical instruments 😅

Glass bottles are used by our moms and grandmothers too for tomato juice. It was a must every late summer, to prepare tomato juice and then we could have it for the next several months! ;)

Oh my, seeing these made me remember my childhood where I also used to collect those caps. But we don't collect them like this, but we flattened those metals then play with it like that. Can't remember much how we played with it but it's really fun. Another is we could use this as an instrument while going house to house during christmas season while singing. Though I never experience that going house to house but flattening those metals only. It is really a fun plaything to us Pilipinos 🤩.

Oh, wow, that is a cool musical instrument made of bottle caps! Love the idea and I indeed can hear how it sounds! These caps also made music yesterday at my table but put together in the way you showed is even better! 😃

That box holds as many badges as a magician's hat. But each one has different colors. They look beautiful. Nice collection. 🤗😘😴

Thank you Mamani.

Maybe you also have some bottle caps around the house, after some parties 😁

Every time I see your collections, you motivate me. No, I don't have any bottle caps, but I always have something, maybe a magician's hat, that will help me to participate in your initiative. And you will like it. Have a nice day.😘✨

The magician's hat sounds fun 😇

😴😘🥱

I have never seen so many bottle caps together, they are too many and pretty, I really liked the one with the bats, I never saw them haha ​​and the flamingo obviously as a bird lover ❤️🦉

I don't have bottle caps nor do they sell much for the costs, but I will enjoy seeing other people's collections.

But my collection is much much smaller than the one that holds the world record :D but yes, it contains a flamingo and two bats, so the little owl liked them 😋

I don't have any bottle caps. It was fun to see though, because growing up, there was no such thing as a screw top bottle, so whether it took a bottle opener or later the twist top caps, they were everywhere.

Now I rarely see them.

Why no one has bottle caps? 😭

Hahaha, I thought it would be so common to collect crown caps and easy to participate in the initiative 😁

Well.... maybe there are more than came to mind right away. So many brands have moved to plastics instead of glass. If I am aware more as I go out, maybe I will see some I haven't been noticing.

what a clever little collection, one I would never have thought of, mine would be pointless as the only bottles I open are Corona LOL

That bat i think is the trade mark of bacardi?

Hahahha, then you would have a large Corona caps collection! Sounds good ;)

Hey, spot on with Bakardi. It indeed is, I checked it now. So my son was also right hahaha, he said rum... or at least it started with rum. Thanks @grindle 🥃

yes he was correct!!!

One Polish brand, Tymbark, that produces juices had this very cool bottle caps with some fun text under. Some were hilarious! (I wonder if they still do it, I didn't buy them in years!) A bit like the fortune cookies. People used to collect those :) I think I had some too, but probably threw them away later...

How cool!! I would LOVE to see a collection of these hahaha. {politely asking you can you try to find those you had... if they are not thrown away :D}

Now I'm going to start collecting bottle caps, for the moment I have only one. From the beers that Mary and Eddy brought to celebrate my birthday.
This beer is from Portugal.

1000134960.jpg

Es una buena idea la de tratar de coleccionar chapas para ver cuántas y qué variedad logro en un mes. También servirá para mantenerme activa en una misión.😂

Great news here!!! 😃

Every collection starts with one item hahaha. Hopefully it will grow and until 30 of April you share with us this new collection of yours 😎

This one you got from Mary and Eddy is already very nice 😇

I can't believe it, you want to count all the caps in that box? It'll probably take more than a day because you'll keep forgetting where you left off xd

I could draw a line on a piece of paper for each crown cap so I don't mess up haha (actually I did it while counting tunnels in Italy when we drove through. This technique works well 😁)

What a collection..... great!!!! In all colours, as much as I love colours!!!! You are a genius of collections hahaha, I love it!!!!😍

Yes, these caps are interesting and colourful, I hope it will be a good topic for the community 😇

Surely someone has a collection of them! That's for sure!😃

You? :))

No hahahaha but I already have an idea for a collection but I'm not going to tell you anything.... give me a few days... I have to go out and take pictures!!!!🤣

La calle tendrá una colección? 😂

There are some things on the walls .... noooo, I won't tell you!🤣

Fantastic collection! We also had a collection but more like a material to make Artesanías..

Maybe these caps will also finish like material for handicrafts. We never know 😁

I do hear you. And once we meet somplace, I'll take you to a great beer place to show you how it works with this wonderful beverage :P

That would be a great topic for me, if only I colected the caps and bottles and not the memories and tastes ;)

With your expertise in beer, I am sure I would get to that point to like it (or at least have some good tapas and leave more beer for you 😁)

I know this would be a great topic for you, maybe if you start now to collect the caps too, you can match them with the memories and tastes 😉

I prefer draught beer in a brewery, though. They don't come with a cap ;)

Oh, true

You see how much I still have to learn 😁

Fortunately,Fortunately, this wisdom has a flow, so you can simply soak it up ;)

The ones that are repeated can be used to make some earrings, I've seen some great ideas with bottle caps 😃

Good idea. The thing is that they slept in the box for a long time, I forgot about them, but this cider from the other day made this collection come to the daylight :D

A great collection! 😁

You have Amber and Estrella Galicia, that is an approved with a good grade for your collection. 😁

So, approved? Gracias, gracias, ahora merezco una cerveza taza de café. Bueno, es tarde para el café, entonces mejor sidra 😁

How many bottle caps I have thrown away. I used to collect them, but my mother threw them away!

Oops. They just disappeared or got lost hahaha, mothers or wives never throw away such collections 🤥

😁

Que linda colección, considero que es una bonita actividad para realizar en familia. Los he imaginado a cada uno tomando las tapas y guardando junto a una historia o recuerdo. Bendiciones

What a nice collection, I think it is a nice activity to do as a family. I have imagined each one taking the tapas and saving them along with a story or memory. Blessings

Mi hijo los encontraba y guardaba.... when he was small, algunos tomamos y guardamos nosotros y así poco a poco la colección se formó :))

Love this collection! 🤩

Thank you 😇

Congratulations @mipiano! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

I guess your son took after your husband in the aspect of picking bottle covers. It’s like you all love to do it I’m your household but will you be able to sell them in future or what?

No, not selling them

This is interesting. Lots of colors here.

My siblings and I use to collect bottle caps 🧢 while we were younger. Seeing all these caps is really a memory.

Since we have all month one stand’s a chance to participate in this April contest.

Greetings community.

Yes, there is chance to collect enough until the end of the month 😇
I think it is achievable ;)

Warming up. Thank you dear @mipiano for reaching out. Blessings 😇

Hello mipiano!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥉 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by deepresearch

You and your curator receive 0.0097 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 5.59% share of the reward from Daily Report 256. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUBROWN token for taking 3rd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

Hi @mipiano, your collection of bottle caps inspired me for my post and relate my experience to get some pieces. Thanks for the initiative. In the field I have several bags of veneers, here I have few, even so I made the post for the month of April.