Unlocking Cultural Connection Globally.

in Cross Culture19 days ago

Embracing cultural diversity and exploration has been a thing for me since I was a teenager, and there is so much to learn about the numerous cultures not just in Nigeria but in other African countries and beyond the African borders.

Nigeria is blessed with so many cultures, and many citizens or foreigners who have been to this great country can attest to it. The country has become a tourist attraction due to its cultural heritage, and it's beautiful to see foreigners adopting our culture in different parts of the world.

A video left me stunned some months ago, and from that moment on, I was convinced that there are foreigners who even take Nigerian cultures more seriously than many Nigerians. In the video, a British lady spoke the Igbo language fluently, and she could even prepare some traditional delicacies.


I have spent 90% of my life in Lagos, and that alone has exposed me to numerous cultures because you can find almost every Nigerian culture in this big city that serves as a home to almost all the tribes in the country. I have lived with the Igbos and Hausa in Lagos for some time, and despite having several things in common, we have differences that make us unique.

These differences do not pose any threat, and embracing them is the only way to get to know the beauty of every culture. It might look weird since it's a new experience and exposure, but with time, it becomes easy for us to live together despite our differences. Being a Lagosian is awesome, and it amazes me how I have been able to learn about other cultures in Nigeria despite being an introvert. I have had the opportunity to travel across different states, but Osun, Ogun, and Kwara are the only states I have been to as an adult, and it's almost as if I was forced.

Traveling around Nigeria to explore other cultures doesn't require a passport, and that has made it quite easy for us to interact with other cultures. All we need to go around the country is a car capable of handling your trip or your transportation fare.

Owning a Nigerian passport opens the door of opportunity to explore cultures beyond the Nigerian border, and that's one of the reasons I always have my passport, whether I have the intention of traveling or not.


My passport, coupled with the necessary documentation and permission to visit other countries, makes me an ambassador of Nigeria abroad. This opportunity doesn't just make me learn, since I can also teach the people in the foreign land about my culture. With my little exposure, I realize that many foreigners have a few wrong perspectives about us and vice versa, so going abroad is an opportunity to correct many misunderstandings we have.

I had the opportunity to visit Dubai for a vacation some years ago, but I couldn't even afford a passport, not to mention the token I needed for the trip. After that experience, I made it mandatory to always ensure I had my passport intact to avoid missing out on other opportunities.

I got my current passport for around $50 back in 2021, and it would expire in 2026. The process wasn't stressful since I am familiar with it, and all you need to do is ensure that you have all the required documents ready. It takes less than 45 minutes, but waiting for your turn can take a lot of time since there are always lots of people at the immigration office for the same purpose.

However, you can't get your passport the same day it was processed, so you have to wait sometimes two weeks before getting it. The process is always easy, and the only issue I had was traveling to another state to get it done.

Nigerians traveling abroad are basically searching for greener pastures because, if it has to do with just exploring cultures, we aren't done with all the cultures in the country.

Being a foodie, one of the things I cherish the most about other cultures is their food, and that's why you always see me explore different recipes from time to time. Each recipe tells a story, reflecting the unique flavors, ingredients, and styles of different cultures.


I don't know how long it would take for me to leave the border of Nigeria to see what's out there, and until then, I will just keep exploring the cultures here while I anticipate exploring the beauty that lies beyond the borders of Nigeria.

All Images Belong To Me


The Inleo prompt is a daily initiative that helps writers a lot, and you can participate just like hundreds of Hive members are doing.

April Inleo Monthly Calendar

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

It's a stressful process collecting passport from my end, these guys will ask for money for just no reason and it's annoying.