Top Trumps: A nostalgic collection

Heeeyho Readers! Feeling a bit nostalgic today.


Organizing another batch of my stuff from mom's house. Anyways. Let's not repeat last post's intro, so picture this: Family on vacation. No cellphones. Dad is driving as mom serves Mate tea. Me, my brother, and our cousin are cramped on the back seat, fighting each other over Trunfo cards. Pile of cards change hands, but no-one is close to winning; 700 kilometers to go, so plenty of time. Whoever has the SuperTrunfo has the upper hand, unless someone is lucky to present an A card. Who's gonna win?

The names may vary, I believe. Top Trumps, Ace Trumps, Super Trunfo (Brazil). If you grew up in the 90's, this card game might be familiar. Do you recognize?

DSC_0143.jpg

Super Trunfo Porsche from 1981


I spent a while searching for a game community, but only found digital-related gaming ones. Is there any classic gaming community? Board games, anyone? Because I have several Trunfo decks, this post may as well be a cool addition to the Hive Collectors. After all, the only reason why this collection isn't larger is because le me grew up {laughs}.

What the hell is Super Trunfo?

Perhaps you know them as Top Trumps — original, international name. It's essentially a card game based on different themes, such as cars, tractors, tanks, aircraft, you name it. Each pack contains 32 cards (at least here in Brazil) and each card has a list of data about the subject. I'll explain later.

DSC_0134.jpg

Super Trunfo collection


See above, for example, a pack of Super Trunfo about Luxury Cars. The pack contains 32 different luxury cars from various brands. Then you have the data, always numerical, so you can compare to your opponent's car. Below you can see:

  • Engine Displacement (cilindrada)
  • Power (potência)
  • Top Speed (velocidade)
  • 0 - 100 km/h (you know this one)
  • Weight

DSC_0138.jpg

Data


Alright, let's play. The game supports two - six players, each receives an amount of cards. If it's just you and I, each of us gets 16 cards. It's my turn. The card on top of the pile is the one I have to use. I have to pick one of the data offered to compare to your card — the one I think is strong enough. "Power", I say. Your car has 230 KW; mine is only 191. You win my car. You move both your cars (yours and mine) to the back of the your pile and the game continues.

There's one detail though. Do you see the Super Trunfo stamped on that BMW photo? That's the scariest card in the game. The Super Trunfo wins against every car, even if the stats are lower. The ST only loses against cards marked A (1A, 2A, 3A or 4A).

"Super Trunfo!", you shout.

I have to check if my car is ranked A. It's not; it's C2. You win again, bastard!!

DSC_0147.jpg

Pack of race trucks


It might take ages, but eventually someone's gonna collect all the cards. The fun is turning the game when you have just a handful of cards left. And seeing your opponent fume when he/she loses the Super Trunfo card.

A 90's collection

I have five decks in the collection and the only reason why it's not larger is because... well... I grew up and kinda lost interest. A cousin introduced me the game in the 90's. The packs you see are from 96-98, newest is from 2003 (I was 15 y/o). The exception is the Porsche pack that's from 1981, but that I got used from someone else.

DSC_0139.jpg

Super Trunfo collection


The race truck ST used to be among my favorite. That and the tractors (below). I studied each card on those two decks so well I knew which stat would win no matter what. Not gonna lie such powerful knowledge infuriated my friends.

DSC_0140.jpg

Super Trunfo collection


Today, with cellphones and computer games, the Super Trunfo are only played over here if we run out of electricity. Same goes for our board games. It's pretty sad though. Feels like we were more connected in the 90's.

DSC_0143.jpg

Super Trunfo Porsche


Now.. I'm curious to know if any other Hiver has had Super Trunfo (Top Trump) cards. I know some of you have Legos and other global games, but ST's is somewhat specific. Imagine if someone created a blockchain-based Super Trunfo; I'd sure not let you win {mad}

If you've got any ST let me know!

Peace.


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  

We did have something similar when we were kids. It was not called Top Trumps but it was a package of cards with cool old cars and their stats. Maybe it was just meant to be a collection but me and my sister, we played it as a game, exactly like you played Top Trumps :) If only I knew where those cards are now. They might be worth a fortune at some point in future :)

@tipu curate

They might be worth a fortune at some point in future :)

Should I check?

What you had is most likely your country's version of top trumps, for sure. The original company licensed other companies to sell the game. Get some to play with Flora xDD

Darn! I didn't have these when I was a child, and I was growing up in those years! I liked cars a lot and I would play that cardgame 100%... The only ones that I remember were some collectible cards that you can get by buying a pack of chewing gums... But, those were regular cards, not as cool as those that you shared!

Also, you are right... We were probably more connected with friends and family as we were playing different games, and while you play, you also talk and interact with others... Nowadays, with the Internet games, we can connect with many people, but somehow, not on the same level as before... It's a pity...

Thanks for sharing your Top Trumps collection! I like it!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions Posts!

Comment Footer.jpg
Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

Yeeee! It's a fun game to play. Sometimes you manage to build a huge pile o cards, just to see it go back to your opponent after a bit of bad luck (or knowledge) -- after a while you kinda memorize which cards/stats are really strong.

Another popular game was Magic. Do you remember those?

Another popular game was Magic. Do you remember those?

Yeah, that was ultra-popular, but I didn't play that one either... lol...

untitled.gif

Hahahaha... I lost my childhood playing hide-and-seek, playing with marbles, regular card games, and a bit of computer games on C64 and Amiga... 😂

Oh, yeah! Done that too. Tons of outdoor games. Computer games only entered my life in 2001 when we bought our first pc. Used to spend ages playing Ultima Online, then Ragnarok in its peak in the mid 2000's.

le me grew up {laughs}.

hahahah, nooooooooooo!!

It's better not to grow up. 😂

I have never played this type of card game, maybe it was not popular at the time I was in that growing-up phase or I just didn't see or pay attention to them, not sure. But what I am sure about is that I very like this collection of yours! 😎

Looks it up, that game is still around! We should do a round of 90's toys on Hive xDD

This is such a cool game and I do so vaguely remember something like this when I was a kid. Maybe my older brothers used to play it...not sure but here's a vague recollection there...

But what a brilliant game and I could really see kids playing this game today too.

Whatever you do, don't lose them or give them away, they are too precious in memories, collectible value and also they possibility that you might be able to inspire. resurgence of the game!

We should have a blockchain-based version of it. How awesome to play online would it be

OH MY GOD!

That is such a brilliant BRILLIANT idea!

OMG! imagine a global game of Monopoly on Hive!

OMG! Imagine all our fave board games digitised and gamified by Hive @jarvie @asgarth-dev what do you guys think eh!?!?!?!?!?

I would absolutely play!

I wonder the reason why nothing like that has been created thus far. Unfortunately I'm tech dumb to even try to create anything hahaha

Haaa yes me too unfortunately!

So let's keep planting the seeds and hopefully some brilliant developer somewhere will see the benefit of our ideas!

Hey @mrprofessor! Back in July 2023 you used inLeo to publish a couple of long form articles.

Since then, our user interface has gotten a lot better, maybe you want to try it out again so all your posts (to every community) can earn $leo rewards!

Uh yeah! So it isn't just for market/economy/crypto stuff? I've been wrong this whole time 😫

untitled.gif

It's not anymore! It's been for any kind of content for over a year now hehe, but it's never too late to start earning $leo in all your content!

When you post your first inleo post, tag me so I don't miss it fren

We have a challenge then. Epic post incoming.

Lesgo, looking forward to it fren

Tried to login there using hivesigner but got an error =/

image.png

We were having node issues a couple of hours ago, can you try again pls?